We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad group planning led to disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auburn Hills Marriott Pontiac
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pontiac
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Recently I stayed at the Marriott Hotel in Auburn Hills, MI with a group that had reserved rooms for a car show between 07/30/08 through 08/03/08. This car show was a pretty big deal for the members involved as it happens once every ten years.

Our experience with the hotel was great at first. The rooms were nice and the staff were great, but the final night that we stayed at the Marriott tthere was another group at the hotel that had a private party planned. I and the other guests were notified about this just from signs posted that the outdoor pool would be closed for the other party.

What we had not been warned about was that this other group of people would be turning the Marriott into a nightclub. almost all the members of this car club had drove to the hotel from great distances, including myself, and the following day we were all planning on driving a long way to get back home. As you can imagine we all wanted to get as much sleep as possible.

That didn't happen.

We stayed on the eigth floor of the hotel and could not only hear the music from the party that went on until after 2am, but it was loud enough where we could understand the words to the songs that were playing.

The Marriott was nice enough to reserve an area of the parking lot for the old cars. Unfortunately this area was right outside the outdoor pool, so that at 2am when they closed the outdoor pool, the people partying (at least a hundred at that point) moved the party into the parking lot.

Now a lot of these cars are not only valuable, they also hold a lot of sentimental value. So after the Marriott had assured our group that the cars would be safe, to see a large group of extremely drunk people partying around these cars was unbelievable.

Even when the party stopped there, it just moved into the hotel. Loud music and people running up and down the halls where what every other guest of the hotel was able to listen to all night long.

Lots of complaints were made throughout the night. Nothing was done about this.

By the next morning there was trash everywhere. Alchohal spilled in the elevators, cigarette burns all over the place. Garbage all around the old cars.

This was a horrible experience. It wasn't safe to attempt to drive across the country on less than 2 hours of sleep. In the future warn they should guests when one of the hotels plans on hosting a party that will go all night so that they can make other arrangements if nessicary. I have stayed at several hotels and motels across the country, and this was by far the most irresponsible thing I've ever seen. I don't blame the people at the party, I blame the hotel for not informing it's guests that such a party was planned. Whoever coordinates these events did a horrible job. I saw ads in the hotel for planning weddings at the Marriott, and I'm glad that it was just an old car show booked at the same time as a rave, instead of someone having their wedding reception ruined.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank whiptcracker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 445 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2008

When one stays in a hotel for as many days as I did (more than 50 nights) they experience many of the glitches but the dilligence and manner with which hotel employees handled any one of the issues I raised impressed me! Overall my experience in this hotel was and is excellent.

1  Thank uric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2007

Was there for 3 nights for a wedding and the service was excellent. The staff was very friendly and the accomadations were perfect. Any requests we had were taken care of promptly. We ate the catered food and at the restaurant and both were very good, especially the breakfast buffett. The pool and fitness center were perfect and tucked away to limit traffic. Location is very convienent right off the highway, but you hear no noise. Overall the quality of this hotel only added to a perfect weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank darko31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2006

I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel. From the outside it gives the appearance of a very dated (and worn) property, but the quite the opposite is true. It is new, plush and well appointed. The staff are what make this hotel stand out. Every single interaction was absolutely delightful - and nearly unexpected. The desk staff were wonderful, and every single employee went out of their way to make us feel welcome and appreciated. I was slipping a bit on some ice in the parking lot and the gentleman salting the side walk ran to my assistance and helped me to my car. I was amazed.

Definately book your next stay in the Metro Detroit area at this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Consultantgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We enjoyed our stay at the Marriott. We were there for a Packard Meet, and they handled all requests competently. The parking lot was convenient for the antique cars. The nearby restaurants were good. The hotel restaurant was also good but more expensive. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff was professional, well trained and friendly. We would recommend it to anyone and would return if we are in that area again.

Stayed: July 2006
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Great food and Service. This is the place to stay when visiting Auburn Hills.

thanks for a great week.

Stayed: May 2006
Thank Taylor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Israel
1
Reviewed April 16, 2005

I was there in Detroit and i met a guy from the reception his name is Shaawy Hany as he told me later
i am a jewish (arab israil) and i do know that most of arabian countries and doesn't feel good with the arab israil people
shaawy was knew that i am jewish and he did serve me that i thought that he is really my brother who taking care of me
very good example for arab people and excellent candidate you choose to handle and taking care of your clients
Thanks
Mahajna Solman

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontiac
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Pontiac/Auburn Hills
3.0 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
#5 of 18 in Auburn Hills
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#3 of 18 in Auburn Hills
336 reviews
4.8 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#10 of 17 in Troy
215 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#4 of 18 in Auburn Hills
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Hills Marriott Pontiac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Hills Marriott Pontiac

Address: 3600 Centerpoint Pkwy, Pontiac, MI 48341-3164 (Formerly Auburn Hills Marriott Pontiac at Centerpoint)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Pontiac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pontiac
Price Range: $112 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auburn Hills Marriott Pontiac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary full-service Auburn Hills, MI hotel, Auburn Hills Marriott Pontiac is located within the Centerpoint Business Campus and is easily accessible to Detroit and nearby suburbs. We offer proximity to Bloomfield, Rochester, Troy, and Birmingham. Our Auburn Hills, MI, hotel is just minutes from Volkswagen, GM Powertrain, Chrysler Headquarters, and many Fortune 500 companies. Enjoy a peaceful environment at our hotel that only feels like you're far from the city. Inside and out, you will be surrounded with richly appointed features and conveniences like high-speed Internet access in your guest room and a state-of-the-art fitness center for your daily use. Enjoy delicious comfort food and craft cocktails at our new restaurant, Woodward's. Experience exclusive benefits in the all-new M Club Lounge. Auburn Hills Marriott Pontiac also boasts an indoor and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auburn Hills Marriott Pontiac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auburn Hills Marriott Pontiac At Centerpoint Hotel Pontiac
Marriott Pontiac
Pontiac Marriott
Detroit Marriott Pontiac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing