We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Detroit Suburbs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontiac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Had a nice weekend stay. Room was large and clean, as were the pool, breakfast area and outdoor sport court. One issue with bathroom sink was promptly addressed. Location is in quiet area. Would recommend for anyone travelling to that area in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodi W, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback. Please visit us again when you are in our area!

Sincerely,

Dodi Wicklund
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 155 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stay quite regularly at many Marriott hotels and this one by far has been the worst and very disappointing. The water temp never got above luke warm so showers and baths were cut short to avoid freezing. I discovered on my second nite there, when the bed pulled away from the headboard leaving the space between the bed and boxsprings exposed a VERY VERY dirty disgusting strip of hair and filth that looks like it had not been cleaned in many months if ever :( Lastly, most hotels take a credit card to "hold" for incidentals, they actually charge it but failed to let me know this. My card was still not credited back two weeks later and then only after I called to inquire of this. On a good note, when I checked out I did explain all this to them and I did receive a free nites stay, which I feel is what should have been done and I do appreciate them compensating for all the trouble.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodi W, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for your stay with us. We take comments like yours very seriously as this is certainly not the typical service that we provide. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with the offer we provided you during your check out. Please understand that we value your business and hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to prove the level of service we are proud of delivering. Please feel free to contact me personally if I can be of any service.

Sincerely,

Dodi Wicklund
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My son and I were there for two weeks for him to receive special medical care at a nearby facility. We certainly needed a hotel with a full kitchen, that's why we chose this property. Our kitchen was well-stocked, even with small single-use dishwasher detergent which was great. No sponges or dishwashing liquid though. Toilet paper was apparently scarce as we had to call down to the front desk twice to get any.

Cons: I had to ask the housekeeping staff to clean the countertops in the kitchen and bathroom - after a week of no cleaning they were getting grungy. She did it very grudgingly. Our room was never vacuumed during out two week stay, I don't think the hallway was either. Never actually saw a vacuum cleaner but one time our entire two week stay. My sheets were not changed but once - rather than the twice a week the hotel advertises. We often did not have our room serviced by 5pm, we'd end up having to call the front desk for fresh towels and for someone to take the used ones (we recycled them 1/2 the time).

Plusses? Great breakfast to get you started in the morning (brought my own Starbucks VIA as I didn't care for their coffee), snacks throughout the week at cocktail time. The front desk staff and Daryl (maintenance?) were all wonderful, as was the sales staff.

Looking to spend 4wks back in the area and will consider this property again - if we can discuss and get the housekeeping issue worked out!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christigpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodi W, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed that we did not deliver the service level we strive to provide. Please be assured that we take comments like yours very seriously and will look for ways to improve. I was happy to see that you did enjoy our breakfast, and the service that sales, maintenance and the front desk staff provided. We would love the opportunity to serve you and your family again. I am positive we will live up to your expectations during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Dodi Wicklund

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We had a wonderful time staying at this hotel. Upon checking in, we were greeted by the receptionist Adam. The service provided by Adam was excellent. He went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and at ease. For example, he called a nearby restaurant to check whether it was opened (Thanksgiving) or not. He also drew us a map to a nearby restaurant. When we asked about nearby shopping malls, he also gave us a map of the Great Lakes Crossing. Just excellent service all around.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atran70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Excellent! Excellent! There were 34 travellers in our soccer touring group, majoritry 15 and 16 year olds. The staff were outstanding, always there to help, nothing too hard. The rooms were clean and extremely comfortable and we felt safe at all times. Location was superb for the games we played, and the shopping in the area was excellent. Great laundry facilities for the team. Met really nice people from all over the world in the common area during breakfast. We can highly recommend this hotel. General Manager in particular was the nicest of ladies.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

the hotel is very confortable and offers all services needed to live like home. The management is very friendly and efficient and able to solve any kind of issues you could have. Room are big and well equipped. Swimming pool and gym are available at any time. Breakfast is good with aboundant choice.
Excellent also free happy hour program in the garden

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank margo6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I travel 100% for my company so I can speak from real experience of other Marriott Residence Inn East of the Mississipppi.
This one is by far well below any I have stayed at.
I requested a room with an oven up front and was given one with only a 2 burner cook top range. They moved me the next day - that was hassle one and if had been all, would have been easy for me to overlook. But other things became issues for me.
The staff did their best to complete the room equipment that I find is always at other locations (i.e. missing dishes - utencels - etc.) It took me 2-3 days to note all missing items so I could cook meals in my room as is intended when you stay at a residence inn style hotel.
ALso the TV is of 1990s style - curved glass CRT where other locations have LCD wide screen HD units. The microwave was so small I could not place my travel coffee cup inside. Through out the properity I noticed items in need of repair or upgrade.
To reach the swimming pool / work out room / breakfast areas it is necessary for you to go outside the building of the rooms and then enter the building housing these. In poor weather not a plus by far.
Now to point out this, my dissatisfaction was not so much of lesser conditons but rather the room rate was 1/3 higher than I have paid at other Marriott Residence Inns.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a normal Marriott Residence Inn - do not expect it here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsmitch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontiac
0.1 mi away
Auburn Hills Marriott Pontiac
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
2.9 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
#4 of 18 in Auburn Hills
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South
4 mi away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#5 of 18 in Auburn Hills
657 reviews
6.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills

Address: 3333 Centerpoint Pkwy, Pontiac, MI 48341-3159
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Pontiac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontiac
Price Range: $96 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills is just off I-75, between Troy, Auburn Hills, Bloomfield Hills, and Pontiac, to offer a premier location among Auburn Hills hotels. Business travelers appreciate staying at this extended stay Auburn Hills hotel with close proximity to nearby offices including Chrysler Headquarters, GM Powertrain, Hewlett-Packard, Volkswagen, and Delphi. Guests traveling on leisure love the quick commute to the top Detroit-area sights including Comerica Park or Somerset Collection Mall. The pet-friendly Residence Inn Auburn Hills offers apartment-style suites that are 50% larger than standard hotels with convenient amenities including free WiFi, HD TVs, and fully-equipped kitchens with granite counter tops. Choose the Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills offers modern amenities and a great location to make it one of the top extended stay hotels in Auburn Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills Hotel Pontiac
Residence Inn Pontiac
Pontiac Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing