We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geoff Thompson, G.M.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our stay was very nice. We had a problem with the shuttle bus driver when we first arrived because he didn't want to take my husband to a restaurant. The driver was very rude and unprofessional, to the point where the front desk clerk gave us a free night. She was very hospitable. The night we stayed free, the heat went out. It took a while but after trying to fix the heating unit they moved us to a different room. Because of this the front desk clerk told me she could get us a discounted rate of $60 + tax for the next night. She logged this into her computer. The next day at 12:30 pm we got a call from the front desk asking us to come and pay for our room if we were staying. We went up front and was greeted by Geoff, the general manager. He was very rude and wouldn't even look me in the face. Geoff did not honor the $60 rate that the front desk clerk entered into the computer, he told me we would have to pay $74.99. We decided to go ahead and pay the $74.99 but needed to go to the bank to deposit more $ into our account. Geoff would not allow this. He gave us 30 minutes to either pay or leave. Again, he wouldn't look at us, the whole time he spoke with his head down and he was VERY RUDE! I couldn't believe he told us to leave if we couldn't pay right then. Geoff Thompson was even more rude than the shuttle bus driver and was very unhospitable. He told us we had to leave because he was not willing to let us go to the bank and deposit more money on our bank card so we could stay 1 more night. All we needed was about 45 minutes to an hour. Very unprofessional and very rude. I filed a complaint against Geoff with Hilton.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fanavia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 955 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

Love staying here especially starting a vacation and flying out. Nothing to worry about when you stay here. The evening reception is great and the breakfast is wonderful. The pool and hot tub have always been enjoyable. The Park and Fly pkg. saves a ton of money and don't have to worry about trying to find my car and navigate the airport traffic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

the lobby areas and breakfast are worth choosing this hotel over others near the airport. While on weekends they cater to large groups, they handle them well. service is excellent. Rooms are a little tired and could use some remodeling- but overall a good place to stay near airport

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked our room via Hotwire. We are firm believers that hotels give you the crummy room when you book through Hotwire. Our heat was not functioning properly...in Detroit....in November. You can imagine how cold our room got. We called and asked for a change. The staff was very accommodating and changed us within a matter of minutes.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The morning omelette and reception drinks add value to this hotel. The hotel provides shuttle service to area restaurants. Try the Beirut restaurant for great middle eastern food. Rooms are average and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32ozicedlatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our time at this Embassy Suites. The made to order omelettes at the breakfast buffet are so delicious and were ready very fast with no waiting in a line which we have experienced at other Embassy Suites. The restaurant food is of very good quality and the server looking after us was the best and made our stay very enjoyable. You can have dinner and free drinks from the evening reception. Loved our stay here. Will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Hotel is right by airport. Had some issues with a non smoking request as people don't respect the NO SMOKING POLICIES and the room was smokey. They moved us and we were happy with the room. The night hospitality meal was awesome. A great variety to choose from. Breakfast.....the best ever. Omelette bar was the best. A abundance of food for everyone. Room was spacious only complaint was the furnace which was a bit loud all night. Had some issues but the manager went way out of her way to make us happy and happy we were. You will LOVE this place for a night stay before a airlines trip or just to take in The Henry Ford or Greenfield Village. VERY Close to this attraction! The chef, Vicky was so sweet. Akilah, Jim and the manager were the best staff and I hope they get a raise because it got crazy there for a few!!

Room Tip: If you don't like planes, ask for a room not on a runway. I love planes so the room closest to...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
2.5 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 8600 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#7 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range: $147 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport hotel is the ideal location for both business and leisure travelers stopping in Detroit. This Detroit airport hotel is just minutes from the Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW) and only 20 minutes from downtown attractions. All accommodations at the Embassy Suites hotel in Detroit, Michigan include a spacious two-room suite, a delicious made-to-order breakfast and nightly Evening Reception*. The Burger Bar is a one-of-a-kind burger dining experience featuring fresh beef, turkey, chicken or black bean veggie burgers, made to your exact specifications. The Eighty Six Hundred Restaurant located in the open-air atrium lobby is an additional option, with in-suite dining service also available. Corporate travelers will find their needs catered to at this Detroit, Michigan hotel. Stay with us to enjoy business conveniences such as Executive Boardroom suites, complimentary WiFi and our BusinessLink™ Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing