We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel stay ever ... but got to see what was like a live episode of "Cops"!?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 27, 2010

This is the absolute worst stay I have ever experienced at a hotel. We were there with a hockey team for a Silver Stick International tournament. Firstly, we were forced to stay there on a 3 night minimum contract (ridiculous, as most hotels will contract you for 2; if I was a private citizen, when would a hotel ever force you to stay for a given number of nights?!). When I requested a discounted 3rd night as I was leaving due to the fact that we did not advance in the tournament, and due to the fact that we basically had a live episode of "Cops" going on almost directly across the hall from us, I was refused. The police kept us on lock down for approximately a half an hour while they (while wearing bullet proof vests, secured the perimeter, pounded on the guy's door, etc., etc.) basically violently arrested a man. When I called a couple of days later to complain, the manager wouldn't let me get a word in edgewise (kept trying to convince me that her business practices were good), and then . . . yup, hung up in my ear!?! Oh, that's great business practices. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone, and will certainly never stay there myself again!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hockeymanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 630 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2010

We were assigned this hotel though the silver stick hockey tournament.
1.The carpet was dirty -found cheese doodles on floor by edge of bed.
2. Found a used condom on the floor under luggage rack.
3. Swat team raided hotel room to arrest drug dealer. All at gunpoint!
Do not go to this hotel!
Sent notes to tourney mgmt to not use this hotel.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foursmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

The hotel itself was like any ordinary quick stay hotel. The front desk staff, housekeeping, and maintenance were all very friendly. The rooms were clean with new white down comforters. The workout facility was very dirty and we had to report that to the front desk. The breakfast area and elevators were very dirty but that was probably because there were lots of kids in the hotel. The pool area was very small. The front sitting/breakfast area was very small. The hotel was very close to where we spent the majority of our visit in Port Huron. The price was a little steep for this type of hotel but due to the large venue going on, the hotel was able to raise their rates. IF THE MANAGER WOULD LEAVE, WE MIGHT STAY AGAIN IN A PINCH.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autigrgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

This hotel was terrible. I picked it over the Quality Inn not far because it was a bit cheaper. The lobby and breakfast area were very well kept but the elevator was very old and the stairs didn't look like they were touched in years, they were filthy! I do not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank run4jesus078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We had to cancel this trip several times due to health issues and each time they moved our reservation forward and kept the price the same. The hotel is immaculate and the staff the most acccomodating we have seen in a long time. Hats off to all of you. I can't even began to stress how much you should consider booking a room here. It was heaven on earth. We were so impressed with everything the moment we walked in. We never felt we were imposing or putting the staff out. They cheerfully gave us instructions and they were very correct instructions as how to get different places. There are wonderful restaurants close by including a truck stop and cracker barrel. Our room so clean and the fridge big and the beds like clouds. Very handicapped accessible as I have a scooter and it was able to go easily all over the hotel and even in the room that was not a handicapped accessible as we don't usually ask for ai accessible room. We can't wait to go again and will always stay here if we are going to Port Huron

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miracle53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

We were coming in from out of town and booked rooms at a discounted rate due to a funeral. As you can imagine, we were already stressed. When we arrived to check in there had apparently been a blackout, which I understand was not their fault, but they made absolutely no attempt to help us make other arrangements. Their electronic equipment wasn't working and they actually suggested we pay CASH for a dark and cold room for which they offered CANDLES to help us navigate the dark halls and stairs! All they could tell us was they "hoped" the power would be back on that evening. That was it. When we called a couple of hours later, we got no answer; the manager on duty apparently just left. We had to find other accommodations on our own. We ended up staying elsewhere, but had to pay about $30 more than we'd planned without the discount. They need a backup plan or a different manager.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank bworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

My fiance and i drive hours to see one another he lives in toronto and i in detroit, so you can imagine how important it is for us to feel comfortable, relaxed, well, just at home when we do. This is the only place we have found that. from the first time we visited this place we felt nothing but welcomed. kal, laura, lori, and the rest of the staff create a smooth oiled running machine of comfort. our needs are always met. the rooms are cozy in winter and cool in the summer. the pool, we enjoyed very much, well ali, not so much cause i dunked his head under, but i got a giggle, and later we both did. they always let us know whats going on in the city, tell us where we should and shouldnt go. many places dont care they just want your money. they really vest themselves into making sure that all who reside here have the best time they can while in port huron. another plus, the breakfasts are always hot and on point. plenty of towels and bedding whenever we need em. they even let us park our car their for three days when we got a rental! we really love this place. and it is the only place we meet at when we are in the port huron area, kudos to the team. you really helped make our relationship flourish. and to us that means the world.
:)
sandy and ali....

Stayed: January 2009
Thank sandytherabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Huron hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Port Huron
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Huron
Hampton Inn Port Huron
#3 of 10 in Port Huron
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Port Huron
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Huron
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Port Huron
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn

Address: 2282 Water Street, Port Huron, MI 48060-2428 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hospitality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Port Huron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Port Huron
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Huron
#3 Business Hotel in Port Huron
#3 Family Hotel in Port Huron
Price Range: $69 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated BEST WESTERN Port Huron/Hospitality Inn located off Interstate 94 in Port Huron, Michigan known as The Maritime Capital of the Great Lakes. Guests staying at this hotel will be conveniently near historic downtown Port Huron, Lake Marinas, the Blue Water Bridge and the Port Huron Museums. Stay at this Port Huron, Michigan hotel overlooking the Black River and located near Lakeside Beach, downtown Port Huron and the McMorran Place Arena. The BEST WESTERN Port Huron/Hospitality Inn proudly offers 63 newly renovated guest rooms each complete with cable television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full hot & cold breakfast. This Port Huron hotel's additional amenities include an indoor swimming pool, exercise room and meeting, conference facilities accommodating up to 50 guests. The BEST WESTERN Port Huron/Hospitality Inn is close to a variety of summer and winter outdoor activities including fishing, golfing, boating, touring local lighthouses and the maritime history of Port Huron. This Michigan hotel is also the perfect lodging choice when attending the Port Huron to Mackinaw Boat Race, attending hockey tournaments, touring Fort Gratiot and trip from USA to Canada for Niagara Falls and Toronto. For newly renovated guestrooms, superior customer service and a convenient location in Port Huron, make a reservation at this Port Huron hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hospitality Hotel Port Huron
Best Western Port Huron
Port Huron Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing