We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One step above taco bell”

Red Pepper Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 90 Restaurants in Port Huron
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One step above taco bell”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a local restaurant with a couple of locations. Very consistent . Consistently bad. Bad food , bad service. It is my fault that I keep going there, but it is really the only mexican food in the area. They actually have good tacos and on Tuesdays they are 50 cent for corn shells and 70 cents for flour. Pretty good deal. Just do not think of the meat. All the restaurants need a good cleaning and it is decorated with a lot of nic nacs. They serve chips and salsa with your meal, chips are good, salsa seems to be spiced up cocktail sauce. Chimis and enchiladas are very Greasey. It seems after you eat there you will have a rock in your stomach. It is pretty much all we have for Mexican around here, except the bell.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ktm8776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“taco tuesday”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

50 cent tacos all day on Tuesday, who wouldn't like that... oh and they are good too...flour or corn tacosyour choice !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible. Only good thing is servers.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Food is bland, greasy, and most is gross.
Atmosphere is dingy and dirty. Bathrooms are horrid.
Prices were low on most until they changed owners. Now its 2.59 for a small cheese (small saucer size) which is a rip off. Best deal is .50 tacos on tuesdays.
Service is good by the waitresses. They are usually on top of things and very nice.
Front end cashiers are terrible. No smiles, greeting is what can i get you, and they act as if you are a bother to them. Oh and they like to air out personal business while they are not on the phone.
Overall I only go there ocasionally and usually on Tuesday for .50 tacos. I would not recommend other then that day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ServiceReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute worst Mexican food I have ever had!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The only good thing about this place was the service. The food was the worst I have ever had at a Mexican restaurant. I would never go back to this place!. I'm guessing anyone who says this place has good food has probably never been to a good Mexican restaurant, or could be suffering from malnutrition. Yuk!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Save yourself the headache and go to the wadhams red pepper!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Good food except the enchilada sauce is bland. The costumer service is poor and the waitresses are missing a few teeth ick... I usually go to the wadhams red pepper it's In the plaza with speedy Q the food and service is amazing... Love that place

Try the chicken fajitas ;)'

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickygril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Pepper Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Pepper Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing