We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel, but apparently understaffed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

When we arrived, there was no one at the registration desk - truthfully, not a big deal, because someone showed up within a few minutes, but kind of odd at what appears to be a large hotel.

We really liked our room - it was quiet and the beds were really comfortable, and we had a nice view of the river running by. There was a coffee splatter on the wall that the maids had missed, but again not a big deal.

We had the "bed and breakfast" package, which included a breakfast buffet, so we went down to the restaurant in the morning. Bizarrely, there wasn't anyone to greet us in the restaurant, and after waiting a bit, I had to peek into the kitchen to find someone to actually seat us. Apparently, according to the waitress, I was supposed to have somehow magically known that we were to seat ourselves, and then trust that she would later come out of hiding and serve us. Right. Whatever. Unfortunately, the hot breakfast buffet was mostly overcooked, and only marginally better than a cold breakfast would have been. Totally not worth the extra money at all.

My daughter was really excited to use the pool, and we did. They have a nice pool facility, but for some reason the pool was filled up with twenty women doing some sort of fitness class. They were nice enough about it, but we wound up relegated to one corner of the pool while the main section was used by the class. I guess that's the chance one take when sharing a public hotel pool, but I normally expect the pool to be used by hotel guests, and not some outside class (I mean, I suppose they all could have been hotel guests, but it seems unlikely).

So, I guess I'd try this place again, despite the misses here, because we really did like our room. Still there are lots of things that could be improved.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_Jameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for sharing your review. We strive to welcome everyone as soon as they walk into the door with a warm welcome and a DoubleTree cookie. Sometime our Front Desk staff needs to leave the desk for a brief moment to assist another guest, and I apologize for any inconvenience that this would have caused while they were gone.

Our breakfast offers hot and cold items such as eggs, hash browns, pancakes, yogurt, muffins, bagels, etc. I do apologize for not being greeted when you came in for breakfast as well as the breakfast being overcooked. I can assure you that we have very high standards for our breakfast and your comments will be shared with our staff.

We do have a public pool that is for members only as well as our guests. I can understand how it would be frustrating when they are working out in the pool and your daughter wanted to be able to swim freely in the pool.

We hope that you will return to our property the next time that you are in Port Huron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 908 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Very pleasant experience: beautiful hotel, awesome view, very friendly staff. Rooms were very comfortable, we were greeted with warm chocolate chip cookies....the first step in overall excellent, freindly service. One of my best hotel experiences ever. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank rossh932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the warm DoubleTree cookie upon check in! Our staff members work very hard to ensure that everyone has a pleasant stay! We hope to welcome you back with a warm DoubleTree cookie the next time that you are in Port Huron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

could use more closet space. the staff was very accommodating. the fitness center is excellent. the restaurant food was excellent. the menu was well diversified. I would strongly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Emilio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for staying at the hotel! The fitness center has a variety of equipment to work out on to ensure that you can continue your workout routine even when you are away from home. The restaurant, Freighters Eatery & Taproom, offers a great selection of Michigan based products! We hope that the next time that you are in Port Huron you will stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

CLEAN, WARM, COMFEY, SAFE, BEAUTIFUL VIEW OF RIVER AND BLUE WATER BRIDGE, AND NICE POOL. FUN AREA TO VIST LOTS OF RESTERANTS AND SITE SEEING. clean warm, comfey room. safe. beautiful view of blue water bridge and river. beautiful pool and workout room. area has alot resturants and site seeing

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for your review of our property. We appreciate your feedback about our wonderful property. Our staff members take great pride in providing exceptional customer service and a welcoming environment. Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Staff were very friendly at desk and in restaurant . Meeting facilities and the Event person was very accommodating. Nice view and buzz in restaurant. Restaurant was big, overlooked river and looked great at night. Breakfast buffet was vast and very inexpensive. Room was quiet. A pleasant surprise. Geting a warm cookie on check in was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for staying at the hotel. Our friendly staff members work very hard to ensure that everyone has a wonderful stay at the DoubleTree. The restaurant has a wonderful menu selection for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You can sit and enjoy your meals while waiting for freighters to pass by. We hope to welcome you back again on your next trip to Port Huron with a warm DoubleTree cookie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at DT on February 8th for first time. We had requested extra towels when we booked. they put a whole extra set of towels wrapped in a ribbon on the bed. The room was very clean. The bed was soooo comfy, I wanted to take it home. the view from our room was great as was having a balcony. will definately be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Chrism52014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We are glad that you enjoyed the bed. The Sweet Dream beds definitely give our guest Sweet Dreams! We hope to welcome you back again to enjoy the views of the water from your balcony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel has been recently renovated and the room was very nice, modern and clean. They put us in a quiet room, as requested, and we heard nothing at all from the hallways or other rooms. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and we would definitely return to this hotel if we were once again traveling in Port Huron.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mitchell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at our property. Freighters offers a wonderful selection for breakfast and the breakfast buffet has many options to choose from. We are in the process of getting our address changed and getting the new address updated on GPS systems. Once this is updated I am confident that everyone will be able to locate the hotel and have a wonderful stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Huron
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Huron
Hampton Inn Port Huron
#3 of 10 in Port Huron
532 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn
5.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Port Huron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Port Huron
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Huron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron

Address: 800 Harker St, Port Huron, MI 48060-3011 (Formerly Thomas Edison Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Port Huron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Huron
#1 Business Hotel in Port Huron
Price Range: $92 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron and you can enjoy spacious accommodations, modern amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. Centrally located in Port Huron, Michigan, minutes from St. Clair County International Airport, this modern hotel is close to a number of Port Huron businesses including Domtar Paper Mill, Mueller Industries, Henkel and many companies related to the automobile industry. Enjoy easy access to Port Huron’s historic downtown area, with its specialty shops and waterfront eateries, the boardwalk and marina and the McMorran Place Sports & Entertainment Center.Each of the spacious guest rooms and suites at this Port Huron hotel feature modern amenities including; a 37-inch HDTV, a spacious work area, a microwave and mini-refrigerator, a comfortable Sweet Dreams bed, remote printing service and complimentary WiFi. Some guest rooms have balconies offering breathtaking views of The Blue Water Bridge and the St. Clair River. Wake up to a cooked-to-order breakfast every morning and enjoy classic American dishes in our relaxed hotel restaurant, Freighters. Maintain your exercise regime in the complimentary fitness center. Host a successful business or social event at this Port Huron, MI hotel with a variety flexible meeting spaces, including two spacious ballrooms, all offering complimentary WiFi and stay connected in the complimentary 24-hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas Edison Hotel Port Huron
Thomas Edison Port Huron
Thomas Edison Inn Port Huron Mi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing