We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Father's Embassy Suites - A New Take”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Typical purpose-built Embassy Suites of the old era are tall, fortress-like cubes with internal atria that smell of pool chlorine. This property, which apparently used to fly another brand flag, is very different -- and not bad at all.

it's only three stories high. The bright extended lobby resembles a small shopping mall food court, with lots of seating, stations for the trademark gratis happy hour and breakfast buffet, plus a little vest-pocket bar and an easy-to-overlook counter that retails sandwiches, etc. (There's no formal restaurant.)

Rooms are recently redecorated and very pleasant with vibrant colors and fabrics, flat-screen TVs and mini-kitchens including fridge and microwave.

The air conditioning was laboring at max effort during our stay - big heat wave in progress - and while our room was fine the common area was warm and muggy. One big if well-intentioned mistake is the popcorn popper that's part of the happy hour snack lineup; the whole zone stinks of hot pseudo-butter and charred kernels.

The neighborhood is all you'd expect from a strip on the airport perimeter, e.g. not much. A lot of other hotels, a sketchy gas station, and nondescript office parks. We drove off in search of a proper dinner with a menu and a waiter, etc., but couldn't find anything appetizing and ended up at McDonald's. DTW rental car return is three minutes away.

You're unlikely to stay here more than one night given the location, but it's good value and the rooms are excellent. Parking is free.

Room Tip: Get a room well away from lobby to avoid popcorn miasma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BearX220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

931 - 937 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with my two teens for four days to visit The Henry Ford and it's associated venues - (about 15 min. away) Given the area's choices, this was a economical and adequate hotel with our need of room space. Rooms and overall appearance of the hotel was clean. Beds and pillow were comfortable. Breakfast and Evening Reception offerings were good and fresh but seems to need a bit more attention by staff with clean up of areas. Used the pool area one evening - okay but had trash on the floors and looked like it needed some attention also. Not really any perks for the HH Members - the paper was delivered to the door one morning but could have picked it up in the lobby as everyone else.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank goosey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This place was OK and served the purpose of lodging the night before our early morning flight. First the pro's - early checkin was not a problem, parking package was a plus, beds were comfy, managers reception and breakfast buffet were great. Cons - DIRTY pool (hair, bugs, food floating in the pool and dirty areas outside the pool), door in the room was broken so had very little privacy into the bedroom, bathroom was dirty with hair and mold on the shower curtain, and the lobby carpet was old and stained and overstretched. Again, served the purpose for a night stay but with some cleaning and updates this place would be so much better.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopperlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed three nights in June 2011.
Overall Hotel was fine and breakfast was Good.
However, we have stayed at Much nicer Embassy properties in Columbus, Ohio and elsewhwere.
Nothing really wrong here, but just an OK hotel.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Jim007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

3 Nights while in town for the first time. I wasn't sure where to stay since I had not been to the area before. I think if you need to be close to airport this is your place. If you have the flexibility of a car and location stay outside of area as there isn't much around other than airport stuff.....

First impression was that this was going to be a fully updated property based on lobby was that the rooms would follow, not the case. King room on 3rd floor away from elevator. Decent sized Embassy Suite, carpets were dirty including hallways, furniture in need to updating and the little things overlooked like stains on curtain, walls and furniture. Just needs to be updated a bit more within the rooms and the fine touches and you have a winner.

Pool and hot tub were a bit dirty and seemed to not be fully maintained. I took a tub and it was in need of water and the pool deck inside was gross!

Dinning was decent, nice spread for happy hour and breakfast as well lunch purchased was good.

Staff all in all pretty attentive but can use additional training in higher quality service as expected from this arm of Hilton Brands.

All in all, decent stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2worldtravelersnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I used to stay at this hotel ages ago when it was a Hilton Suites. They had done a major renovation a few years ago and it shows!

The lobby and breakfast/restaurant area was large and well lit. The rooms are a good size and feature a microwave and a mini fridge. The rooms are surprisingly quiet for an airport hotel.

The workout room was nice - not huge but a handful of cardio machines as well as weights.

Breakfast was included including made to order omelets.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I have stayed at other hotels around the airport and this is the best. Very nice lobby, fast checkin, rooms are very nice and clean. Would stay here again in a heatbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
2.5 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 8600 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#6 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range: $133 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport hotel is the ideal location for both business and leisure travelers stopping in Detroit. This Detroit airport hotel is just minutes from the Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW) and only 20 minutes from downtown attractions. All accommodations at the Embassy Suites hotel in Detroit, Michigan include a spacious two-room suite, a delicious made-to-order breakfast and nightly Evening Reception*. The Burger Bar is a one-of-a-kind burger dining experience featuring fresh beef, turkey, chicken or black bean veggie burgers, made to your exact specifications. The Eighty Six Hundred Restaurant located in the open-air atrium lobby is an additional option, with in-suite dining service also available. Corporate travelers will find their needs catered to at this Detroit, Michigan hotel. Stay with us to enjoy business conveniences such as Executive Boardroom suites, complimentary WiFi and our BusinessLink™ Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing