We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Man I am glad I stayed here. I was a little weary when I drove up to the hotel because of its proximity to the airport and surrounding area. However, when I entered the lobby, I felt as if I was at this shiek hotel in south florida or manhattan.

The common area is new, modern and clean. Check-in was a breeze and I was given room 308.

My room was awesome! Large, spacious and well decorated. I also faced the courtyard of the hotel, so the outside noise was minimal.

I had lots of room to spread out. The desk in my room was large and the internet worked fast. I loved the two TV's and appreciated the fact that I could watch TV while sitting on my couch as well as when I was laying in bed.

At night I was able to drive to a great sports bar - to the left (out of the hotel) on Merriman road called Airport Wheat & Rye where I ate and drank like a king (for only $25).

Breakfast the next day was fantastic. I had a white egg omlete that was as good as any I had in a restaurant.

One thing for sure; next time I travel to the area on business, I have the perfect place for me to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

838 - 844 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night January 3rd....booked my room off priceline...

Lobby atmosphere was great....arrived too late for the manager's reception...went down the street for a burger at the Merriman Grill...no issues there

....very comfortable bed...made for a great sleep

...breakfast was solid at the hotel

...all 2 room suites and all non-smoking rooms

...easy check in / easy check out

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReggieDunlop27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Wonderful stay! The staff greeted our team when we checked in. All rooms were ready as promised.
Evening reception included mixed drinks and beer as well as munchies complimentary for 2 hours!
Breakfast was plentiful with lots of variety and a cook to order omelette bar.
Nice rooms, clean and spacious.
Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I am so happy we chose to stay at this hotel again before flying out for our vacation .... Absolutely beautiful lobby , everyone is so friendly and helpful from the front desk staff to the girl making the free drinks during the managers reception ... The rooms are great with 2 rooms , one with a couch and flat screen tv and the other the bedroom also with its own 32 inch flat screen. It is such a great savings to be able to have free drinks and snackies (nachos , peanuts , popcorn) every night during the managers reception from 5:30 to 7:30 , and then a free hot breakfast which includes made to order omelettes, bacon , sausage ,oatmeal , youghurt and lots of different pastries . Even gave my hubby and I a late checkout due to the fact that our flight was not until late afternoon . Definately will not stay anywhere else when flying out of Detroit !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontariogirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Great staff, wonderful complimentary breakfast buffet, rooms so clean you could eat off the floor. For the price this hotel is an extremely good value! Staff extremely helpful and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABBIE7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The staff here is soooo rude! The breakfast staff with exception of the lady (Vicki) making the omelettes were rude and unfriendly! Terrible!
On Saturday morning, one of the breakfast staff was moping the floors and kept sighing when guest would walk through. She had both sections blocked off and no way to get around.
After breakfast on Saturday morning, one of the staff a young girl, cam to clean the table, my husband and I both said thank you, got no response which on itself I could care less but when my seven year old son says thank you and she doesn't even respond, that's just bad service.
Rude! And unfriendly is how I will remember this stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamipepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffthompsongm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Embassy Suites, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. I truly regret that our breakfast staff did not provide you the exceptional level of service you deserve. I can assure you that I have personally spoken to our staff and guarantee this will not happen again. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Our guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

It is a much older hotel but overall a nice stay. As all. ways with Embassy Suites reception and breakfast were awesome. There are several very good restaurants near by. We will stay here when we return.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
2.5 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 8600 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#6 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range: $134 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport hotel is the ideal location for both business and leisure travelers stopping in Detroit. This Detroit airport hotel is just minutes from the Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW) and only 20 minutes from downtown attractions. All accommodations at the Embassy Suites hotel in Detroit, Michigan include a spacious two-room suite, a delicious made-to-order breakfast and nightly Evening Reception*. The Burger Bar is a one-of-a-kind burger dining experience featuring fresh beef, turkey, chicken or black bean veggie burgers, made to your exact specifications. The Eighty Six Hundred Restaurant located in the open-air atrium lobby is an additional option, with in-suite dining service also available. Corporate travelers will find their needs catered to at this Detroit, Michigan hotel. Stay with us to enjoy business conveniences such as Executive Boardroom suites, complimentary WiFi and our BusinessLink™ Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing