We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Had to spend 1 night there after I missed my connecting flight. The hotel is located just 10-15 minutes from the airport so it wasn't bad at all. The lady at the front desk was very welcoming and helpful. The hotel lobby was pretty (the hallways didn't really match though, i thought they were a little dated...), but my suite was really nice, and after a long day, that's all i needed. The room was clean, the bathroom too, and i really liked the layout of the bathroom. The king size bed was so comfortable I slept like a baby... made me forget all about the horrible day i had.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTL51446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 991 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

Had an overall great stay at this ES. Really classy lobby, rooms were spacious, clean, and modern. Beds were super comfy. The staff was really friendly to us as well. Booked this through hotwire and got a great rate for the quality of the room. Importantly, in a SAFE part of the Detroit area. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ca8790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I traveled to Detroit for a training and booked a room at the embassy suites airport location. Upon arrival the hotel looked great the lobby was clean and very modern, that's where the "clean" stopped! Once in my room I walked into a warm, moist atmosphere that was dated and just not nice, nothing like the lobby. The bathroom smelled like urine, the toilet seat was broken, and the view was of the hotel's dumpster! I was unable to sleep because of the noise from the elevator shaft behind my room, the noise from the dumpster , as well as the extreme heat from the rooms broken a/c unit. I will NEVER stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JrBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Check in person was perfunctory, not very friendly or responsive. Advised me to use the "back door" where there was no elevator. When I asked if there were baggage carts at that entrance, she said "no." That's it, just "no." Gee, thanks for the help. Not very welcoming, no information volunteered re amenities or layout.

Lobby & pool are very nice, rooms are small, bathroom had missing tile grout along the baseboard, 1 mold spot on tub caulk, and loose wallpaper. TV channels are very limited, no Fox News or CNBC.

A few old cars hanging out in the back parking lot at night, booming music, a little scary.
Inefficient layout, lots of walking necessary to get to your room.

All in all, not up to ES standards, not worth the $135 rate. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Plenty of alternatives in the DTW area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Location was the deciding factor in selecting this property. Hotel is well maintained. Early check-in was handled professionally and effortlessly. Room was slightly smaller than other Embassy Suites I have stayed in, but the room was in good condition and nicely appointed. Bed was comfortable. The manager’s evening reception was the best I have ever attended at an Embassy Suites. The staff on duty clearly wanted to make certain that guests were enjoying themselves. Selection of food was better than the usual popcorn and pretzels. Breakfast buffet was a little disappointing as the eggs on the buffet line were lukewarm and potatoes were cold. As a global comment, I can state that every staff person I encountered greeted me warmly and wanted to insure that my stay was pleasant. That, to me, is always a plus. I must, however, agree with at least one of the other postings. As a light sleeper, I had trouble with the air conditioner every time it cycled on. It makes a fairly pronounced noise. That aside, everything else about my stay was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

The rooms are decent sized as hotels go and there is a folding door betweent he living room and bed/bathroom area. Seemed a bit strange to me but I can see where a family with kids could put them on the fold out couch in the livingarea and have privacy. There is a flatscreen tv in each section. The couch was very uncomfortable but the chair was sittable. There is a microwave and decent sized fridge however you must save silverware and dishes from the buffet in order to make use of this. The breakfast buffett is included and must not be missed!. There is a section for custom omlettes and pancake/waffles. The waflfles were a bit dry but the pancakes were moist. On the breakfast bar there is bacon, sausage, hashbrowns, yogurt and fruit. Hot oatmeal and packs of cold cereal are available along with rolls, bagels, english muffins and bread. There is coffeee, milk, juice and pop for drinks along with teabags. There was a hot cocoa machine but it was broken. A feast can be had and a lunch prepared from here. In the evenings there is a managers reception with 'nibbles'-chips chex mix pretzels etc. There is also nachos and cheese salsa or refried beans depending on the night, One evenign there was breadsticks and marinara sauce. The same morning liquids are available again and there is liquor for free in what was the omlette bar. The beds are comfortable and pillows soft. The bathroms are too small and there is no walkin showers or handheld shower nozzles. The planes fly overhead all night but i did not find this annoying. What was annoying however was the lack of TV channels. There are metal sculptures throught the place and are worth the look-see. The swimming pool was of decent size. The hottub was very warm and while could have been a bit larger was acceptable size. Sadly though it was broken the last night. THe exercise room has only dumbbells no weight machines. There is a bike treadmill and 2 stepper machines. Staff is friendly and helpful I didn't have a problem with anyone. There is a shuttle van. The sinks drain very slow because of the small j-traps; I would not suggest washing anything down the drains. They advertise bathrobes in all the rooms but in reality these must be asked for. There is only 1 elevator. The parking lot fills up fast on the weekends but no so much during the week. There is a business center with atrocious wallpaper and at least 4 computers and a printer. Wi-fi in the rooms is slow and if alot of people are using cna not get graphics heavy games very well. In fact, I had a better rate using the Holiday inn across the street's network. Would stay here again

Room Tip: On the holiday in side in case your wi-fi is bad. I prefer the street view tot he parking lot. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinkick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Overall the hotel is ok, normal Embassy Suites, but there is one thing that is for me a deal breaker. There is too much noise in the bedroom due to the huge AC Compressor right a few feet away from the bed (not the AC under the windows..). So this wakes you up several times.
Staff is great, hotel is clean, good amenities. but noise is a no no.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidafranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
2.5 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 8600 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#7 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range: $124 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport hotel is the ideal location for both business and leisure travelers stopping in Detroit. This Detroit airport hotel is just minutes from the Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW) and only 20 minutes from downtown attractions. All accommodations at the Embassy Suites hotel in Detroit, Michigan include a spacious two-room suite, a delicious made-to-order breakfast and nightly Evening Reception*. The Burger Bar is a one-of-a-kind burger dining experience featuring fresh beef, turkey, chicken or black bean veggie burgers, made to your exact specifications. The Eighty Six Hundred Restaurant located in the open-air atrium lobby is an additional option, with in-suite dining service also available. Corporate travelers will find their needs catered to at this Detroit, Michigan hotel. Stay with us to enjoy business conveniences such as Executive Boardroom suites, complimentary WiFi and our BusinessLink™ Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing