We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I stay in hotels on business travel weekly and found this hotel to be an excellent experience. The hotel looks freshly renovated and has a more traditional/contemporary blend versus the usual open concept of most of the Embassy brand. The first two to three floors are open in the center of the building with a central stair case going to floor two. There are plenty of places to relax and to hold small group or one-on-one conversations. I stayed in the Lansing Suite which was a full king room with an additional attached conference room that would seat ten comfortably and its own bathroom and closet. The conference room and my sleeping area were separated by a living room/office area with lockable door. The hotel was just minutes from the airport. The staff was exceptional at all levels from housekeeping, to the kitchen/bar, and front desk staff. I would definitely stay here again when in the Detroit area for business next time. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akinney9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

832 - 838 of 983 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is very close to the airport. The layout was great. The suite was roomy. The bed was comfortable. The flat screen TVs were nice. We enjoyed the cooked to order breakfast. All in all, we enjoyed our stay. We will come back again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geffect95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Location: ~5 mins from the terminal; you need to call for the Shuttle than just standing and waiting for it to show up. Friendly shuttle that appears quickly on demand

Hotel: Nice open lobby - both the check in areas and also the dining area
Its an older building with long corridors with some wear showing on the carpets though the rooms are fine and updated

Misc:
+ free internet
+ managers reception 5-7.30pm is terrific! Lots of food options ranging from nachos, sauces, to nibbles and these are well replenished. Also the soda/beer/wine option is nice. Bottom line, you don't need dinner. This is held in the open lobby area and very nice than the usual run of the mill receptions
+ excellent breakfast
+ very friendly service - they were happy to help with taxi reservations, late checkouts, switching pillows etc

This was not the time of the year to check out the pool :) though it looked nice

Room Tip: Best to ask for an "away from the elevator room" - lots of housekeeping traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Embassy Suites is my favorite hotel for short get-a-ways. I like the extra room of a suite. 1st visit to this particular one. You can tell it used to be some other chain in a previous incarnation. They've redecorated the lobby and breakfast area. Our room had been updated as well, except for the bathroom. It had a louvered door separating the living space from the bedroom. I do prefer the suites with a solid door separating the two, but for this visit, it wasn't a problem (no kids around this time). Check-in was almost instant. The breakfast buffet was substantial and my husband liked his omelet. The room was very clean and they had decorated in more modern style furniture. I was surprised at how little airplane noise I could hear given its proximity to Metro. The only drawback regarding noise was the two traveling hockey teams staying there. This was the cheapest Embassy Suites we've stayed in. I was happy with the overall value given the less modern bathroom and the different design than other Embassy Suites. I would stay there again, but only if our regular one is sold out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The room was nice, with the exception of a heater that was too loud when it kicked in. The made-to-order breakfast is always great, and the check-in process was almost instant. It's right next to the airport but we could hardly hear the planes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was by far our WORST ever stay at an Embassy Suites. It is an older building which has a mid century design style (no 10 story atrium). The lobby and dining area are dirty and unwelcoming. We booked a room online with king suite, but when we arrived we we placed in a double suite. No apologies or offer to amend the error. The room was not updated and shower was tiny. The bedroom was separated by a louver door that smashed my 5 year olds fingers. We would never stay here again. We are about to leave the Hilton family of hotels as they seem to be in decline. Don't stay here!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrAvatarMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffthompsongm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests - including areas where we haven’t met our guests’ expectations. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate your reserved room type. Our front desk department goes through a lengthy process each day to ensure that our guests receive exactly the room expected, however at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and do hope that the next time you travel to the area you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Embassy is probably my favorite hotel chain. Always get good value for the dollar. This is my second stay at this property. I was here in Oct '11 and both times had enjoyable stays. This time was very good, room was very nice, clean and like any Embassy, spacious. Happy hour was good along with an excellent breakfast both mornings. Embassy knows how to do a hot breakfast and happy hour. Staff actually remembered us from our visit last year. Pretty surprising since we are a pretty non descriptive group, but a nice touch! For where we were visiting (Downriver area) it was a very convenient location. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhungarian_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
2.5 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 8600 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#7 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range: $128 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport hotel is the ideal location for both business and leisure travelers stopping in Detroit. This Detroit airport hotel is just minutes from the Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW) and only 20 minutes from downtown attractions. All accommodations at the Embassy Suites hotel in Detroit, Michigan include a spacious two-room suite, a delicious made-to-order breakfast and nightly Evening Reception*. The Burger Bar is a one-of-a-kind burger dining experience featuring fresh beef, turkey, chicken or black bean veggie burgers, made to your exact specifications. The Eighty Six Hundred Restaurant located in the open-air atrium lobby is an additional option, with in-suite dining service also available. Corporate travelers will find their needs catered to at this Detroit, Michigan hotel. Stay with us to enjoy business conveniences such as Executive Boardroom suites, complimentary WiFi and our BusinessLink™ Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing