We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed here in November, 2011, and we're very well pleased. Staff were all congenial and very helpful!
We had an excellent breakfast w/eggs, sausage, fruit, etc.

They offer 8 days free parking at the adjacent Park & Fly, andP&F offers additional days at $8/ day.
You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdhsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    193
    33
    12
    3
See reviews for
251
163
59
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I was here for a 1 night stay for business and had a great stay. the property is in excellent condition, the staff if very helpful/professional and the location is really good as well. A couple of miles away from the DTW airport and close to several restaurants of all different types of price points and cuisine types...or you can walk a few feet to the Hilton Garden Inn and grab dinner there.

I was up late and watching TV in the lobby area and the hotel's shittle driver was gettig boilng water for a guest to make a hot snack with vs. just pointing the guest in the direction of the hot water.

Rooms have a nice desk area, Fridge and microwave and a large flat screen. The room was immaculate, the heat works well and is fairly quiet and the bathroom was also in excellent condition.

When in the area I will stay either here or the Hilton Garden Inn, which is another excellent property with the same type of great staff right next door. I believe the person who owns these two properties also owns the the Embassy Suites so I would try their as well.

For both the HGI and the Hampton Inn the room and facility in general is amazingly quiet despite being right next to the airport and near the flight plath.

Checkin Process was amazingly fast, they had everything predone so I am guessing it took less than a minute from when I walked up to the counter to I was walking to the elevators. this is not m first stay here and it was like this when I had previously stayed here.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong. I have stayed on multiple floors on multiple sides and they all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P4620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel after a late night flight arrival. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable, with clean duvets, no comforters that aren't washed after every guest. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The close proximity to the airport makes traveling easy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiemichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2011

To allow a somewhat more leisurely trip, I decided to stay at the Metro Airport Hamption Inn and Suites before my morning flight. The room was, in fact, a suite and was very comfortable. The desk personnel were personable and pleasant people with whom to deal. The shuttle was on time and I experienced no problems.
before, during, or after my stay. I will use their services again.

Room Tip: Become a Hilton Honors member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhogberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

What an awesome hotel. The hotel is newly built and is well maintained. The check-in moved quickly however a line soon formed behind us.

We stayed in a room with two queen beds. The room was huge and well layed out. The bed was so comfortable however I think I have an issue with the pillows the Hilton Hotels choose to use because I just can't find a comfortable one for me. The pillow appear large and fluffy, however when I lay on them they seem to deflate into a pancake. I do not fault this hotel for this.

The manager was more than accomadating when we needed some milk for our three year old and allowed us to grab a cup out of the breakfast station.

The breakfast was to be served at 6am.

First, the breakfast was very good, nicely presented, and clean. The staff person that we saw working the breakfast was very pleasant.

On the negative side, being primarily an airport hotel, I felt the breakfast should have opened a little earlier than 6am. There were at least three groups of us waiting for the doors to open and I feel, as did another woman we talked to, believed that a 5:30am breakfast opening would be more appropriate, at the least. Full disclosure, we had no issues with this and were able to get down our breakfast with about four minutes to spare before out 6:20am shuttle.

Overall, I will certainly choose this hotel again and would, without a doubt, recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor room due to the air traffic overhead. We stayed on the fifth floor, the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilligaf462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the first tim, in October as a starting point for a trip to Seattle. It was excellent. Location was great, service was great, room was wonderful and the parking was right next door, with free shuttle to and from the airport, directly to and from your car. The price was $89.00 plus tax, room, free breakfast and eight days of parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COUNTERPOISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
251 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Although we've stayed on Hampton's Inns before, I was a bit worried about the airplane noise on this one. No need. I wasn't bothered by any.
Rooms are very good, with fridges and microwaves. Nice TV. Great beed. Good shower. Free parking.
They had coffee and cookies downstairs, as well as a convenience store and free internet in a business center.
Staff was very nice and breakfast was good (and free). They even had breakfast to go bags.
Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannlaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
0.7 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Address: 31700 Smith Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Romulus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#2 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover comfort and convenience for Detroit and beyond at Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus. Just off I-94 and I-275, our Romulus hotel is within a mile of Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW). Take our free hotel shuttle to and from the airport. This hotel in Romulus, MI lies at the heart of Metro Detroit, within 20 minutes of downtown Detroit and 30 minutes from Ann Arbor, Michigan, making an equally great base for the industrial corporations of Motown and the University of Michigan campus. Whether you’re in town for business, to cheer on the NFL’s Detroit Lions, touring the Great Lakes, or simply catching a flight, you’ll find a warm welcome at Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus. Relax in a comfortable guest room with a clean and fresh Hampton beds® and HD channels on the 37-inch LCD TV. Spacious suites feature sofa beds in the seating area, making this hotel in Romulus, MI a great family option. Accessible rooms and suites are designed for comfort. Get to work in the comfort of your room with free internet access throughout the hotel. Start the day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Choose your favorite toppings for oatmeal and fresh waffles to accompany hot and cold selections. If you’re in a rush, just grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday. Consult the friendly team members for local Romulus restaurant recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing