We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheers! - to a local legend”
Review of Corner Bar

Corner Bar
Ranked #3 of 65 Restaurants in Rockford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
UK-USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheers! - to a local legend”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

For me the Corner Bar has for the last 15 years been the only place I would deliberately head for to eat hot dogs, chilli dogs to be precise.


Once after the first two dawgs slipped down so easily, I thought about going for the "12 in 4 hours" that would get my name on a wall plaque, but after a third I was done, and I'm glad about that.

Some locals claim the hot dogs aren't as good as Yesterdog (Grand Rapids), but I've tried those once and I think there are Corner Bar people and Yesterdog people, and that's how it should be.

If I lived nearer than 1000 miles away, I would come here more often than twice a year and I would have something other than chilli dogs and curly fries with cheese dip. The menu has a lot of other good looking stuff, including a decent selection of Mexican dishes which I've seen float by on the way to other tables.

Good selection of beers these days including local craft beers and one of the only Root beers that I might choose instead of a real beer, Henry Warsteiner's draft.

The Corner bar is an American classic. Whether you come with friends or bring the kids, good comfort food, a cold beer and warm service will make you feel right at home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Notdunrovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    68
    15
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“improved, better service and food quality.The CORNER BAR has a long standing history..STOP BY & SEE”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The staff service is improved since one year ago.. I have lived & worked in this town my whole 50yrs. I am very anxious to share the food quality is better than two years ago..They even offer catering. I believe everyone who reads this message should not pass this place up.. The prices are very reasonable too. There is so much shopping in this town.. Stop by and see what Rockford has to offer!! Enjoy:)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colleen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Hot Dogs”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a nice afternoon lunch here. The Corner Bar is famous for its hot dogs, however they have other options on the menu which are also really good. They have an awesome draft beer selection as well. I would recommend this place to anyone and will be eating here again next time i vacation in Rockford.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Getting Better”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My last review of the Corner Bar was terrible. I had waited over a year to dine in this establishment due to a continued poor product. It appears that they may have hired a new manager and a new chef, because we have had two (2) great meals at the Corner in the past month! The Atlantic white fish was sooooo good and the service was excellent. I noticed a female manager walking back and forth from the dining room to the kitchen, checking on everything. This is what I am talking about!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“3 words - DEEP FRIED PICKLES”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

It's always packed when we go in there. They have The Best deep fried pickles. People brag about their hot dogs, but I wasn't impressed (no where near as good as Yesterdog). We've eaten here several times and the food never disappoints. A little crowded and loud though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iris981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner Bar also viewed

Rockford, Kent County
Rockford, Kent County
 
Rockford, Kent County
Rockford, Kent County
 

Been to Corner Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing