We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for kids and adults!”
Review of Air Zoo

Air Zoo
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With 100+ rare and unique air & spacecraft, amazing interactive exhibits, "hands-on" science experiences, indoor amusement park rides, full-motion flight simulators, a 4D theater, and much, much more, the Air Zoo in Portage, MI is your one-stop spot for educational family fun! Voted the #1 Museum in Michigan by American Towns Media and the "Best of Michigan" website, and also as the "Best Place to Spend the Day With Your Family" and "Best Place to Take Out of Towners", the Air Zoo is standing by to entertain and educate, and truly has something for everyone!
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good for kids and adults!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We took our grandkids, ages 7 and 9 to the Air Zoo. They loved the rides and even went on the flight simulator together without Grandpa and Grandma...and that is one scary ride! They said that ride was the highlight of our 2 day mini spring break vacation. The others are tamer! We enjoyed the aircraft but the kids weren't really interested. I think we will go on an adults only revisit! We visited during spring break and the only thing that had a line were the flight simulators.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank slorettao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    99
    21
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fun for a few hours”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

It was neat to see the planes and to ride in the simulator. This was an okay stop for an hour or two.

Helpful?
Thank Tamhicks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, IL
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Air Zoo is for You!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had such a good time at the Air Zoo, and we didn't even have children with us! :) My husband is a plane buff, and he very much enjoyed the displays and history, and I found myself enjoying it as well. We loved the murals and artwork, and I especially enjoyed the Women in Aviation exhibit, and think it would be a great place to take young girls that are interested in that field. We spent several hours there, and enjoyed every minute. The guides are interesting as well!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We love the Air Zoo”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is one of our favorite places to go. I have a 4 year old and we've been going since he was 6 months old. Love the rides, the exhibits, and the children's room. Thanks Air Zoo for creating great life, long memories for our family.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank suchjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun for any type of group”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Families with children - there are some rides for the kids which is great since kids might find looking at planes and cars a bit old after a bit. For those who like planes there is a nice variety and the artwork and display format is amazing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wander022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Zoo also viewed

Hickory Corners, Barry County
Portage, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Air Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing