We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Renovation - Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Renovation - Great Location!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We are seasoned travelers with and without kids. This property is nice, clean and well renovated. The staff are friendly. We were however disappointed when a "pack & play" was our only option instead of a crib for our infant daughter. Bummer. Everything else was great...pool, restaurant, staff and room!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 957debras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We greatly appreciate your comments! We have several pack – n – plays on property but unfortunately we do not have cribs. I do apologize that we did not have a crib for your child to use and if this caused an inconvenience in your travels. We hope that the next time you are in Port Huron you will stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    211
    62
    13
    8
See reviews for
197
334
26
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
westland MI, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Doubletree in Port Huron is in a wonderful location with a wonderful view of the Port Huron bridge and overlooks the water. The hotel has a very nice gift store with beautiful clothing, jewelery and gifty items that truely reflect the feel of Port Huron. I was there at a event in the adjoining banquet area but the hotel was filled with families who were attending a hockey tournament . The children and adults were wild and were not following the hotel safety rules that were clearly posted on the pool wall and the hotel management were not willing to address the issues. In addition the first morning we were there The restaurant was unable to keep up with the demand on the breakfast buffet . The food was very good but it was very frustrating and ridiculous having to wait over 40 minutes to get food from the buffet. The accommodations were clean and comfortable with a beautiful new renovated look, The staff were helpful when asked, but the management of the hotel was very very poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for staying at our property. We have a wonderful property with a great view of the water! I appreciate you sharing your comments about the hotel and how you felt that the management team did not do a good job of handling our guests. Whenever, we have busy weekends we strive to staff the hotel accordingly so that guests can get checked in efficiently, pool towels are well supplied, and we can answer any questions that you might have in order to provide an excellent level of customer service. The additional staff allows us to control the hallways to prevent noise or any other disbursement that guests might experience. I would like to apologize if you felt that we did not do a good job of monitoring the pool. A manager did address the rules in the pool with guests and the problem was resolved in a timely manner. I can understand your frustrations of having to wait 40 minutes for breakfast food. After noticing the issues the first day the management team added more stations for the food the second day. I hope that you will consider staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron for your next event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The staff at the Double Tree Port Huron was awesome this past weekend - we were in town for the Shamrock Tournament. We could not have asked for a better experience. The rooms, the fitness room, pool, and breakfast buffet were all exceptional. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank KMG1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for your review of our property! We appreciate your feedback and we will be sharing your comments with our staff members. Our staff members strive to create a great atmosphere for all of our guests! We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next hockey trip, or just to get out of town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a great over night get away! Happy Hour specials from 3-6pm on the Friday we arrived were a great plus! Pool area was comfortable and clean. No complaints and would stay again! Check out the package options, we added sparkling wine upon arrival and breakfast for two for only $20 more than the cost of the room! Nice Staycation for two :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We are thrilled to hear about your stay and that you enjoyed the Celebration Package which includes sparkling wine and breakfast! We hope to welcome you back again for your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were delighted with the room and the service during our recent stay at the Double Tree in Port Huron. The bed was sooooo comfortable and I enjoyed the view from our room.This trip was not a pleasure trip but due to death in our family. The exceptional service and comfort helped to reduce our stress and actually make our stay pleasant. Thank You Double Tree!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Chrystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the DoubleTree given the circumstances that you were here for. Our staff members work diligently to ensure that everyone has a wonderful and memorable time at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We look forward to welcoming you back again with a warm DoubleTree cookie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Fans of the Thomas Edison Inn's location are in for a treat with the new updated location by DoubleTree, fresh, clean and close to all Port Huron activities. The restaurant Freighters was clean with a wonderful view of the river in the dining area, we only had dinner there one evening and the menu was extensive, unfortunately the white fish was sold out however the fish tacos and salmon were also good choices, we will be back. Only complaint was on the Monday am when we were hoping to use the pool a large group of women were doing aquatic exercises and we were unable to swim.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank jjfCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We love welcoming back guests that used to stay at the Thomas Edison Inn, and we greatly appreciate your feedback about the new look of our property. Freighters, has a great menu selection with locally sourced Michigan products. The next time that you come back you can enjoy some White Fish on the patio of Freighters! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This Hotel was a great choice. The restaraunt was great, the food was excellent and happy hour prices can't be beat! The room was very comfortable. The area was beautiful being right off the water. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for recommending our hotel to readers on TripAdvisor! The hotel is a great location with wonderful views of the blue water, even in the winter time! The happy hour specials at Freighters Eatery & Taproom are fantastic and at a great price! We hope that the next time that you are in Port Huron you will stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Huron
1.3 mi away
Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn
5.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Port Huron
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Huron
Hampton Inn Port Huron
#3 of 10 in Port Huron
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Port Huron
Fairfield Inn Port Huron
#4 of 10 in Port Huron
207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Huron
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Address: 800 Harker St, Port Huron, MI 48060-3011 (Formerly Thomas Edison Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Port Huron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Huron
#1 Business Hotel in Port Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron and you can enjoy spacious accommodations, modern amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. Centrally located in Port Huron, Michigan, minutes from St. Clair County International Airport, this modern hotel is close to a number of Port Huron businesses including Domtar Paper Mill, Mueller Industries, Henkel and many companies related to the automobile industry. Enjoy easy access to Port Huron’s historic downtown area, with its specialty shops and waterfront eateries, the boardwalk and marina and the McMorran Place Sports & Entertainment Center.Each of the spacious guest rooms and suites at this Port Huron hotel feature modern amenities including; a 37-inch HDTV, a spacious work area, a microwave and mini-refrigerator, a comfortable Sweet Dreams bed, remote printing service and complimentary WiFi. Some guest rooms have balconies offering breathtaking views of The Blue Water Bridge and the St. Clair River. Wake up to a cooked-to-order breakfast every morning and enjoy classic American dishes in our relaxed hotel restaurant, Freighters. Maintain your exercise regime in the complimentary fitness center. Host a successful business or social event at this Port Huron, MI hotel with a variety flexible meeting spaces, including two spacious ballrooms, all offering complimentary WiFi and stay connected in the complimentary 24-hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas Edison Hotel Port Huron
Thomas Edison Port Huron
Thomas Edison Inn Port Huron Mi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing