We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Convenient”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I had a very pleasant weekend stay here. The staff at the bar and in the hotel cafe were all incredibly friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and the bed quite comfortable.

Regarding location, the hotel is of course close to the airport in Romulus, which isn't exactly a bustling area. But it's very convenient for flights and has easy access to I-94. I was going to Ann Arbor once or twice each day during my trip and the 25 minute drive was a breeze.

There was a junior hockey league tournament going on in the area, meaning that there were many 12-14 year old boys jumping around, but my sleep was not disturbed.

Thank you Embassy Suites - Romulus for an excellent stay. The friendliness of the staff really left me with a pleasant impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    260
    106
    40
    36
See reviews for
318
161
53
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Recently stayed at this hotel after returning from a trip. The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly and accomodating. The hotel breakfast offered many choices, including much better than your usual hotel coffee. There is a Starbucks onsite. The rooms are modern with 2 flat screen tvs. I did like that the rooms could be divided by a doorway.

My children absolutely loved the indoor/outdoor pool!

My only negatives: I would echo the statement of others that the air conditioners are very noisy. I turned down the thermostat just so it wouldn't come on anymore. I literally could not hear the tv in the same room with the air conditioner running. Secondly, the rooms do have a bit of a funny smell. I asked to be moved from my first room because I thought it smelled like someone had been smoking in there. The second room wasn't much better so wither these used to be smoking rooms or they just had an odd smell.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I stayed two nights at this airport property

First the good points: nice clean room, air craft noise not too bad (see below) & a very good breakfast.

But the bad;

I have stayed in hundreds of hotel rooms, from five star resorts to Motel 6 & I have never heard a more noisy room air con unit. It came on with a bang & then had a loud rumble sound. OK any hotel can have one bad unit but on the first morning (before I left for a meeting) I complained to the hotel reception staff & I was told their maintenance person would repair it right away.

Returned to the room late in the PM & NOTHING had been done. The unit was still noisy & no offer from the hotel to move me to another room. So I assume ALL their air con units sounded like this.

So if you decide to stay at this property bring your ear plugs but you will not hear the planes the air con unit will drown out any noise a mere air craft can make. Also don’t bother complaining since the hotel will do nothing!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butler, pa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed here to attend the 2010 Thunder Over Michigan airshow. We stayed two nights, and were very pleased with the room and the hotel itself. Check-in was a breeze and the room suited our needs wonderfully. The outdoor pool area is very attractive and quiet, as it's in a courtyard removed from traffic noise. The reason I'm writing is due to the customer care we received. The second night there, while sitting at the pool, we witnessed some teenagers throwing some of the deck furniture into the pool. When someone came to do a routine cleaning of the pool, my husband alerted them to what had happened, and when asked, who had done it. The item was removed from the pool and the offenders removed from the pool area. As a thank-you to my husband, we were given a free On-Demand movie and a pizza by the maintenance man. These kids were an anomaly, and the rest we saw in the pool area were well-behaved and well-supervised. We were quite surprised by the hotel's actions, and my husband said he didn't need anything, but they apologized for the situation and said we "shouldn't have had to put up with that". A great, and increasingly rare, example of good customer service, and we will definitely return to this hotel when we attend the 2011 airshow!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwards99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Just returned from a trip to Detroit to visit Henry Ford Museum, Greenfield Village and Comerica Park. We are a family of five and didn't want to be too far away from the attractions in Dearborn, but wanted more space that a suite would provide. We selected this hotel based on the price and we were amazed at what a great value it was. To start, the breakfast was absolutely fantastic... kids loved the made-to-order eggs and waffles! I hate to admit it but there were so many options that my husband and I agreed we would have paid $25 - 30 for the meal at a restaurant. The pool is hugely important to our family and this one was among the nicest for this type of hotel. Workers were cleaning the pool every morning, landscaping was really nice and the kids loved swimming from outdoors to indoors and back again. The rooms were a little dated (absolutely fine but not at the same level as the common areas of the hotel) and cable channels were limited (we were not able to watch Mad Men:(... but these are very minor concerns overall. I will point out that the hotel is very close to the airport and you can hear planes a lot. We do have one light sleeper and this was a little bit of an issue but the positives FAR outweight the negs. Travel time to Dearborn was about 15 mins and to downtown Detroit/ Comerica Park was about 30ish. We very much enjoyed our stay and are still amazed at what a great value it was.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We wanted to stay at a cheap hotel near Dearborn, MI, and got this hotel through Priceline. We paid only $50/night, so we weren't expecting much.
We got to the hotel and checked in, lobby is beautiful, staff very friendly. We were right by the airport. We were asked if we needed a shuttle, etc. The front desk clerk told us about the free hot breakfast, the free cocktails and hors d'oeuvres, and pool.
When we got to our room, on the 2nd floor, we were amazed! You walk into a counter with sink, microwave, and fridge, desk, pull out couch, tv.... and that was just the first room. You open up the slatted doors to the king size bed, another tv, HUGE bathroom and beautiful windows. The alarm clock even had an ipod charger/jack. The room was absolutely spotless, and the maid did a full clean on the 2nd day. I find most maids just tidy up, but she did it all, so we left her a good tip.
Pool was nice, didn't use it, because it was too busy. The breakfast was amazing! Custom made omelettes, bacon, sausage, eggs, fruit, everything you could want for a breakfast. It was a breakfast buffett you would easily pay $15 for at a restaurant. The manager even came around to make sure everything was ok.
Next time we are in the detroit area we will definitely be staying here. Although it was a bit of a drive from Dearborn, and Detroit, it's worth it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBIA
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2010

The Hotel Was Okay , But For The Cost Could Have Been Better. I Was Disappointed With The Hot Tub Not Working During My Stay. I Also Was Disappointed That Breakfast Buffet Did Not Take In Consideration That Not Every One Eats Pork.(MUSLIMS OR OTHER RELIGIONS). The Cook Who Made Breakfast Was Very Friendly And Courteous. The Egg White Omelets She Cooked Were Great. The Manager That Was on duty when I checked in was very helpful with A situation I found my self needing an extra room at the same rate as the room i had reserved.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTSR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 8600 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#7 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport hotel is the ideal location for both business and leisure travelers stopping in Detroit. This Detroit airport hotel is just minutes from the Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW) and only 20 minutes from downtown attractions. All accommodations at the Embassy Suites hotel in Detroit, Michigan include a spacious two-room suite, a delicious made-to-order breakfast and nightly Evening Reception*. The Burger Bar is a one-of-a-kind burger dining experience featuring fresh beef, turkey, chicken or black bean veggie burgers, made to your exact specifications. The Eighty Six Hundred Restaurant located in the open-air atrium lobby is an additional option, with in-suite dining service also available. Corporate travelers will find their needs catered to at this Detroit, Michigan hotel. Stay with us to enjoy business conveniences such as Executive Boardroom suites, complimentary WiFi and our BusinessLink™ Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing