We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
PlanetX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed May 19, 2008

This was an EXCELLENT place to stay. Friendly, capable staff. Nice breakfast, cooked to order by a friendly and talented cook and a super friendly shuttle bus driver. Whatever they're doing at this hotel, they should keep it up...the rooms are super clean and nicely decorated. The food is great. And their employees are happy and that translates into them being pleasant and courteous and... I was very pleased, would want to stay there again and again.

  • Liked — nice accommodations, airport shuttle, free hot breakfast, friendly staff...
  • Disliked — nothing...quite pleased
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank QueensLace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    258
    103
    38
    36
See reviews for
309
161
52
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham Ontario
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Got this threw Price Line at a great rate
But i would book this hotel at there rack rate I was so happy with it
Big clean rooms, free breakfast excellent location to airport

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank belgiumcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

This is now an Embassy Suites! WOW

The former Hilton has shed it former self and is now an amazing Embassy Suites. The moth is now a butterfly. This by far one of the nicest hotels in the airport area. It blows the near by Crown Plaza away. The Westin on the airport grounds is nicer but $$$$.

The hip lobby features the new style of check in counters, a large wi-fi area for sitting, a bar for the nightly reception (weekends too) and a deli with starbucks coffee. The area also has the complimentary cooked to order breakfast buffet. Try the hot breakfast smoothies! All common area are done in a very hip chic open style.

The gym is large. Treadmills with TV and dumbbells. Very nice. The only draw back is that the gym is off the main lobby. So you have to walk across the lobby to the gym and back all sweaty. The lobby is that nice that it makes you feel bad about this. There is a pool but it is not finished yet.

The rooms are outstanding. Two flat screens! Desk and sofa in the sitting room, a hip bathroom and a nice large comfy bed. There is also a microwave and refer in the room. I could live here….oh wait I almost do.

There is also full service kitchen for room service. And post reception the deli has beer and sodas for sale.

The airplane noise is minimal but noticeable. The heating and cooling are left over from it former self so dated. The windows don’t open due to the airport noise so finding the right temp is a bit of a struggle.

The hotel is understated only 3 stories around a courtyard. But it is worth looking for!

  • Liked — presentation of common areas
  • Disliked — walk across the lobby to get to the gym
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank oldensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORANGE COUNTY, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2007

I stayed here 1 week on a business trip and the hotel was inexpensive and comfortable. The beds are pillow top and are comfortable plus you have a fridge and coffeemaker in the room. I would suggest bringing earplugs as it can be noisy due to being close to the airport and the staff dropping newspapers in the halls early in the morning. It was clean, comfortable and for the price of $110 a night, it was a great value. I have stayed in much worse for alot more money. If you are a starbucks fan you will be disappointment as the free coffee in the rooms is not very good but good luck in trying to find a starbucks within 10 miles of this location, you have to go to Dearborne.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSEOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2007

We stayed one night before catching an early flight. Desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The suite was beautiful and spacious. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kacyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
279 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2006

They weren't kidding when they included "airport" in the name of this hotel. While the proximity was certainly convenient, the poor soundproofing made it seem like my room was on the runway! The building literally shook every time a plane was landing. I've stayed in many "airport" hotels, and have never experienced this level of noise. Check-in was a pain. I booked a king, non-smoking room. When I got to the assigned room, I could smell smoke in the hallway. The door did not have the non-smoking sign that many others did. When I tried the key, it did not work. After schlepping all the way back to the desk with my luggage (my room was as far from the desk as possible), they told me I had booked a smoking room. I produced my confirmation from the Hilton website that proved otherwise. Naturally, they did not have any non-smoking, king rooms left (why is this always such a problem?), so I got stuck with two doubles. The breakfast buffet was poorly stocked, and the staff was slow to replenish items as they ran out (example: no bacon for 40 minutes). If I have occasion to stay in the area again, I will definitely try a different hotel.

  • Liked — Proximity to airport
  • Disliked — Noise from airport
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RaymondD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

When we checked in on a Friday, mind you I had my 3 daughters (ranging in age from 10-15) with me. The front desk clerk was a little abrupt and curt with me. She spoke to me as if I was a second class 'ghetto' citizen. I am very well spoken and did not appreciate this. Another thing that I didn't like was that she gave me a policy to sign, stipulating that I couldn't bring liquor in the room, the room couldn't be occupied by more than the allotted people, no parties or get togethers, etc. I was extremely offended.

I am certain that they don't treat their business customers (i.e. Caucasian males) this way? I'm way too old to have a rambunctious hotel party. Although I rented two rooms for one night, it was only because my townhouse isn't large enough to accommodate 6 children. It was just a simple sleepover before they went back to school. No where on the Hilton website was I informed of such a policy. Had I known beforehand I would have gone elsewhere.

This is the second time that I have had an issue with Hilton Suites in the Metro Detroit area. The last being at Hilton Suites, Auburn Hills, MI. I know after this stay I will not be staying at any Hilton brand hotels in the Metro Detroit area, because I know I deserve to be treated better.

The pool area is nice, having an indoor and outdoor area. However there is a treadmill in the hallway near the elevator. The rooms are a little smaller than what you would expect for Hilton Suites, but yet they are sufficient.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank ABKKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 8600 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#7 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport hotel is the ideal location for both business and leisure travelers stopping in Detroit. This Detroit airport hotel is just minutes from the Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW) and only 20 minutes from downtown attractions. All accommodations at the Embassy Suites hotel in Detroit, Michigan include a spacious two-room suite, a delicious made-to-order breakfast and nightly Evening Reception*. The Burger Bar is a one-of-a-kind burger dining experience featuring fresh beef, turkey, chicken or black bean veggie burgers, made to your exact specifications. The Eighty Six Hundred Restaurant located in the open-air atrium lobby is an additional option, with in-suite dining service also available. Corporate travelers will find their needs catered to at this Detroit, Michigan hotel. Stay with us to enjoy business conveniences such as Executive Boardroom suites, complimentary WiFi and our BusinessLink™ Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing