We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Find”
Review of The Meeting House

The Meeting House
Ranked #5 of 90 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great New Find”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We tried The Meeting House for New Year's Eve and were pleasantly surprised by the special menu, prices and service (especially on this night). Have been back twice and were equally pleased. The place is noisy (when the manager came around to inquire about the service, we mentioned this) but very unique. The only disappointment is that they don't take reservations including call aheads and the bar area has limited seating. When will the upstairs open??

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    40
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
149 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It was well worth the wait”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a relatively new restaurant in Rochester, and every time we tried to get in they were packed. One night we lucked out and it was well worth it! Delicious food and very friendly service. The place is a bit on the noisy side and relatively plain like the Beverly Hills Grill (the owner came from there?) but very friendly, reasonable, and creative menu. Another great add to the treasure trove of restaurants in Rochester and Rochester Hills. And SOOOOO much better than its predecessor in the space (the Body Mind and Spirit was a great concept in health food but really not good food). Special combination pizza for the appetizer was delicious, a small basket of soft, flavored bread sticks, and wonderful main courses. Unfortunately we were too full to try dessert.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Qualitylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor ontario canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went here for the first time last Saturday. The food was excellent. We had a party of four and we ordered the gamut from fish to beef to chicken. Everything was wonderfully flavored and the presentation was grand but not over the top. Oyster Rockefeller for an appetizer were done to perfection. The bill came and extremely reasonable for the meal we had. Waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu. This place is a keeper:)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PSTTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent addition to Downtown Rochester!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a dinner here last night. We went early because we had heard by 6:30 there was an hour wait for a table. We ordered two appetizers. The chicken and pork belly tacos (3 smaller portions) and the homemade chips and cheese. The tacos were good but could have used just a little more flavor. The chips and cheese were outstanding!!! My husband ordered the braised short rib and I had the fillet. Both were excellent and full of amazing flavor! Dessert was amazing! We split the newest addition to their menu, the brownie smores with homemade marshmallows. It was out-of-this-world! The menu is approachable and has many items at different price points to allow for an affordable meal without breaking the bank.

The owner was very visible throughout the evening, greeting customers and helping the wait staff.

By the time we left at 6:40, the bar was overflowing with people waiting for a table.

Overall, it was a great experience and we are looking forward to going back!! :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank regggit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This restaurant had a great atmosphere with decently priced meals. I had an amazing caprese salad for my meals, and shared a cheese dip appetizer. I was told the restaurant was recently renovated. The menu had an upscale pub menu, which I thought was somewhat different (in a good way). I'd like to make it back some day to try something different!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NomiaRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meeting House also viewed

 

Been to The Meeting House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing