We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, quiet hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontiac
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, quiet hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed from March 21 to March 25. Our one-bedroom suite was quiet and was plenty spacious. The odd thing -- worth subtracting a star -- is that there is no door between the bedroom and the sink-and-vanity portion of the bathroom. So if someone's asleep in the bed, and another turns on the bright fluorescent light above the vanity and uses the sink, it's a pretty good bet that the on who sleeping will be awakened. Everything else was decent, though, including the free breakfast -- they could use a few more tables for diners, though.

Room Tip: 334 was a quiet, one-bedroom suite -- but no door between bedroom and vanity/sink area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_DCburbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    12
    12
    4
See reviews for
31
17
3
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I travel a lot and almost never write hotel reviews. This time I’m compelled to do so.

Upon my arrival to Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills during the week of 03/18, I was given room 236. Let me state the positive first… the staff here is kind, pleasant and helpful… best thing going for this hotel. Here comes the areas where massive improvements are needed: Parking outside building 2 is awkward and quite limited. The entrance to this building (doors, carpet, keypad, etc.) is completely worn out and dated. Green carpet throughout? Seriously?

The room wasn’t any better. Same green carpet, VERY dated kitchen, dated couches, the bedding looks like handout from Motel 6. Appliences in the kitchen very well be picked up from the neighborhood trash day. The quality far from other Residence Inn standard. I am really surprised to see other people gave it 3-4 stars… too high in my opinion.

I know Detroit is broke, but Marriott isn’t. So invest the money to upgrades. Serously!

Again, the staff here doing their best with this old, tired hotel to maintain some standard, but you can do only so much!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TD0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodi W, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear "TD0001',

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While we are not the newest hotel in the area, we pride ourselves on our maintneance and cleanliness, and the service we provide. I am sorry our decor was not to your liking, however I am very pleased that you enjoyed the high level of servide we provide. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dodi Wicklund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Got a very good deal through Priceline. Spent one night on this property. Room was big enough for two, but not suite. Queen bed, large sitting area with 2 sofas, small kitchen with a bit dated appliances. We didn't use the kitchen at all because we stayed only one night so I can't comment on condition of appliances and tableware they have were . Overall everything was clean,in good shape, furniture in very good condition. Bed was very comfortable. Only complain I have is a noisy air conditioner.
Breakfast was decent.
This hotel looks well maintained and I would recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodi W, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi Kimba,

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. I am glad you found the room clean and the bed comfortable. Thank you for staying with us and recommending us to other travelers. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dodi Wicklund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We loved staying at Residence Inn's when we travel.....You basically know that your going to get a larger than normal room. We had a one bedroom suite. Very clean and comfortable, little outdated, for some Residence Inn's, but the price I feel reflected this. The thing that we always love is one of us could be in the bedroom sleeping while the other was in the living room watching TV without disturbing each other, it's just like home!! and for that is why we always look to this chain first!! the location is not the greatest, and the only reason I say this, is because there is not much in the general walking area, it's not that it's a bad neighbourhood or anything, it's just that there is nothing to really do without driving. My wife drove to the outlet mall, left me and our daughter at the hotel, and we couldn't really go off the property. The breakfast in the morning was great, and the staff was super friendly. Our room was in a corner, and was very quiet, which is great as we have a one year old who goes to sleep at 7pm, and requires two naps daily, no disturbances!! Always a plus!!
I did have a couple small issues, we when swimming at about 5pm and the pool deck was a “little” dirty with hair’s and debris, ok not an issue, but the next morning I took my daughter swimming first thing after breakfast, still dirty…… made me think a little bit. The only other little issue I had was the pull bar’s in the washroom were almost pulled out of the wall, now I didn’t require these for assistance, but for someone who did, there is no way that they would support you, and probably pull them out of the wall.. I know I should mention this or my wife would be upset, I had a great night sleep as I found the bed comfertable, even thought it was only a Queen.. She said the bed sloped in to the centre and she didn't have a 'great" sleep, I have no comment on this.

Overall I would stay again, probably if in the area again, I wouldn’t even look at the other hotels in the same price range, as I have always been happy with Residence Inn’s!!

Room Tip: Corner location, building 2 was very quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goody115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for about a week and it served its purpose as a place to sleep. I gave it four stars only because I got a discount; without it I'd have given it three. The room was little tired feeling but I think that's because we had a dog and were in a dog friendly room. There were bathroom soaps but no dish soap...not sure if there was some for the dishwasher. Everything worked (i.e heat, ice maker, tvs, microwave) and the room was big so no complaints there. The staff was very friendly and helped me with all my requests. It was a bit of drawback that the buildings are not attached because we were there during a snow storm and had to venture out int he cold for morning coffee. Breakfast was okay but a lot of variety (waffles, bagels, breads, eggs, cereal, yogurt, potatoes, meat, etc.). The workout room was a nice perk and never crowded (probably due to the holidays). Overall, I would not pay asking price for this hotel, but for the discounted price we paid, I'd say it was a fair value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linds Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodi W, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry you felt the room was a bit tired, but am happy you found everything in working order, and our staff to be friendly. I am also happy you enjoyed our workout room and the variety we offer for breakfast. We strive to please all of our valued guests and hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future. Again - thanks for providing valuble feedback on your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Dodi Wicklund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights using my points for a family weekend in Michigan. Sondra at the desk was extremely pleasant and offered great information about a particular location. As I was about to turn around and leave the desk area after receiving my keys, she stopped me and told me she was going see about giving me an upgrade to the 2 bedroom suite. Never in my platinum history have I been offered an upgrade, mostly because I never ask for one, so this was a nice moment for me. Sondra simply stated that she "wanted to make sure that we're comfortable." Thank you, Sondra, for helping us have an even better weekend than anticipated! Will happily stay here again, upgrade or not, we had zero complaints about anything.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seyerbe1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodi W, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for such a gracious review! We truly appreciate our Marriott Reward Members and your loyalty. I will share this review with Sondra and the rest of our staff - we really the enjoy feedback! We look forward to having the opportunity to host your family again in the near future. Again, thanks for the positive comments on your stay with us.

All My Best,

Dodi Wicklund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I decided to book a room from Priceline for the first time - and I was please with the results. The room I received had a kitchen, couch, flat screen TV, and was more than adequate for my needs. Best of all, I breakfast was included.

Room Tip: The room we received was the first room on the left in the second building - 149. Inspite of the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodi W, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dennis - Thanks so much for your positive feedback! We hope to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontiac
0.1 mi away
Auburn Hills Marriott Pontiac
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
4.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#1 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
6.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills

Property: Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
Address: 3333 Centerpoint Pkwy, Pontiac, MI 48341-3159
Location: United States > Michigan > Pontiac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontiac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills is just off I-75, between Troy, Auburn Hills, Bloomfield Hills, and Pontiac, to offer a premier location among Auburn Hills hotels. Business travelers appreciate staying at this extended stay Auburn Hills hotel with close proximity to nearby offices including Chrysler Headquarters, GM Powertrain, Hewlett-Packard, Volkswagen, and Delphi. Guests traveling on leisure love the quick commute to the top Detroit-area sights including Comerica Park or Somerset Collection Mall. The pet-friendly Residence Inn Auburn Hills offers apartment-style suites that are 50% larger than standard hotels with convenient amenities including free WiFi, HD TVs, and fully-equipped kitchens with granite counter tops. Choose the Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills offers modern amenities and a great location to make it one of the top extended stay hotels in Auburn Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills Hotel Pontiac
Residence Inn Pontiac
Pontiac Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing