We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Just Takes One Call...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pontiac
Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on Feb. 18, 2012. It was actually our 3rd time at rhis hotel and it has not been spectacular, but after this one visit, I think a review is in order because the staff tried really tried hard to make you feel welcome.

The rooms are clean/adequate/OK for 2.5 star - nothing spectacular, but nothing to complain about either. The location is right off I-75 (Square Lake Road exit) and relatively easy to find.

I have sent packages there on 2 different occassions and has not had any problems (the 2nd time we were there, one package did not arrive in time, so the hotel staff sent it back and I got a refund on my CC) receiving them.

During our last visit, the staff was friendly as always, but it was the welcome call that put it over the top. Someone called us within 5mins of getting to our room to let us know that they are there in case we need their assistance. I found this very heart-warming and comforting. A nice touch.

Will definitely stay again. Would be even better if they offered a breakfast included rate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSC-CP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silviya S, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I really appreciate your comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 157 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2011

we arrived at 4pm prior to attending the Guns N' Roses concert. The hotel was really close to the venue (The Palace) and easy to find. For the prince we paid, we were REALLY surprised about how nice the hotel was. They called up to our room 10 minutes after arrival to see if our room was okay. We returned to the hotel at 3AM, so we only slept for about 4 hours...but it was really comfortable. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drakestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We were here with our 2 year old for a quick weekend getaway. The front desk was very accomodating and found us a room that was not an adjoining one and not near the elevators. Thank goodness because she had a cold and we didn't want to disturb the other guests. Sure the rooms need updating and refreshing but it was generally clean and the front desk was very accomdating. I am personally not a "soft" bed and fluffy pillows kind of guy so my back was kind of hurting in the mornings but I'm sure there are those who like it.

Overall, a good solid stay at the Courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask to get a non-adjoining room if you want to get a good night's sleep or you have kids like us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cr8zymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

A fantastic place to stay. Very nominal with excellent facilities in that area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sivasailam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Just got done with a 10 night stay at the Courtyard Pontiac/Bloomfield. It was actually my 2nd visit to this property and I hope to be fair and balanced with my review.

Overall, the property itself (building, lobby, rooms, amenities) would rate a B. The property is in need of a renovation. I doubt anybody would disagree with this observation. The lobby is dated by Courtyard standards. The hallways are clean but drab and the rooms themselves desperately need a touchup. This does NOT mean the room is not comofortable.. it just means I felt like I was walking into a hotel from 15 years ago.

The staff at this particular Courtyard is exceptional. From the GM Brandon to the maintenance man to the housekeeping staff.. everybody is extremely friendly and it never feels like a problem is a problem. Every question is met with a smile. Every issue is resolved quickly. This is what makes a hotel rate higher than the structure itself would warrant.

My one real criticizim with this property is the same I have with just about any hotel I visit with a Priceline or Hotwire booking.. I know you're not going to give me the nicest room in the hotel, but please.. when I book a long term stay with you do not put me directly next to an elevator or ice machine. This is the 2nd time at this particular property that I've booked via Priceline and both times the first room they offered me was unacceptable due to noise.
Granted, Brandon switched my room without arguement.. but still, that conversation should have never needed to take place.

Anyway.. overall I would rate this property 4*.
The staff and experience of being there is a definate 5*
The property which needs some TLC gets a 3*.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a quiet room. Also remember that some rooms have balconies and some have HDTV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speeding_Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Staying at this hotel was a horrible experience. I checked in around 9:45pm. I had never stayed at this particular property before but it was close to where I was working the next morning. When I got to the room it was run down and the hotel is in desperate need of a remodel. I walked to the sliding patio door to open it because the room did not smell fresh and the screen door was broken and would not close (it would not slide shut and there was about a foot of open space that bugs or a bird could have entered the room). I contacted the front desk and the girl on duty did not seem too concerned. She said that the balconies are under construction at this time and that maybe it became damaged during some of this work they are performing. I expressed my concern about the state of the room and she said there are no better rooms at the hotel and that even if she moved me to another room it would be the same. The carpet was very worn and my biggest complaint is that the carpets were visibly dirty and it was evident that housekeeping had not vacuumed the room after the last guest had checked out. The phone next to the bed was filthy. I did not sit in the chair at the desk because it was also very dirty. The sheets on the bed were clean and the towels in the bathroom were clean but that being said, this is a terrible property and I would not recommend staying here until they do a complete remodel. I asked the front desk when they were scheduled for an upgrade and they said it will be at least another year.

Room Tip: None of the rooms at this hotel are good. All are desperately in need of a remodel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobiecatsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandonFrederick, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. We are so sorry for any inconveniences you experienced while staying with us but please know we take extreme pride in guest service and cleanliness. I can assure you this is not a normal occurrence for us and we have taken action to ensure other guests do not have the same experience.

We hope you will give us another try on your next visit to the greater Detroit Area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed here for one night in late September 2011. I normally stay at the full-service Marriott across the street, but it was sold out for the night, and this Courtyard had an unbeatable room rate. The check-in experience was a little lackluster, but not unfriendly. I was given a room with 2 double beds, even though I was solo. Lobby is not updated to the newest "Courtyard Bistro" experience, so it was a little dark and quiet. There looked to be a nice pool, but I didn't use it. Room was fine - plenty of space and clean. The only complaints I had about the room were that there were not any power outlets on the nightstand or near the beds to charge my phone and iPod. The room with the shower and toilet had a noisy fan and a light that flickered on and off during the shower, but it was clean and the shower had great water pressure. Parking and internet were free, and the Mexican restaurant across the street, Mi Zarape, was very delicious!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators and ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volksaudinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandonFrederick, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the extra time to review our hotel. It gives me great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning how clean your room was, we take great pride in our cleanliness and strive to be the cleanest hotel in the detroit area. I sincerely hope that you will stay with us on your next visit to town.

Brandon Frederick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontiac
0.1 mi away
Auburn Hills Marriott Pontiac
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bloomfield Hills Detroit
DoubleTree by Hilton Bloomfield ...
#1 of 1 in Bloomfield Hills
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - I -75
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#4 of 19 in Auburn Hills
339 reviews
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Auburn Hills
Courtyard Detroit Auburn Hills
#11 of 19 in Auburn Hills
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills

Address: 3555 Centerpoint Pkwy, Pontiac, MI 48341-3158 (Formerly Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Bloomfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Pontiac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pontiac
Price Range: $95 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Detroit Pontiac is just west of I-75 and convenient to the surrounding communities of Bloomfield Hills, Auburn Hills, Troy, Rochester Hills and Birmingham. If you're in town for business, the Courtyard Detroit Pontiac can serve as your home while visiting, Chrysler, Volkswagen, EDS/Hewlett Packard, and Oakland University. This Pontiac hotel is also just minutes from Alpine Valley and Pine Knob Ski Resorts, Great Lakes Crossing Mall, DTE Music Theater and numerous fine and casual dining venues. Guests at this Courtyard Detroit Pontiac can enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner, at the Courtyard Bistro, as well as a refreshing dip in the indoor pool. With five different room types, some with mini-fridges and microwaves, this Pontiac hotel is the perfect spot for all types of travelers. For kids, we offer the Nickelodeon Your Stay Program - a great way to help your little traveler enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Pontiac/Bloomfield Hotel Pontiac
Courtyard Pontiac
Pontiac Marriott
Pontiac Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing