We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real winner. We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A real winner. We will be back!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very nice hotel. From the first moment to the last, the staff was excellent. By far, the nices room I have ever had in an Embassy. The "suite" portion was a bit smaller than usual, but the quality was a nice trade-off. Manager's reception EVERY day (not just week days) from 5:30-7:30 PM. Not the greatest finger food on the planet, but very nice anyway. Typical American beers and open bar for free. Couple good beers on tap if you want to pay. At first I was concerned that there was little near the hotel for eats and drinks, but that was not the case. Nice restaurants with lots of good beer are located in several of the adjacent hotels (I'd start with Taps in the Four Points and then the Holiday Inn, both of which are right next door). The Wheat and Rye is also excellent. Close by and the hotel shuttle will take you there for free. We stayed here to go to the University of Michigan game. Easy on/off I-94. Only 15 minutes from the Airport. Free shuttle. Great stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BcOneSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    258
    103
    38
    36
See reviews for
309
161
52
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights during the long weekend. Booked on priceline and very happy with the room I received. Huge rooms, could have comfortably slept 4. Clean too. Wifi worked well in all of the hotel for me, which doesn't always happen.

Had a small problem with the TV in the bedroom not working, but maintenance was up quickly to fix it while we went out for dinner. The breakfast was great. Excellent selection. The wait for omelets and waffles was about 10-15 minutes.

Would stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuGautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This hotel is ok if you get a decent rate. It was nice to have two flat screen tv's however; the remote in one room sometimes controlled the tv in the other room and vice versa. There are not many channel selections and the tv screen is not clear. The sink is in the bedroom instead of the bathroom, which
makes it inconvenient if you have more than one person in the room.
The small microwave had a leg missing which made heating liquids tricky. On the plus side - free breakfast and managers reception each day.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertha55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The staff was great, our room comfortable. The breakfast, as always at an Embassy Suites, was wonderful. The manager's reception in the evening had different food items each night, instead of the same thing every night. We had no complaints at all, and would stay there again if in the Detroit area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were in the Detroit area for a week long family vacation. Romulus was a good mid point for all of our adventures. For those traveling by plane it is less then 10 minutes to the Detroit Metro Airport. We were able to take in the Manages Reception our first night, what a bonus especially for the business traveller. A great variety of snacks and complimentary beverages to relax after a busy day. The complimentary breakfast was missing nothing, everything from hot breakfast to cereal. We always try to get a hotel with continental breakfast and this one surpassed all our expectations.
The rooms were very clean and well kept. All the rooms are suites which is nice, having an actual sitting area with a couch is more like being at home.
The staff were friendly and we were always greeted with a smile and cheerful "Good Morning" or "Hello".
If we ever make it back to the Detroit area we WILL book here again.
Thank you to all the staff that made our vacation a memorable one.

Room Tip: Upper floor is always best so you don't hear footsteps above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is my third stay here (all one day stops) and it did not disappoint. The place is consistenly clean and modern; although the exterior may not be so modern. Suites are as expected for an Embassy Suite. My one comment is that a solid room divider (instead of the shutter doors) would be better. Our 2 boys (8 & 6) likes it totally dark and the glowing light through the shutters was a bother. Just one critique ... On my check-out (on August 14th) the front desk clerk didn't acknowledge me (no word, just a head up) and I passed my key cards and said "Just checking out" and I didn't get a response back. But he did ham it up with the guest prior to me. Very funny I thought but definitely rude especially for a repeat customer and the first incidence on trip I had out of the 6 hotels I stayed on this trip. Guess my HHonours Silver status means squat. I'll chalk this one as an exception and will be back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gojadego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Super nice new place that is the diamond of the Detroit Airport hotels. Not expensive either. I stayed one night on Hotwire in the $50+ range, and another night with my daughter after a late arrival in for $84. Throw in the generous free breakfasts, and this hotel is not just very, very nice, but also very inexpensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dukefan2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 8600 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#7 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport hotel is the ideal location for both business and leisure travelers stopping in Detroit. This Detroit airport hotel is just minutes from the Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW) and only 20 minutes from downtown attractions. All accommodations at the Embassy Suites hotel in Detroit, Michigan include a spacious two-room suite, a delicious made-to-order breakfast and nightly Evening Reception*. The Burger Bar is a one-of-a-kind burger dining experience featuring fresh beef, turkey, chicken or black bean veggie burgers, made to your exact specifications. The Eighty Six Hundred Restaurant located in the open-air atrium lobby is an additional option, with in-suite dining service also available. Corporate travelers will find their needs catered to at this Detroit, Michigan hotel. Stay with us to enjoy business conveniences such as Executive Boardroom suites, complimentary WiFi and our BusinessLink™ Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing