We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, IN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best hotel experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Great spacious rooms, up to date , generous furnishings, great breakfast, great pool, just the best! No complaints!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    193
    32
    12
    3
See reviews for
250
163
59
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is my second favorite Hampton. My favorite is the Hampton Inn and Suites on Myrtle Beach. Both are superior hotels but Myrtle Beach will beat Detroit anytime. Seriously, this is a super nice Hampton with the customer service to match. Very clean and still looks new, but it should since it is new. Hilton Garden is right next door for food and a bar. The Hampton still has the usual breakfast which was very good and well presented. There are not a lot of restaurants close to this hotel so I would also recommend the nearby Embassy Suites for dinner or a quick sandwich.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta ga
Level Contributor
150 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Title says it all. I have stayed in hundreds of Hampton Inns and this was definitely top 3 in my book.
Everything from the lobby, the room layout, the bathroom walk in shower and chair height toilet. It was great! Definitely my hotel of choice from now on when in Detroit

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

This was a last minute booking and rather than taking advantage of the situation, they treated us like valued guests. The suite was huge, fresh, and as spotless as we have come to expect from the Hampton Chain

The staff was kind and accommodating when members of our party need bedding or had trouble navigating the internet connection. The pool and hot tub are very clean and one of the rare hotel pools that doesn't seem to think that dousing the place in chlorine until you choke is the way to go.

Adam and the rest of the front desk crew were wonderful. My only complaint would be that both days we were awakened by housekeeping knocking on the door before 9 a.m. I appreciate that they want to get in there and get the job done but as other reviews dating back to January note the same issue, they may want to ask housekeeping to reconsider knocking on doors so early - or advise guests it could happen so we know to get those Do Not Disturb signs up bright and early!

A great hotel, a fine free breakfast, and an all around great value. Consider asking about an upgrade to a suite. We upgraded from a double to a suite for only $10/more per night and ended up with twice the space and amenities. Well worth it!

You can hear the planes but it's not like they don't put "Airport" right there in the name. Honestly, we slept well and didn't find the air traffic to be an issue.

Room Tip: Place Do Not Disturb sign if you don't want an early wake up from Housekeeping :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kseabolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardinia, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

I stay here every business trip to Detroit. I stayed in the King suite room. It is a large room divided by a workdesk. I have always found this location to be clean and the staff friendly and efficient. I like being able to order food from room service. Fairly rare for a Hampton. I prefer this over the Garden Inn next door due to the room size.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

I stayed at this hotel based the ratings at trip advisor. Let me say first that a hotel has to be near perfect for me to give it five stars. That being said, this hotel is only rated as a 2 1/2 star hotel on the website. It far exceeded my expectations of a 2 1/2 star hotel. The service was great. The beds were as comfortable as some of the four star hotels I've stayed in at Las Vegas. The room was extremely clean and the hotel was quiet for the duration of our stay. The breakfast was better than expected. They had hot items like waffles, bacon, and eggs. They also had something for the healthy eaters like oatmeal, fruit, and cold cereal. Lets get to the reason its not a five star. In my opinion the rate for a 2 1/2 star should be less than $100/night. If I pay over $100/night there should at least be pay per view movies. The cheapest hotels have those these days. One of the benefits of the hotel is that its a fly and stay. We could hear the planes but they weren't loud enough to be bothersome. These are all minor issues and I would not hesitate to stay there again at a slightly cheaper price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dablakoutking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Had stayed at this property over a year ago and was quite impressed. The hotel today is a shadow of what it was back then.
Reservation was in order. I wanted to extend my stay by a day and they were quite accommodative and set me up right away.
Room on the 6th floor was spacious, clean and well appointed. No complaints there.
But there were plenty of other stuff that is definitely losing its shine.
Internet is painfully slow. They need to do something about the WiFi to get it to acceptable levels.
Stopped by to get some coffee in the lobby at 8pm one evening and there was no coffee left. Had to inform the hotel personnel and come back 30 minutes later.
Couple of times they had coffee but did not have the Hazelnut Creamer and other goodies that they usually stock. Just had the half & half creamer. Well, perhaps I am getting a little spoilt, but I do like the Hazelnut creamer thingy.
Biggest complaint was with the Business Center. I have stayed in a minimum of 2 dozen Hampton Inns across the nation. Typically if I have to print something, I upload a PDF to my gmail account and go to the Business Center, log in and print it. Not at this hotel. The moment I try to open the PDF, it kicks you out of the internet and you have to reconnect. After doing this, I asked how would I print something. THe lady at the lobby could not help me. She went and got a 'manager' who tells me that I need to use a website called 'printeron.com'. I go back to my room and upload the files to this site and come back down. Now the computer in the business center wont connect to the Printeron website. By this time it was too late for my meeting and I had to abandon the task of printing.
I did come back later in the evening and was able to print. But, I am sorry, it is too much of a song and dance to print a silly document. Common?!?!?!
I am used to getting some cookies & bottled water etc. in Hampton Inns. Have gotten this at this same property in the past. But not this time. No mention of it.
Overall, there are clear signs that the management here has stopped caring and letting things slide.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kumarcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
0.7 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Address: 31700 Smith Rd., Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#2 Family Hotel in Romulus
#2 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover comfort and convenience for Detroit and beyond at Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus. Just off I-94 and I-275, our Romulus hotel is within a mile of Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW). Take our free hotel shuttle to and from the airport. This hotel in Romulus, MI lies at the heart of Metro Detroit, within 20 minutes of downtown Detroit and 30 minutes from Ann Arbor, Michigan, making an equally great base for the industrial corporations of Motown and the University of Michigan campus. Whether you’re in town for business, to cheer on the NFL’s Detroit Lions, touring the Great Lakes, or simply catching a flight, you’ll find a warm welcome at Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus. Relax in a comfortable guest room with a clean and fresh Hampton beds® and HD channels on the 37-inch LCD TV. Spacious suites feature sofa beds in the seating area, making this hotel in Romulus, MI a great family option. Accessible rooms and suites are designed for comfort. Get to work in the comfort of your room with free internet access throughout the hotel. Start the day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Choose your favorite toppings for oatmeal and fresh waffles to accompany hot and cold selections. If you’re in a rush, just grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday. Consult the friendly team members for local Romulus restaurant recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing