We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We fled back across the border” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
Toronto
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We fled back across the border”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Pleasant enough staff but after finding not only multiple insects in our room but also specks on the sheets that made us worry about possible bed bugs, we fled back across the border to a Sarnia hotel even though it was after midnight.

We also had significant issues with the wi-fi (it didn't work) during the short time we stayed before the bug issues became apparent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    30
    12
    13
See reviews for
34
25
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

The rooms are okay, it's relatively quiet, and good location. However, as someone who has formerly been a cleaner, it was disgusting. I'm travelling with a baby, and didn't really want to put her down on the floor. The carpet along the baseboards was filthy and full of crumbs. As a general rule for housekeepers, you polish up the chrome fixtures, not done. There were drips on the walls, fingerprints on the doors, streaks on the mirrors and hairs on the chairs. The decorating was outdated. They're trying, with the 4 pillows on the beds, but besides that, it's not good, especially the interesting, awful attempt at sponge painting my 3 year old would definitely top. To top it off, a proper plumber wouldn't mix up hot & cold sides, a little dangerous.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momnumber9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Huron hotels

Bancroft, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

This was one of the worst experiences we have ever had with a hotel. We stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite for our 18 year anniversary, Room 138. Above is a family suite that has paper thin floors & walls. They had a family with three children and boy was it noisy! Running up and down halls, crying, screaming and they would do nothing to control it. The male night manager was nice and tried to help by giving us a 25% discount. When we went to check out (2 days early by the way) the manager Deb would not give us the discount. She gave us only half of what the male manager said they would do. She did nothing to try to make it right and didn’t care if we left. She was very rude and snotty. We will never return and I will post this BEWARE information on all comment sites! DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank postman9224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

I work in the Port Huron area from time to time, and this is the hotel I always use. The property is decently maintained. The staff has always been wonderful to deal with. There is shopping and many restaurants to choose from that are no more than a five to ten minute drive. The internet has always been pretty good. The continental breakfast is average. The only real knock is the selection of T.V. channels is weak. It's a decent place to stay, and I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbobKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Detroit
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

"Pet friendly" was the feature that attracted my attention, as we were traveling with our small dog. Close to the highway, and a very short drive into downtown Port Huron.

Services and amenities are minimal but sufficient. The indoor pool is open 24 hours, though the hotel asks that night hours be reserved for adults only. Complimentary continental breakfast is offered in the lobby. Rooms are of average size and condition.

Free in-room wireless Internet a definite plus.

The fitness center is minimal. Consists of two press machines and a treadmill in a glass room the size of a small office. Limited exercise options. 24-hour access by key available at the front desk.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crimson667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed at the Comfort Inn to do some after Christmas shopping. The hotel is dated but we chose it because it was pet friendly and affordable. We stayed in a pet friendly room which was probably an older room but it was good for the price. The pool is kept really warm but it is an older pool area and hot tub. The breakfast, which seemed to get busier the later you arrived, was your usual free breakfast, waffles were good. The hotel is in a good area with easy access to shopping. We would definately come back again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cozzyMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

The room was clean, convenient to the interstate, the staff friendly to both humans and dogs, the breakfast was a cut above with all the usual stuff including Belgium waffles that you could make. However, we had lots of trouble getting our keys to work. A staff member cleaned the machine which didn't help, the third set of keys did. It was disappointing when the clerk that checked us out indicated it was a common problem. The "high speed internet" was anything but high speed. It reminded me of the good old dial-up days. Finally on our last day we packed the car and ran some errands before checking out before the noon deadline. When we came back about 10 AM the room was open and the beds stripped. It was clear that they "presumed" we weren't coming back to check out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCWeimLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Huron hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Huron/Hospitality Inn
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Port Huron
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Huron
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Huron
Hampton Inn Port Huron
#3 of 10 in Port Huron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Port Huron
Fairfield Inn Port Huron
#4 of 10 in Port Huron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1700 Yeager St., Port Huron, MI 48060-2587
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Port Huron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveneintly located off of the I94/I69 expressway and our pleased in annouce that the construction and lane closures have come to an end. We now have a new exit to our property if you are coming to us east bound. We are now exit 274B and west bound we are the first exit after coming through customs at the Blue Water Bridges from Canada, exit 274. Our property is under new ownership and we have been completely renovated as of late 2011. We are the only property in town that has 32" flat screen TV's with several HD channels available, we also have an indoor pool, hot tub, excerise room, free high speed internet and we have a hot breakfast every morning. We have the Comfort Suites decor at Comfort Inn prices. We are located just one exit from the Blue Water Bridges to Canada. Whether you are planning a trip to our area or just passing through, business or pleasure let us accommodate you and or your family for any length of stay you choose.Remember to stay in Comforter. We'll see you there! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Port Huron
Comfort Inn Port Huron
Port Huron Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing