We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Plymouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I live about 200 miles away from Plymouth and, in August 2012, my family and I found ourselves in need of a reasonably-priced, clean, quiet hotel in which to stay during my mother's nearby emergency hospitalization. Not only was our room clean and comfortable, but it overlooked a quiet, wooded area. Breakfast was more than ample with a different hot item and meat each morning, plus fresh fruit, breads, pastries, yogurt, cereal and make your own Belgian waffles. Moreover, the staff's kindness toward us throughout our stay made a difficult week (Mom passed away) much more bearable.

A few weeks later I returned by myself to this Comfort Inn to visit my dad who resided at a nearby assisted living facility. When I entered the lobby to check in, the front desk receptionist immediately recognized me. Having chatted briefly off and on during our previous stay, she gently asked how I was doing. Another receptionist listened in and offered her condolences. Both were there to greet me again later that evening. When they asked about Dad and learned that his Alzheimer's had now accelerated so rapidly that he had not recognized me, the second receptionist immediately came from behind the counter and gave me a hug. She invited me to come back down to the lobby to talk if I felt that it would help. Their kindness was truly a comfort.

Two weeks later I was back at the Comfort Inn a third time. This time it was due to the emergency hospitalization of my dad. The same front desk receptionist and her colleague greeted me warmly upon my arrival. I was given the same room as I had on my previous stay; and again it was clean, quiet and comfortable. When Dad died just days later, the two front desk receptionists even teared-up.

I'm only sorry that I do not have the receptionists' names, as well as that of the breakfast room attendant, to publicly recognize them in this review for all they did to make my repeated stays as comfortable as possible. It is the staff of this hotel that makes a good hotel even better. They truly give meaning to the name, COMFORT Inn. Kudos and my heartfelt thanks to you!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back (south side) of the hotel overlook a wooded area. Even my first floor room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    71
    17
    2
    8
See reviews for
106
35
11
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayern
Level Contributor
187 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is my favorite hotel when I am in the Livionia region. The hotel is convenient located right off I275. Just 15 minuts from the Detroit airport.
The rooms are spacious and clean. Furniture is getting a little worn out, but still acceptable for this price. The front desk staff is very friendly and well organized.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uglyone2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a month, after relocating for new employment. At nearly $2000.00, listening to the disrespectful cleaning staff was unacceptable. The manager... DAVID, then told me to go stay at the redroof inn, if I didn't like it. He went on saying the "complimentary" shuttle service was only a favor and threw it in my face that we even used it. Yea! ... Disrespectful, immature, and unacceptable. A kid runs what could be a reputable est... Too bad for comfort inns.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrgauthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,406 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 888 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We chose the Comfort Inn in Plymouth due to its proximity to Interstates 275/94/96 and easy access to Ann Arbor and downtown Detroit (we were in town over a weekend to catch a Michigan Wolverines and a Detroit Lions game).

The hotel is clean with decent sized rooms and a large lobby area. It also has a small business center with a computer and printer. While our room was quite comfortable it did have a slightly smoky smell to it. My understanding is that the rooms are being renovated - not clear ours had been done yet (it definitely was a little dated in its look). As with all Comfort Inns, a hot breakfast was included. We appreciated there were lighter items such as yogurt to the usual donuts, bagels, scrambled eggs and sausages.

The staff were extremely friendly, greeting us every time we came into and left the hotel. Our room attendant even asked if we wanted our sheets changed.

While there are few choices nearby to dine out at (apart from your typical fast food joints) it is a short drive to downtown Plymouth where there are some great options (see my review on Fiamma Grill). It's also a relatively short drive to some decent shopping.

The Comfort Inn Plymouth is a good option if you're looking for something inexpensive in the western suburbs of Detroit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated. As of the time of my review room 202 has yet to be updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comstock Park, MI
Level Contributor
269 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Newly renovated still has some left. Had pardon our dust signs on the doors. Staff on check in was friendly, but I thought it was strange that the hotel was less than half full and I could not have a second floor room. Being that I am an Platinum Choice Privileges member (not acknowledged my the from desk) I thought that was an easy thing to do. Had issues with the first room and got moved. They serve dinner on Wednesday nights. Consisted of Salad, Pizza, fried chicken, and Baked Mostaccioli, and fresh baked cookies for desert. I am glad I got there when it started as there was not a hot plate or warmer for the food in sight. Unsure after a couple hours of sitting how safe the warm food is for consumption.
Beds were okay sleep quality was okay. Is a little difficult to find as other reviewers mentioned look for the clock tower.
Typical Comfort inn fare for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was most likely the best hotel the hubby and I have ever stayed in and we have stayed in a LOT of them!! The front desk was courteous and helpful...the room was probably the cleanest room we have ever stayed in. It was big and spacious and we didn't even want to leave it the next day. The hotel was extremely quiet and set back in off the main road. It was a welcome break from the chaos we had been enduring - almost like a safe haven. We didn't make use of the outdoor pool because we were so tired, but it looked nice as well. The breakfast in the morning was pretty good - though if I had any complaints at all it would be for the confusion in how that was set up - we were most likely still semi-asleep so the fault could be our own - but the food was all over the room and somewhat hard to get to while waiting in lines and trying to stay out of other peoples way while they ate and tried to watch the tv. We took ours back up to our room and that was better. I would most DEFINATELY stay here again and have actually tried to find things to do in the area so that I had a reason to! Haha Thank you to the staff and other guests for allowing us a moment of reprieve in our stressful life! It was very appreciated!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherieh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I just stayed for a business trip. Nice hotel for the money. Outdoor pool was nice, room was clean and comfortable. Courteous staff and a Bennigans right next store. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Detroit-Canton
3.2 mi away
Inn at St. John's
Inn at St. John's
#3 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canton
Comfort Suites Canton
#3 of 10 in Canton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plymouth - Ann Arbor Area
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Plymouth

Property: Comfort Inn Plymouth
Address: 40455 Ann Arbor Rd E, Plymouth, MI 48170-4576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Plymouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing