We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Good. So Reasonable.”

The Craftsman Chop Company
Ranked #8 of 140 Restaurants in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
turgtusteynam
Level Contributor
141 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“So Good. So Reasonable.”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I hope they don't read this review. How can the good be this good..this extraordinary..and this reasonably priced? I don't know how but I know that it's true.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank keith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Diverse menu with reasonable prices. Great atmosphere and the wait staff is always friendly. Outside patio in the summer months. Always great food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asou08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK, but not a first choice”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I've been here a number of times and have a different experience each time.

The food is good in general, the menu selection is ok, the price range is such that you can keep the cost down.

Service is hit and miss. I've been in when they're slow and gotten bad service and when they're busy and gotten great service.

I have friends who love it, I don't hate it, don't love it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bkm401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
“Who is writing these good review!?”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

There won't be a second attempt to get a meal here. Oh-o-o-no.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Ohio
Level Contributor
365 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Three of us dined on fillets that melted in our mouths. This is the type of place that you get what you pay for. Top quality meat is not cheap. The 4 oz fillet was $14.99, it included a potato choice and vegetable. The 8 oz is $22.99. They have entertainment in the bar. Seems to be a happening place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank closch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Craftsman Chop Company also viewed

Portage, Kalamazoo County
Portage, Kalamazoo County
 
Portage, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to The Craftsman Chop Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing