We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and a good nights sleep”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
South Bend, Indiana, United States
1 review
“Great stay and a good nights sleep”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I would like to thank the folks at Comfort Inn for being so cooperative with us. We were from out of town and working at the local paper mill. We had to work a split shift and the management allowed us to check out late so we could rest. The rooms were clean and neat and the beds were comfortable. The front desk help was courteous and helpful. Thank you all!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmstokan, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Kevin K,

Thank you so much for taking the time from your busy schedule to thank our staff and inform others of your recent stay at our Inn. You have no idea how much it is appreciated by management and the staff. By rewarding the staff with such postitive comments is such a moral booster to the staff and knowing that we met your special needs gave you the needed rest before your check out. Thanks again for your awesome comments and we look forward to your future stays with us!

With Warmest Regards,
Management & Staff of the Comfort Inn Port Huron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    30
    12
    13
See reviews for
34
26
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay well enough and have stayed here on occasion before, but we really feel it's time for a facelift for this establishment. It seems old and outdated. One good thing going for it, is the affordable price. So if you're not looking for anything fancy and price is at the top of your list, this hotel fits the bill nicely. Instead of the continental breakfast, we opted for a nearby Bob Evans or Cracker Barrel within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for main floor. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renewme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmstokan, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello Renewme,

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay but very concerned about your comment regarding that you feel we need a facelift and that it seems our property is old and outdated. Yes we are about 20 years old now but we actively are updating the property. 2011 completely renovated every guest room from new wallcoverings, bathroom fixures, furniture and TV's. 2012 complete renovations of all public areas, meeting rooms, hallways, lobby, breakfast area, ect..upgraded internet, TV channel listing. 2013 expanded the hot breakfast bar with more items, all new bedding and pillows, outdoor patio off of pool area. Still to come this year, new mattresses and PTAC (heating & cooling) units.

You may stay updated with our changes on facebook and or twitter @ comfortinnporthuron.

We do hope to have you stay with us again and your next trip to our area!

With Warmest Regards,

Debbie Stokan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
238 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We arrived in Port Huron and almost all of the hotels - there are not very many - were sold out. We were able to get a room here. The young man checking us in was nice and gave us the keys....unfortunately, the room was occupied when we opened the door....awkward! I had a long walk back to the desk and he did not even apologize for the error. We had our choice of a room with highway noise or the second floor. They have no elevator and so we chose the noise. It was a tired, two queen room where one bed was literally so soft you could not sleep on it. It had a window air conditioner that worked okay but was very noisy.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the freeway and remember, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmstokan, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Bitler,

I’m very concerned about your disappointing night stay you experienced during your recent stay at our hotel. Your comments and time are greatly appreciated.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it’s disappointing to learn that you’re unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we’re doing right, what we’re doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you’ve raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Debbie Stokan
General Manager
Comfort Inn Port Huron
1700 Yeager St.
Port Huron, MI 48060
810-982-5500
gm.mi131@choicehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have a large family, so the suite was perfect. Room was very clean and kept despite. The property was well maintained & the staff was very accommodating. The breakfast was kept up well for a lot of people moving through the two mornings we were there. Kids loved the pool & hot tub! We didn't hear any noise from interstate even though the hotel is very close. Great job by this location!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmstokan, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
A BIG warm thank you to Wingman 34!

The staff & I would like to give you a BIG warm thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to share your experience with others about your stay with us. We most often hear the negitive and it's such a good feeling to see and hear the positive! The staff work very hard and take great pride in their job, so it makes me feel good to share your comments with them and I also feel it gives them more motivation to continue because with comments such as yours, we can say, "see, YES it does make a difference"!! So thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Debbie Stokan
General Manager
and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is old but they have kept up with maintenance. To start the lobby is very big and the front desk was very inviting! The breakfast area was large and stocked with the traditional continental breakfast items? The pool area was clean but the chemicals were very strong and the room lacked any ventilation, making it very hard to breath. On to the room: I will warn you I am very critical because the is the main reason we paid the hotel. The current temp outside was 81f and the room was very humid and hot. Its always nice to walk into a room the is inviting. Warm in the winter and cool in the summer. When we turned on the AC the room filled with a very strong cigarette smell. The bathroom floor was very dirty other then that the room was clean. Given the price and the other choices in the area, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mezzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmstokan, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your time in sharing your experience after your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments and I would like to aplogize for the stuffy air in your room & in the pool area. Unfortunely, the compressor had broke down during your stay causing the stuffy air in the pool area. We have ordered a whole new unit for the pool area instead of having the old one repaired. I have spoke with the housekeeping staff reminding them of the importance of having all the rooms the right temperture every day year round no exceptions!! We also are in the process of replacing all the heating & cooling systems in all rooms, we have several of our rooms now with new units already installed. We hope we will see you again soon and that you'll be able to enjoy all the units. Please accept our apology!!

With best regards,
Comfort Inn management & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Very clean well equipped comfortable motel. Very pleasant knowledgeable staff. Good breakfast but not much variety and the coffee could be hotter and better quality. we found it a bit noisy at night with banging doors and loud voices in the hallway, plus if you are on the highway side you will get some traffic noise. Very close to Bob Evans and Cracker Barrel restaurants for better breakfast selection or lunch and dinner.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DWGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmstokan, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your good value review, we are always very happy to see good reviews!! We are disappointed that you were not satisfied with our breakfast selection. We wish we had more information regarding that statement as we do have eggs patties, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, sausage links, biscuits, gravy, oatmeal, cereals, yogurt, danish, bagels, muffins, english muffins, toast, 3 fruits along with milk, juice, tea and coffee. We do have a good quality hot coffee so I will look into why you experienced less than that!! Please be assured that is not our standard. Thanks again for sharing your experience with us and our future guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

The management and staff of the Comfort Inn in Port Huron, MI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscle Shoals
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel was easy to find. It is close to the interstate but it was not noisy. Room was clean and bathroom had been updated. Bed was very comfortable. We arrived late because we were traveling and called ahead of time to ask about restaurants still open nearby. We were also worried about parking because we had a horse trailer. Staff was very cordial and helped us with possible places to eat. There was room to park on the road so we were not in the way. We ended up ordering Jett pizza - which was yummy and they do not have in the south We saved the leftovers in frig for cold pizza for breakfast. They did have a hot breakfast but we were up very early and on road for business before it was put out. Just grabbed coffee and fruit.

Room Tip: Do not worry about noise - even though it is close to the interstate. Our room was very quiet even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Localmom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmstokan, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to compliment our hotel and staff! Sounds like your a very busy person so we want you to know how we appreciate your time and compliments. We hope to see you again when your able to stay, relax and enjoy our hotel for a while longer than this stay! We do hope to see you in the future for either business or pleasure!! Your comments have been shared with the staff and your comments will stay posted on trip advisor for other guests to view coming to our area so we can't thank you enough! Take care until we meet again , safe travels.

The Port Huron Comfort Inn Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Huron hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Port Huron
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Port Huron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Huron
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Huron
Hampton Inn Port Huron
#3 of 10 in Port Huron
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1700 Yeager St., Port Huron, MI 48060-2587
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Port Huron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveneintly located off of the I94/I69 expressway and our pleased in annouce that the construction and lane closures have come to an end. We now have a new exit to our property if you are coming to us east bound. We are now exit 274B and west bound we are the first exit after coming through customs at the Blue Water Bridges from Canada, exit 274. Our property is under new ownership and we have been completely renovated as of late 2011. We are the only property in town that has 32" flat screen TV's with several HD channels available, we also have an indoor pool, hot tub, excerise room, free high speed internet and we have a hot breakfast every morning. We have the Comfort Suites decor at Comfort Inn prices. We are located just one exit from the Blue Water Bridges to Canada. Whether you are planning a trip to our area or just passing through, business or pleasure let us accommodate you and or your family for any length of stay you choose.Remember to stay in Comforter. We'll see you there! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Port Huron
Comfort Inn Port Huron
Port Huron Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing