We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful respite...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rochester Carriage House B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was treated to a warm and friendly welcome when I arrived in the early evening. The Carriage House was absolutely beautiful! The decor was lovely, inviting and comfortable. It was extremely clean. My room was quiet and peaceful with sliding doors to let in the evening spring breeze! Don was very hospitable and helpful. It was a treat to stay at the Carriage House and I highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 29 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had a small wedding at RCH. Everything was absolutely wonderful. The owner, Don is a wonderful host and very helpful. All of my guests loved the venue and the relaxed and intimate feel. I highly recommend RCH.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bddevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald J, Owner at The Rochester Carriage House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for the kind words.
I wish you and Eddie the best in your new life :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I cannot wait be recommend The Carriage House to friends, family, and co-workers! We had an amazing experience from start to fin. Don was an excellent host, showing us around the property; and making us feel home away from home.

We stayed in the Pearl Suite - beautiful with a full kitchen, bathroom, and living space to relax and enjoy a perfect evening.

Driving into Rochester, I was unfortunate enough to get a flat tire. I want to complement the staff for going above and beyond. In the morning, they were kind enough to take my spare tire up to a local service center to get checked and pressurized before coming back to change my tire. The icing on the cake to a beautiful weekend and an absolutely wonderful stay!

Looking forward to our next visit....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLEE_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were looking for a pleasant alternative to the two other places to stay in town and we were so happy with our choice. We were warmly welcomed by Don's brother Paul, who gave us a tour of the lovingly decorated house. We stayed in the Tiffany room that had its own private bathroom. The was room so sunny and cheery on a February morning thanks to the lovely skylights and windows. The continental breakfast (coffee, tea, English muffins, cereal) was perfect with plenty of fresh fruit, yogurt and biscotti on hand for a little snack. We heartily recommend The Carriage House for a romantic get away and a more personable and less expensive alternative to the grand hotel in town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a great time at the B&B. The owner has done a fantastic job refurbishing the house and it is beautiful. There are not too many options for staying downtown and this place covers a prticular niche. We wish the owner well and success. He has done a great job and we highly recommend him. It will be great to go again when it is warmer and use the pool, the outdoor game area, and we would love to rent some bicycles. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MathGeek59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The owner's personal touch and passion for this home and the history it holds made this 2 night stay amazing! I would stay here again - felt like I was hours away from home on vacation when really only about 15 miles from my home. Want to come back in the summer when we can enjoy more of the grounds and outdoor spaces Don has created for his guests. Not to mention the high quality of the snacks and food available. WOW! This place is the best! What a surprise for our anniversary! The giant jetted tub was so relaxing!

Room Tip: Try to get the giant apartment room - If that is too pricey or not available - get the one with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Rochester Carriage House for a quick getaway for our anniversary and didn’t want to leave. The B&B is beautiful. We were very impressed with the cleanliness and cozy feeling. Don and his brother were just the most gracious hosts. I felt like I was staying with family. They were very accommodating and went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was memorable. They were very knowledgeable of the area and all that it had to offer. The service during breakfast was exceptional and the food was AMAZING! I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast for anyone looking for a nice quaint get away.

Room Tip: The suite felt just like home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PAT-Travel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald J, Owner at The Rochester Carriage House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for the kind words, it was a pleasure having you. Hopefully you can make it down here with the kids. Go Blue :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
0.8 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochester
475 reviews
3.6 mi away
Concorde Inn Rochester Hills
Concorde Inn Rochester Hills
#2 of 4 in Rochester Hills
55 reviews
4.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Detroit North-Rochester Hills
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Det...
#1 of 4 in Rochester Hills
49 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Rochester Carriage House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rochester Carriage House B&B

Address: 147 North Ln, Rochester, MI 48307-1123
Location: United States > Michigan > Rochester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: $150 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rochester Carriage House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Rochester is now home to its first bed & breakfast "The Rochester Carriage House". The home is Rochester's oldest dating back to 1849. The original home is still intact with many upgrades added on over the years, including a 800 square foot sun-room, swimming pool, pool house, gourmet kitchen, etc.The three rooms located in the upper portion of the house can be rented individually or together. The fourth room located on the west side of the property is over 900 square feet and features a full kitchen and living room. All room nights include a Continental breakfast, which includes: Seasonal fruits, waffles, pancakes & maple syrup, hot & cold cereals, yogurt, cookies, toast & jams, tea, coffee, organic squeezed orange juice, mineral water and milk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Rochester Carriage House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing