We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another great stay !!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I am so happy we chose to stay at this hotel again before flying out for our vacation .... Absolutely beautiful lobby , everyone is so friendly and helpful from the front desk staff to the girl making the free drinks during the managers reception ... The rooms are great with 2 rooms , one with a couch and flat screen tv and the other the bedroom also with its own 32 inch flat screen. It is such a great savings to be able to have free drinks and snackies (nachos , peanuts , popcorn) every night during the managers reception from 5:30 to 7:30 , and then a free hot breakfast which includes made to order omelettes, bacon , sausage ,oatmeal , youghurt and lots of different pastries . Even gave my hubby and I a late checkout due to the fact that our flight was not until late afternoon . Definately will not stay anywhere else when flying out of Detroit !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontariogirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    260
    106
    40
    36
See reviews for
318
161
53
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Great staff, wonderful complimentary breakfast buffet, rooms so clean you could eat off the floor. For the price this hotel is an extremely good value! Staff extremely helpful and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABBIE7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The staff here is soooo rude! The breakfast staff with exception of the lady (Vicki) making the omelettes were rude and unfriendly! Terrible!
On Saturday morning, one of the breakfast staff was moping the floors and kept sighing when guest would walk through. She had both sections blocked off and no way to get around.
After breakfast on Saturday morning, one of the staff a young girl, cam to clean the table, my husband and I both said thank you, got no response which on itself I could care less but when my seven year old son says thank you and she doesn't even respond, that's just bad service.
Rude! And unfriendly is how I will remember this stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamipepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffthompsongm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Embassy Suites, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. I truly regret that our breakfast staff did not provide you the exceptional level of service you deserve. I can assure you that I have personally spoken to our staff and guarantee this will not happen again. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Our guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

It is a much older hotel but overall a nice stay. As all. ways with Embassy Suites reception and breakfast were awesome. There are several very good restaurants near by. We will stay here when we return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The shuttle service coming in was pretty slow, and I was somewhat disappointed when I saw the other shuttles going around two, three, four, five times and still no Embassy Suites. I waited about an hour for the shuttle, flight got in at 1740, arrived at the hotel at 1930. I came in from overseas so I didn't have a cell phone to call the hotel. After waiting for 45 minutes, luckily, someone getting on a Holiday Inn shuttle called the hotel for me, and they told me it would be ten minutes. 15 minutes later, they picked me up. Quite uncommon for the brand, I have to say and very frustrating.

Of course by the time I got here, happy hour was over, so no free drinks for me. I then tried to take a taxi and no taxis would bring me here since they would get such a low fare, I suppose, they kept telling me to wait for the shuttle.

The hotel doesn't have the normal atrium set up common for Embassy Suites. Normal corridor hotel. I love the security of the atrium set up, which is how Embassy Suites tends to market it.

The room was fine, plenty of space, although old style bathtub, etc. Shower drain was kind of stopped up with hair, and also the sink in the bedroom wouldn't allow you to stop the drain, old. I was traveling alone, but there isn't a "hard" door between the bedroom and the sitting area, just a slatted door, so not as much privacy as usual. I like the set up of Living room leading to bathroom leading to bedroom, but this one you have the bathoom in the bedroom. Again, not a big deal for solos or couples. Not that great for families who like the two distinct rooms.

In general the room was clean, except for hairs in the bathroom. I think they may have been from the maid, because the room appeared clean, but then there was a hair on one of the towels and one on the bathtub. Perhaps just an oversight, some people would be totally grossed out. Not really grossed out, but again, not really common for this brand to be trifling with hair and stuff in the bathroom.

HIGHLIGHT was the restaurant 8600. I had the dinner special which was an absolute steal for 13.95. 10 oz (my guess) Ribeye with bleu cheese crumbles, huge portion of fries and greenbeans for sides. The steak was excellent and the service was attentive and friendly. The ladies really provided an "at home" atmosphere that was welcoming and not snooty at all.

I would say the shuttle service reliability is a major issue. I need that to be on par, especially since I am just using the hotel as a stopover. But the value is still there with the breakfast, etc. In general, I would give this hotel four dots, however, considering the issues not common with the brand, I'm only giving three dots. So there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BagsRpacked705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was really surprised with the accommodations, as I didn't expect much near the airport. However, this place was top notch for $140. Easy to get to, comfortable beds, clean rooms, pleasant staff and surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorWester12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I had the opportunity to stay here in December of 2012, due to issues at the Canadian Border. The lobby was perfect, the room clean, and the hot tub was HOT, which is a great thing.

The staff was very friendly and went out of there way to find me a King Room.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 8600 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#7 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport hotel is the ideal location for both business and leisure travelers stopping in Detroit. This Detroit airport hotel is just minutes from the Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW) and only 20 minutes from downtown attractions. All accommodations at the Embassy Suites hotel in Detroit, Michigan include a spacious two-room suite, a delicious made-to-order breakfast and nightly Evening Reception*. The Burger Bar is a one-of-a-kind burger dining experience featuring fresh beef, turkey, chicken or black bean veggie burgers, made to your exact specifications. The Eighty Six Hundred Restaurant located in the open-air atrium lobby is an additional option, with in-suite dining service also available. Corporate travelers will find their needs catered to at this Detroit, Michigan hotel. Stay with us to enjoy business conveniences such as Executive Boardroom suites, complimentary WiFi and our BusinessLink™ Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing