We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Culinary Delight in a small town setting!”
Review of Van Camp House - CLOSED

Van Camp House
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Croswell
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Culinary Delight in a small town setting!”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The VanCamp House has everything that will please even the most discriminating palate. Everything is made to order from scratch and there is no microwave in this kitchen! Excellent local beer and wine selection is available as well as seafood, and Chicken and sometimes lamb. Their desserts are scrumptious and although the prices are high for the area....the food is well worth the cost. Fine dining at its best and the owner/chef is always around greeting and conversing with the guests. Nice Homey yet elegant atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anniekz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A delight! Well worth the drive!”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Although the vacation town of Port Sanilac is at least an hour from the city, the VCH is well worth the drive. It's a wonderful "white tablecloth" restaurant where "paper place mat", beer, burger and pizza joints are the norm. The VCH offers fresh, imaginative cuisine in a warm, hospitable setting. On your first visit, you will be made to feel as welcome as a regular. And you will want to become a regular. The fare is excellent! Owner/Chef Andy Fabian is passionate about the food he serves and it shows on every plate. I have never had a better rack of lamb, even in "the big city" or for much more money. An excellent wine list compliments the menu. Winter hours are limited, so call ahead for your reservation. You'll be glad you did. I don't give five stars lightly, but honestly, I can't think of any reason not to. I've seldom been so delighted with a restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MiSkyPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a rual setting.”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

It's great to have the option of fine dining in a town of 600 people. Located in Port Sanilac on Lake Huron, Van Camp House provided a meal comparable to or better than many 'fine dining' restaurants in metro areas I've been to.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank etatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be very leery of making an on-line reservation with the Van Camp House (VCH).”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I reside in southeastern Indiana. As part of a recent three-day trip to Frankenmuth, Michigan, I decided to make a driving trip around "the thumb" with a mid-day meal on the road. After a rather long Internet search, I decided on VCH. On May 7, I used VCH's on-line reservation system to make a reservation for two people on June 19, 2011, at 1:00PM. On May 9, VCH acknowledged my reservation to the effect "Your reservation is all set".
On June 19, we arrived at VCH's parking lot at approximately 12:40 PM only to find an almost empty parking lot, one front door barred by a chain, a second front door locked with a delivered paper, in plastic, lying on the ground in front of the door. No sign of any activity whatsoever. From the VCH parking lot, I placed a call to VCH only to reach an answering machine and leave a message. Very disappointing. So much for my trip to Port Sanilac.
I am not advocating that no one should eat at VCH. (The food and service may be very good. I just never had the chance to find out.) I AM saying everyone needs to carefully check and confirm any on-line reservation they may make at VCH.
(I did write a letter {e-mail} to VCH to give them the opportunity to explain. There has been no response after over a month).
Our trip to Port Sanilac turned out not to be a total loss. It turns out that the local "pizza place" in the nearby town of Sanduskey, Michigan, has excellent personal pan pizzas and turkey and provolone sandwiches.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationsgalore-100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem 90 Minutes North of Detroit”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Outstanding food, good wine list, and attentive staff. Great detour for dinner if you're in the Port Huron area, or as a day-trip from Detroit.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSIMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Camp House also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing