We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a very pleasant, quiet hotel with high standards in a good location. If I'm ever back in the area I will not hesitate to stay here again. The breakfasts were good quality and the staff polite, friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are so appreciative of your kind words and are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.

I know that our team will be overjoyed to hear your comments about their friendliness, politeness and efficiency. Each of our team takes great pride in providing every guest with a wonderful experience, using their best abilities to bring our guests back for return visits time and again.

Please feel free to call upon me during your next return.I would enjoy meeting with you.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    82
    24
    7
    12
See reviews for
69
137
17
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Beautiful property, impeccable service, luxury rooms, amazing value. What else do you need to know? Much better alternative to the chains. Easy access to the Troy business corridor. A touch of English elegance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmisra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. I will be presenting your comments to our staff today and I know they will be thrilled - especially about your impeccable service comment. Every one of our team members strives for that goal on a daily basis.

On a personal note, I was delighted to see your comment 'much better alternative to the chains' as we regularly use this in our sales presentations to current and future guests.

Please look me up when you are here next.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I would have given it 5-starts a year ago, but now was so disappointed.
I got married in the Royal Park hotel, in the beautiful and intimate Conservatory. It was an event to remember and all our guests loved it. We spent the night in the hotel, just like many of our guests.
The hotel is large and it has everything it should have for a full-service hotel. However, in spite of being "the top wedding destination" in Michigan, it seems to be going fast into decay. Between 2011, when we married, and 2012 when we came back to celebrate our anniversary, we noticed a severe decay of the cleanliness, service, furnishings and occupation level.
We stayed in the same suite of our wedding, that to our disappointment had spider webs in the corners, iron burning marks and water staining to the carpet. The bathroom had wear/tear marks and the bed sheets were horribly worn out and smelled stale.
The common areas were in even worse dismay. The carpet in the upstairs corridors were flat out dirty, with a dark color of the walking path. The walls of the corridors were all scratched chipped and dented. so were the room doors.
Service was also down and insufficient for the size of the property. Also, the garage was not available to us, in spite of the rain, and I had to park under the weather and get wet, because only valet could use it (it was empty at 1130pm in a Saturday).
It's a pity. I hope it change hands or management soon, before more damage is done and the level goes further down.

Room Tip: Choose the suites with a view to the creek alongside to the hotel, facing West.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your candid comments about your September 2012 visit to our hotel. All guest comments are very important to us and allow us to review protocols and procedures for our guests.

I apologize if any of the matters you mentioned impacted your anniversary visit with us in any way. You will be pleased to know that since your visit we have tightened our inspection and service controls. Nonetheless I will personally investigate each of your comments.

I am pleased to say that the hotel and its team have experienced its top year ever in 2012 and that the past two quarters have been historical bests in both revenue and profit since the hotel opened. We look forward to having you as our anniversary guest for many years to come.

Please feel free to look me up when you are next here.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Everything was quietly and competently taken care of in first class fashion! The coffee and newspapers in the "library" was a welcome change from the generic hotels. The room was quiet and very well appointed. Overall, this is a very pleasant, quiet, and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfTraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Royal Park. Our team is diligent in insurung that the guest experience is one of comfort and relaxation. They will be so pleased to hear your comments.

We pride ourselves on providing a quiet guest room that allows all of our guests to enjoy a restful sleep. Our library is one of the amenities that our guests truly appreciate and we are so happy that you have joined with them.

I do hope you will look me up on your next visit.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We selected the Royal Park Hotel to avoid the chain hotels along I-75. The hotel was a little pricey, but we were very pleased with out stay. The purpose of our visit was three fold: to attend the NCAA basketball tournament in Auburn Hills; reconnect with old friends; and have a short holiday. We were very pleased with the guest service. Front desk staff and service standards were extremely high. The ambiance of the hotel was exceptional. We loved the library and reception area. Breakfast was very good. We did not take advantage of all the amenities that the hotel has to offer. We definitely plan on returning to the Royal Park Hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djh8_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your recent visit to Royal Park. We are thrilled that you were so pleased with the hotel and the service of our staff. Our team takes great pride in insuring that every guest has an enjoyable experience. They will be delighted to hear your comments.

I do hope that on your next visit you will have the opportunity to enjoy more of the hotel amenities and our popular downtown area. Please feel free to call upon me when you are next here.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am not surprized at the number of excellent reviews of the Royal Park. We have stayed here frequently over the last 6 years and have always rated it very highly. It is such a lovely place that we have sometimes extended a business visit into a short holiday. The rooms and fitout is very high quality. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Restaurant is excellent albeit a bit expensive. I couldn't recommend the Royal Park more highly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
All of us at Royal Park thank you for your kind words about our hotel. I will personally pass on your comments to the staff about their friendliness and helpfulness.I Am quite sure they will appreciate hearing your words.

You will be pleased to know that we will be refreshing our dining room menu in mid-May and I do hope that you will find items that you enjoy at a price point that is acceptable.

Most importantly though we cannot thank you enough for your continued loyalty to the hotel. Hosting you, as a frequent guest for six years, makes me believe that you have found a home away from home and all of us are thrilled. We are honored to serve you.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

If ever you need to escape and pamper yourself, this is the place. Our king terrace suite room gave us all the luxury and quietness required to have a great peaceful time away. We live in the Rochester Hills area and keep coming back to The Royal Park Hotel. We like the fact that it is so close to our own downtown area that we love so much! You can choose how much to spoil yourself and stay in to wine and dine or go to your favorite place a short walk away. The grounds are very nice with the Paint Creek, Rochester park, library and shops around the corner. The staff in all areas of the hotel are there for your every need, and will not hesitate to go out of their way for whatever you desire. We highly recommend The Royal Park Hotel for a great time to reconnect with your spouse or significant other. Spoil each other in their luxury!!!

Room Tip: Enjoy the King terrace luxury suite for a relaxing view of the Paint Creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about Royal Park Hotel. We are pleased that your visits are so enjoyable that you continue to return on a regular basis. I know that our team was thrilled to know you felt that they are there to serve you.

As a Rochester Hills resident, you definitely know how fortunate we are to have such a wonderful community to call home. Between a wonderful downtown area, the fabulous Paint Creek and its trail, numerous golf courses, great shopping - why would you ever want to go anywhere else?

Thank you for your continued support. Please feel free to ask for me when you next visit.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
10.5 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
24.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
23.9 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Property: Royal Park Hotel
Address: 600 E University Dr, Rochester, MI 48307-2111
Location: United States > Michigan > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing