We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It has changed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of BD's Mongolian Grill - CLOSED

BD's Mongolian Grill
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It has changed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I had been sitting at my desk desiring something different to eat so I chose BD's. I had not been there in over a year and I doubt that I will return. First of all, I requested a booth so that I could also do some work. The hostess seemed like it was an issues and took a good 5 minutes to seat me when there were only few diners there. Secondly, the restaurant appears to need a remodeling. All of the cushions are in poor shape, where you hope your pants are not snagged by sliding across. Lastly, the food selection was different and did not taste as good as I remembered it. I'm not sure this restaurant is in my future again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, MI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If your food was bad, it's your fault”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

bd's has a fun atmosphere! They were very friendly and welcoming. It was our first time so our waitress was careful to explain how it worked. You basically put your own meal together in a bowl then watch them cook it on a huge grill! The grillers were fun to watch and really enjoyed putting on a show. My only complaint is the size of the bowl you put your uncooked food in and you get one bowl for meat and veggies. Other places I've gone give you a separate bowl for the meat, which makes more sense. But overall this was a great place to eat and if you didn't like your food - you're the one who put it together:-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was fantastic! I love the food here. The workers are really nice also. You get to pick your meat and they make it for you, how you want. I was really really good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 25YearCelebraters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Create Your Own Dish at the Mongolian Grill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This restaurant allows customers to choose their own meat, vegetables, and sauces. You take a bowl to the cooks, who grill your dish. There is also a salad bar, soups, etc. If you have allergies, as I do, the cooks will make your meal in the kitchen. It is fun to watch the cooks prepare the meals and toss their implements and catch them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“1st time there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went there on a date. The staff was very cheerful and polite. Service was quick. Items at the bar to be cooked were fresh. Food was good but pricey.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BD's Mongolian Grill also viewed

 
Portage, Kalamazoo County
Portage, Kalamazoo County
 
Portage, Kalamazoo County
Portage, Kalamazoo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing