We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable Tavern Food & Beverage”
Review of The Clubhouse BFD

The Clubhouse BFD
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: AT CLUBHOUSE BFD OUR MISSION IS TO BE A NEIGHBORHOOD GATHERING PLACE SERVING QUALITY BFD (BEER-FOOD-DRINK) WITHOUT THE PRETENSE. QUITE SIMPLY WE LOVE EXCEPTIONAL BEERS AND GREAT FOOD WHICH FUELS OR DESIRE TO BRING YOU THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS. CLUBHOUSE BFD IS YOUR PLACE AND WILL CONTINUE TO EVOLVE BASED ON YOUR SUGGESTIONS AND IDEAS.-AND OH YEAH WE TAKE OUR MUSIC ALMOST AS SERIOUS AS OUR BEER!
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Reliable Tavern Food & Beverage”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Had dinner with a small group, atmosphere and service was very good. Menu options and food quality also very good. If you like beer, this place has an awesome selection of global, local, and Michigan regional beers on draft, several of which I had never experienced on draft. Group ordered a range of food; burgers, fish tacos, salads, my Rueben sandwich was excellent. Kind of a sports bar (local teams on TVs scattered around) but not blaring and glaring, in the background.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Furthur54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    50
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Best bar, can get crowded and seats are uncomfortable”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This bar has the most beers on tap I've ever seen, changes the beer menu regularly, and boasts an impressive food menu as well. The chili is my absolute favorite, and the BFD burger is served with sour cream -- perhaps the best condiment ever.

It's easy to spend hours here and the wait times are long if you come during a busy time, which happens to be after work and on the weekends. Since it's easy to stay awhile, trying two or three beers you've never heard of, it's important to make sure the seat you pick will allow it. Most of the chairs and stools I've used in the bar are pretty uncomfortable and make me want to leave about about 90-minutes.

BFD is constructing a patio with tons of outdoor seating and this should help with the crowds. Hopefully the seats will be comfy! Either way, this is one of the most popular bars in the Metro Detroit area. You'll love it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artemis927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome! ”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Definitely should check this place out. HUGE beer selection, and constant rotation of new beers!! Food is also excellent. The pan roasted chicken is a delicious dish! Great burgers, wings, meatballs, fries, dessert! Everything. Amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Desire Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“THE Perfect Date Spot!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled upon this gem and were awestruck by the beer selection and local offering. This is a beer lovers dream come true! The ambience is great...laid back and cozy. The service was phenomenal and the food was DELICIOUS!!! I ordered a burger (medium rare) and my husband, a steak (medium). Both were well seasoned and cooked to perfection! So excited to have this amazing restaurant in our neighborhood!!

Helpful?
Thank VBliz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland Township, MI
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ein Bier Bitte, and then some!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We've driven by this place a number of times as it's located on a busy stretch of M-59 at Crooks, so easy on and easy off, and decided to give it a try. WOW! Wonderful food and awesome beer doesn't do it justice! We were greeted on a busy Friday night like we were long-lost friends and they would do their very best to get us seated quickly - there was about a 25 minute wait - but numerous places to sit outside, near the front door, or bar. Everyone was friendly, polite, and happy to answer questions when we were seated and began ordering.

I hadn't had a true ginger-beer since visiting Williamsburg, VA a number of years ago, and the ginger "beer" was excellent, as were all the real beers at our table. They have a true selection of beer, from 50+ on tap, 130+ in-house, and 70+ bottled. As the main course, I had the cast-iron, pressed 1/2 Chicken, served with roasted potatoes and asparagus. Heaven. The chicken just melted in my mouth, and the asparagus was cooked to perfection. Well, done, Kitchen!

It's a casual, fun, sort of campy (think moose-head trophy over the bar) place, and they are doing a major outdoor addition with cover and fireplace pits, so looking forward now to when that is complete.

If you have friends & family who love good beer, along with excellent meals, this is definitely the place to try. We'll be going back to dutifully try the different brews...just to make sure they are OK for others to drink. You're welcome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clubhouse BFD also viewed

 

Been to The Clubhouse BFD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing