We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“healthy choice”
Review of Bilbo's Pizza In A Pan - CLOSED

Bilbo's Pizza In A Pan
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Beulah, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“healthy choice”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I liked the whole wheat crust pizza... Service not exceptional. I like the location and yet, it was sort of expensive, if I remember right...

Helpful?
Thank Mara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“stuffed pie, mmmm”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

this place needs a remodel. it is dingy. our favorite is the stuffed pizza pie. it is delicious. salads need some work. come on- it's summer you can get more veggies than lettuce and croutons. especially for what was charged.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kathryn747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good. Fun menu.”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

One of the reasons we went here is because I was expecting a Middle Earth decorating theme. I was mistaken: the 'theme' only extends to the menu (which is humorous to read if you're familiar with The Hobbit or Lord of the Rings). Perhaps the one in Kalamazoo is decorated? This location looks like a converted chain restaurant of some type. Clean, but ordinary. It was quite crowded when we arrived (7-ish on a Friday night), but we got seated once we told them we were willing to sit 5 in a booth. (We had plenty of room, by the way.) Service was fine.

However, the food is quite good. I shared a stuffed pizza with one son and we really enjoyed it. My husband and eldest son had a thin crust style and thought it was tasty (that son is quite to dismiss mediocre pizza sauce, but Bilbo's met his approval). It was a nice change of pace from our usuals (Cottage Inn and Jet's, over in Southeast Michigan). The next day we ended up at Bimbo's with a group of friends - If Kalamazoo had a BiNbo's Pizza, that would have been our next stop. Since they don't, we had to switch to tacos (El Gallo Blanco, which was FABulous, but doesn't appear to be listed in TripAdvisor).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank common-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must try the dill dip!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great pizza and breadsticks and you must try the dill dip with the breadsticks. They also brew their own beer, and have it on tap at the Stadium Dr. location only.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank asou08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“To expensive for average pizza”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I've lived in this area for over 20 year and avoided this place based on comments about the expense. Broke down and took my son and he girlfriend just before he left for Air Force Basic. The place was beat up and run down, the service was poor, the pizza and other food was good but not better than average. The price was way too high. Will never go back, not with all the other amazing choices in town.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank bkm401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bilbo's Pizza In A Pan also viewed

 
Portage, Kalamazoo County
Portage, Kalamazoo County
 
Portage, Kalamazoo County
Portage, Kalamazoo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing