We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect short stay hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect short stay hotel”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

From checkin to checkout the facility and staff were top notch. The room was very comfortable and has everything you could need with a good workstation as well as a well laid out living space.
Although the hotel is very close to the airport you don't hear any noise from it.
The evening cocktails are accompanied by a variety if both hot and cold munches. In the morning they offer cook to order as well as an extensive buffet.
This is the perfect airport hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalcrew1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    256
    103
    38
    36
See reviews for
304
160
52
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
230 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

As a frequent business traveler, I typically stay at Marriot, Sheraton or Westin hotels. This was my first time at the Embassy Suites and I was pleasantly surprised.

For starters, the price I paid through Priceline ($49 a night) was incredible. You certainly cannot get much for this price point.

In all areas, the Embassy Suites exceeded expectations to the point where I would be willing to consider it for business travel. Obviously, this hotel is geared toward airport passengers, but its location isn’t that bad if you are in the Detroit area for leisure travel. The only down side is Romulus is a sort of gritty, working-class town, so it’s a bit of a drive to the major, upper-end suburban shopping malls. If you’re heading downtown, it takes about 15 minutes from the hotel with light to moderate traffic.

In terms of amenities, I would classify this hotel isn’t quite 3 ½ stars but is somewhere above 3 stars. While it has a bar with dinner menu, the restaurant is hardly full-service. It’s a sort of hybrid between a café and sports bar – not bad, but not fine dining. The evening manager’s reception has complimentary drinks and snacks, which is nice and a good value. The breakfast is also complimentary and would easily be $10-$15 at a Sheraton or Marriott.

The pool and hot tub was quite nice, though the towels in the pool area were ridiculously small. I’ve seen hand towels that were bigger. It was also awkward to walk right through the eating area in swimming clothes.

My room was very clean. The bed was comfortable, which isn’t always the case. The housekeeping service on the second day was so-so – not all of the towels and wash cloths were replaced. The complimentary wireless internet was very fast and reliable too. The two televisions (one in the living room and one in the bedroom) were of a high quality and had a decent channel selection.

My biggest complaint – and this is kind of an issue for an airport hotel – was the parking. There simply aren’t enough spots. One night I had to park in a walkway and the other night I had to park way in the back and walk through a dark parking lot back to the entrance of the hotel.

Overall, this is a nice hotel that I would consider staying at again if I wanted easy access to downtown or needed a place to stay before a morning flight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planetraincar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very Clean and Affordable, missed the reception, but a great option for hotel and parking for a week long trip! Hotel was nice and clean and staff was friendly. Close options for secure parking and would recommend it to friends that are traveling on early flights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our family was meeting in Detroit to attend a wedding. Some were flying and some were driving so this hotel made a perfect spot near the airport to stay with easy access to Detroit and Ann Arbor. This hotel had lots of space and a wonderful complimentary breakfast and evening reception every day. Since it was Memorial Day weekend there were a lot of families there and the staff did a wonderful job of keeping up with everything. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Starbabe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strathroy, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great hotel to meet with a group of hockey parents. Nice and clean. Great for get togethers in the courtyard. Hotel treated us with food and drinks. The staff was friendly and kind. it was relaxing to come to between hockey games.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bernice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel does an excellent job in all phases. Including the staff friendlyness, responsiveness in all departments. Clean in the rooms, lobby, breakfast/dinner area's, pool, hallways, fitness room, etc. I must recommend this hotel to anyone who does not want unwanted surprises.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the American Thanksgiving weekend for a hockey tournament. We traveled by bus and arrived on Thanksgiving Day when everything around us was closed. We were so thankful for 'happy hour' and have never seen this done at another hotel. From 5:30 p.m - 7:30 p.m. there was a complimentary buffet of snack food and an open bar. What a welcome! Especially after being on a bus for almost 10 hour and having 16 hungry Canadian hockey players wanting to eat right away. The staff was so friendly even though they were working on a huge National Holiday. We ordered from the restaurant menu and the prices were super reasonable and the food was great. Our server was so friendly even though she was working an extra-long shift to accommodate the hotel guests.

The rooms were ok. I wasn't a fan of the shutter door to separate the living area with the sleep area. Installing an actual door would do wonders for the quality of stay. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms was very clean.

The entire main lobby is a reception area for people to convene in which is great for keeping people out of hallways and really lessons the probability of loud 'party rooms' on a floor. It is perfect for hockey teams (or other large groups).

The complimentary breakfast offers a wide variety and the made-to-order omelette bar was fantastic.

It was a perfect stay at this hotel and really added to our tournament experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
2.5 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 8600 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#7 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport hotel is the ideal location for both business and leisure travelers stopping in Detroit. This Detroit airport hotel is just minutes from the Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW) and only 20 minutes from downtown attractions. All accommodations at the Embassy Suites hotel in Detroit, Michigan include a spacious two-room suite, a delicious made-to-order breakfast and nightly Evening Reception*. The Burger Bar is a one-of-a-kind burger dining experience featuring fresh beef, turkey, chicken or black bean veggie burgers, made to your exact specifications. The Eighty Six Hundred Restaurant located in the open-air atrium lobby is an additional option, with in-suite dining service also available. Corporate travelers will find their needs catered to at this Detroit, Michigan hotel. Stay with us to enjoy business conveniences such as Executive Boardroom suites, complimentary WiFi and our BusinessLink™ Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing