We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port Huron DT Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Port Huron DT Stay”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Vey nice hotel. Great views of the lake and river. Nice surroundings and a good restaurant on site. Great place to stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to any travelling in this area for business or pleasure. You have direct access to Canada and kind find plenty of things to do in the little towns located around the property. There is also a nice walkway and park area right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! The hotel has wonderful reviews of the beautiful blue water. The hotel is located in a great location with not only being on the water, but it is close to Canada as well as the downtown area. We hope that the next time that you are in town for business or leisure that you will stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    220
    64
    14
    8
See reviews for
213
345
27
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrison Township, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were warmly greeted at check in with a smile and also with a couple of very good Chocolate Chip Cookies that were also warm. This was our first time staying here since the Hilton family bought and renovated this property. This Hotel has had
extensive renovations including beautiful marble flooring along with the attached Freighters Restaurant. Our Suite was very clean and large with a wonderful view
of the Bridge and the Saint Clair River. The Bed and Linens were extremely soft and comfortable. When I had made my reservation I mentioned that it was our Anniversary. I'm not sure if the robes and slippers in the closet were due to that or if they come in every Suite. We certainly enjoyed them either way. We went down and took a swim and also enjoyed the whirl pool. The pool is clean and much larger
then your normal Hotel pool. There were plenty of pool towels available for our swim. There is also a nice size gym if you would like to work out. Now onto the
Restaurant. We went down for an early sank and thoroughly enjoyed there specialty creamy Mushroom Soup and a couple of Salads,both were very good.
We came back for Dinner and both had some of the best White Fish we have ever had, and we have had a lot of White Fish in our day. I would suggest making reservations on the weekends as they were very busy on Saturday night.
The staff at both the Hotel and the Restaurant were very friendly and professional.
I believe that is sign of a good Management team. If the staff is courteous and friendly then the people they work for tend to be of the same manner.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to return visits.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hydrofan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We hope that you enjoyed your anniversary. This is a great hotel to spend special occasions especially with the views of the water. Our suites do have robes and slippers in them and they are extremely soft! We love our renovation and all of our staff members are very proud of the new facilities! The pool, hot tub, and gym are larger than most hotel facilities allowing guests to enjoy their time away from home! Freighters Eatery & Taproom has a wonderful selection of food, especially the White Fish! They pride themselves on only offering fresh foods that come from Michigan! You can certainly tell the difference seeing that there food is prepared on-site. We hope that you come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We used to visit this hotel when it was the Thomas Edison. Have been a few times since changes have been made by Hilton. Unfortunately and as expected, the room rates have increased a great deal since last October when they were first taking reservations. We loved being there but have found other accommodations for our visits along the river at more reasonable rates.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Welcome back to the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We love to welcome back guests that used to stay at the Thomas Edison Inn. Our rates do change by the season but you get a great value for our rooms and the service that we offer. Our rates are not the same as the Thomas Edison Inn, due to the fact that we went through a $11 dollar renovation, and everything has been re-done. We hope that the next time you are in the Port Huron area we can welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Decided to stay the night in Port Huron after the Pub Crawl. The hotel was very nice. I enjoyed my stay very much! Freighters, the restaurant on site, was very good. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. View over the river was beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for your review of our hotel. I hope that you had fun at Pub Crawl, it seemed like everyone was enjoying themselves. The whole property is beautiful and I encourage everyone to stay in a water view room. The view is breathtaking! We hope that the next time you are in Port Huron you will stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This Doubletree was the former Thomas Edison Inn in Port Huron. Cannot beat the view of the St. Clair River and Blue Water Bridges. However small details are not paid much attention on the property. For example, no towels in the pool area, water dispenser in the fitness center was bone dry, sauna was out of order and only a few towels in our two bed guest room. You would expect to have enough towels for up to 4 guests however they only provide bath towels for 2 guests. Asking for more worked. Since this hotel has the potential of being the nicest in the city, it really needs a little attention paid to the small details. I would expect this to be a management issue which could be easily corrected. Breakfast at Freighters was some of the best I have ever had...simply fantastic. Do not skip eating at the restaurant or you'll miss out on this unexpected gem.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for your thoughtful comments. I couldn’t agree with you more on the fact that this is a beautiful place to stay and you certainly can’t beat the view! I know that on busy weekends we need to do a better job of ensuring that we have enough pool towels in the pool room. We have a person that does laundry throughout the night to ensure that we have enough cleaned and we are in the process of having the front desk check it every hour. When we are assigning rooms we look at the guest count to determine how many towels will be placed in the room for queens. It is a brand standard to have three bath towels in the room, but if the guest count on the reservation says four then we certainly place more towels in the room. I appreciate that you took the time to inform us on some areas that we can improve on so that we can continue to offer great customer service. We hope to welcome you back very soon with a warm DoubleTree cookie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We are seasoned travelers with and without kids. This property is nice, clean and well renovated. The staff are friendly. We were however disappointed when a "pack & play" was our only option instead of a crib for our infant daughter. Bummer. Everything else was great...pool, restaurant, staff and room!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 957debras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We greatly appreciate your comments! We have several pack – n – plays on property but unfortunately we do not have cribs. I do apologize that we did not have a crib for your child to use and if this caused an inconvenience in your travels. We hope that the next time you are in Port Huron you will stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westland MI, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Doubletree in Port Huron is in a wonderful location with a wonderful view of the Port Huron bridge and overlooks the water. The hotel has a very nice gift store with beautiful clothing, jewelery and gifty items that truely reflect the feel of Port Huron. I was there at a event in the adjoining banquet area but the hotel was filled with families who were attending a hockey tournament . The children and adults were wild and were not following the hotel safety rules that were clearly posted on the pool wall and the hotel management were not willing to address the issues. In addition the first morning we were there The restaurant was unable to keep up with the demand on the breakfast buffet . The food was very good but it was very frustrating and ridiculous having to wait over 40 minutes to get food from the buffet. The accommodations were clean and comfortable with a beautiful new renovated look, The staff were helpful when asked, but the management of the hotel was very very poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for staying at our property. We have a wonderful property with a great view of the water! I appreciate you sharing your comments about the hotel and how you felt that the management team did not do a good job of handling our guests. Whenever, we have busy weekends we strive to staff the hotel accordingly so that guests can get checked in efficiently, pool towels are well supplied, and we can answer any questions that you might have in order to provide an excellent level of customer service. The additional staff allows us to control the hallways to prevent noise or any other disbursement that guests might experience. I would like to apologize if you felt that we did not do a good job of monitoring the pool. A manager did address the rules in the pool with guests and the problem was resolved in a timely manner. I can understand your frustrations of having to wait 40 minutes for breakfast food. After noticing the issues the first day the management team added more stations for the food the second day. I hope that you will consider staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron for your next event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Huron
1.3 mi away
Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Huron
Hampton Inn Port Huron
#3 of 10 in Port Huron
509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Port Huron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Port Huron
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Huron
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Address: 800 Harker St, Port Huron, MI 48060-3011 (Formerly Thomas Edison Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Port Huron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Huron
#1 Family Hotel in Port Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron and you can enjoy spacious accommodations, modern amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. Centrally located in Port Huron, Michigan, minutes from St. Clair County International Airport, this modern hotel is close to a number of Port Huron businesses including Domtar Paper Mill, Mueller Industries, Henkel and many companies related to the automobile industry. Enjoy easy access to Port Huron’s historic downtown area, with its specialty shops and waterfront eateries, the boardwalk and marina and the McMorran Place Sports & Entertainment Center.Each of the spacious guest rooms and suites at this Port Huron hotel feature modern amenities including; a 37-inch HDTV, a spacious work area, a microwave and mini-refrigerator, a comfortable Sweet Dreams bed, remote printing service and complimentary WiFi. Some guest rooms have balconies offering breathtaking views of The Blue Water Bridge and the St. Clair River. Wake up to a cooked-to-order breakfast every morning and enjoy classic American dishes in our relaxed hotel restaurant, Freighters. Maintain your exercise regime in the complimentary fitness center. Host a successful business or social event at this Port Huron, MI hotel with a variety flexible meeting spaces, including two spacious ballrooms, all offering complimentary WiFi and stay connected in the complimentary 24-hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas Edison Hotel Port Huron
Thomas Edison Port Huron
Thomas Edison Inn Port Huron Mi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing