We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch”

O'Connor's Public House
Ranked #11 of 90 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 2005.O'Connor's was designed and built by the Prairie Pub Company, one of only five Guinness approved authentic Irish pub builders in the world. The finished pub was shipped to the States and reassembled in the historical downtown district of Rochester Michigan.Stop by and enjoy some of the of history in this Irish pub. Some particular items to take special notice of are the floor located in the main bar area dating back more than 140 years, also the the stone wall separating the dinning area from the bar was once an exterior wall, now recovered offering a soft rustic feel. You will also notice stain glass and wrought iron in the pub which was harvested from crumbling churches through out Ireland.
michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Busy place for a nice pub lunch. We were a group of eight and each enjoyed the lunch we chose. I would go back!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dianawrdh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitry G, Manager at O'Connor's Public House, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hello....
My name is Dimitry Goyfman i am the Assistant General Manager here at O'Connor's Public House.And I just wanted to take a minute and thank you for coming in to our Pub. And I am very happy to hear that you had a good experience during your visit.

We hope to see you back soon and when you are here please be sure to say hello...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    43
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester MI
Level Contributor
134 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“One of the Better Places in Downtown Rochester”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Overall this is typically one of our "go to" default spots to land when out on the town. Typically very good service, even though it is often packed. They make an effort on special occasions like St Patty's Day, halloween and so on. They often will have live performers on Sundays for their brunch and Wednesdays, and will often have a band on weekend nights. As a college town there are often amateur drinkers who are more interested in being stupid than friendly, so let me say thank you that this establisment has very good security guys who can make a bad situation a very nice one quickly when required. The owner will often use Wednesday to feature some sort of a classic cocktail night, where bartending is again an art form. That can be pricey but well worth it. They have good Irish foods, although a bit steep in my opinion for the food prices. All in all a great place to land.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jiml3222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
284 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great burger”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

When I want a good burger in Rochester, we head here. Although very noisy, we like the atmosphere. A jumping place for sure, especially with the younger crowd.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathy203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“O'Connor's Pub”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

On a recent visit to see the kids and grandkids just north of Detroit, my grandson said,”Hey, Grandpa, we want to take you to an Irish pub. So we piled in the car and headed to O’Connor’s Public House, just a few minutes away.

From the moment we walked in until we finally tore ourselves away, we were treated very warmly and sincerely. Every one was friendly and helpful. Best of all, if a person didn’t know the answer to one of our questions, they said so and then went to find out.

The atmosphere was cozy, just like a pub should be, and filled with eclectic memorabilia. The ale selection was more than adequate and carried many of the local brews as well as imports. I had a very tasty dopple-bach with a good solid body and full flavor, and another two of our party enjoyed a chilled hard cider with a bump of cinnamon schnapps. My lady was happy because she finally found a bar that really knows how to make a “Nutty Irishman”.

There was a good menu selection, but the only foods I can personally attest to are the Guinness stew and the Lobster Mac and Cheese (a spiral pasta smothered in cheddar cheese, onion and ham, topped with a grilled lobster tail). The stew had a rich, thick broth that complemented the flavors of the generous chunks of prime beef and vegetables.

Young and old had a great time, and this will definitely be on our list of places to try again on our next return trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“True Pub atmosphere and menu”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Friendly, cozy pub atmosphere, great service, awesome fish and chips! Good wine selection, extensive menu variety. Fun place, fast and courteous wait staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eurogirl1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Connor's Public House also viewed

 

Been to O'Connor's Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing