We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel Cable TV system not working”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel Cable TV system not working”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Embassy Suites before, the last time was in D.C. They are all nice, comfortable sitting with a couch, microwave, fridge, single cup coffee separate bedroom, normal shower... Breakfast is great, made to order omelets and a large selection of items and juices. Check in is easy. The bar usually offers free cocktails during happy hour but Michigan passed a law that alcohol can't be sold on Christmas so we weren't able to partake. The tv system was down and the check in clerk did not share that information with us when we checked in. I realize there was nothing they can do about this and since they already give free breakfast and usually drinks in the evening it isn't like they can throw in a complementary anything. We watched netflix on the ipad so we didn't have to rough it too much ;-). I used a prepay travel site so my rate was super cheap (another reason I can't complain). All in all not a bad place to stay. I've stayed at several of the other options over the years near the Detroit Metro Airport and I would say this is comparable but the free breakfast and normally free cocktails in the evening they can be a step above.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wondertraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    260
    106
    40
    36
See reviews for
318
161
53
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Minutes away from the Detroit Airport, this establishment offered quality accommodation, a lovely complementary breakfast, clean spacious room and shuttle services for a very modest fee. We would indeed return and enjoy another stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Torontonian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in August with my father when we decided to go to the Nascar races last minute. I always try to stay at an embassy suites because the breakfast is so amazing. This one didn't disappoint, it may have actually had one of the bigger breakfast selections. The managers reception at night was great also. This hotel is very close to the airport so when you are outside there are planes right overhead but I could not hear anything inside the hotel. There are also a few great restaurants along the same road that you can walk to for dinner.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were looking for a hotel near Metro b/c we had an early flight the next morning. The pictures on Embassy Suite's site made the hotel look updated and clean. We were not disappointed. From the amenities in the suite-2 rooms, flat screen tvs, fridge, microwave-to the hot made-to-order complimentary breakfast and PRECOR workout room, we certainly were satisfied with our stay. We do a lot of traveling and we WILL be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Curt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have stayed at Embassy suites several times now in 2 different locations and have never had a bad experience! I have and would recommended Embassy Suites to friends and co workers. The staff is always friendly and very helpful if needed. The Managers reception is A1!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel in itself is very nice. Great evening reception and breakfast. A youth hockey team and parents were in the hotel while we were there. The kids were allowed to run all over while the parents were drinking and obnoxious in the lobby. The parents and kids were rude - over ran the breakfast in the morning, leaving their equipment bags and things sitting all over.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown Township, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our stay was very nice. We had a problem with the shuttle bus driver when we first arrived because he didn't want to take my husband to a restaurant. The driver was very rude and unprofessional, to the point where the front desk clerk gave us a free night. She was very hospitable. The night we stayed free, the heat went out. It took a while but after trying to fix the heating unit they moved us to a different room. Because of this the front desk clerk told me she could get us a discounted rate of $60 + tax for the next night. She logged this into her computer. The next day at 12:30 pm we got a call from the front desk asking us to come and pay for our room if we were staying. We went up front and was greeted by Geoff, the general manager. He was very rude and wouldn't even look me in the face. Geoff did not honor the $60 rate that the front desk clerk entered into the computer, he told me we would have to pay $74.99. We decided to go ahead and pay the $74.99 but needed to go to the bank to deposit more $ into our account. Geoff would not allow this. He gave us 30 minutes to either pay or leave. Again, he wouldn't look at us, the whole time he spoke with his head down and he was VERY RUDE! I couldn't believe he told us to leave if we couldn't pay right then. Geoff Thompson was even more rude than the shuttle bus driver and was very unhospitable. He told us we had to leave because he was not willing to let us go to the bank and deposit more money on our bank card so we could stay 1 more night. All we needed was about 45 minutes to an hour. Very unprofessional and very rude. I filed a complaint against Geoff with Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanavia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 8600 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#7 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport hotel is the ideal location for both business and leisure travelers stopping in Detroit. This Detroit airport hotel is just minutes from the Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW) and only 20 minutes from downtown attractions. All accommodations at the Embassy Suites hotel in Detroit, Michigan include a spacious two-room suite, a delicious made-to-order breakfast and nightly Evening Reception*. The Burger Bar is a one-of-a-kind burger dining experience featuring fresh beef, turkey, chicken or black bean veggie burgers, made to your exact specifications. The Eighty Six Hundred Restaurant located in the open-air atrium lobby is an additional option, with in-suite dining service also available. Corporate travelers will find their needs catered to at this Detroit, Michigan hotel. Stay with us to enjoy business conveniences such as Executive Boardroom suites, complimentary WiFi and our BusinessLink™ Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing