We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay- especially for a wedding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at St. John's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at St. John's
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay- especially for a wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

We were here recently for a wedding- what a great compound with everything so close. Wedding was wonderful, hotel rooms reasonable and very clean. Definitely would recommend!

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovestotravelalot79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    52
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
46
47
11
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

I stayed at the Inn at St. John's for three nights to attend a close friend's wedding. The ceremony was in the adjacent chapel (which is really beautiful) and the reception was on-site as well.

The room was pretty much a standard hotel room. It was slightly on the small side, but the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The window even opens a little bit, so there's a chance for some fresh air.

The bathroom featured a spacious shower stall, but no tub, and there was a single sink. Given that the place is a wedding factory and that couples are likely to be getting dressed at the same time, a double sink would have been nice. I didn't miss it the tub but it might have been a problem if traveling with small children.

Also, the bathroom lighting is all compact flourescent, and could be too dim for someone fussing with makeup. (Another wedding-guest thing.)

The hotel is on the grounds of a former Catholic seminary, hence the chapel, and is surrounded by a 27 hole golf course. There's ample parking for golf, hotel guests and wedding guests.

The onsite restaurant is OK and moderatley priced by hotel standards, which makes it expensive by local standards.

If I had business in the area, I could see staying there during the week, but given the heavy wedding traffic, I don't think I'd choose it for a weekend getaway.

  • Liked — Convenience to wedding, free wi-fi
  • Disliked — Dim bathroom lighting, wedding crowds
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RoamingSeattleite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2008

The Inn at St. Johns is an excellent place to stay for those expecting a top notch room with great amennities. The rooms are furnished with top notch furniture and the on site bar / grill / pub is also a great place to unwind. We were there for an on site wedding reception and the service there was great also. I will be back..............Matt.

  • Liked — the room, decor, the classiness.
  • Disliked — parking.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattyinLansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2008

I recently stayed at the Inn at St. Johns on a week night for a seminar. The hotel and grounds have a lot of character, lots of old wood work and architecture. The room itself was very nice. I had a king size bed, HD flat screen TV, and refrigerator. The staff were all very friendly. Check in and check out was a breeze. Also, I ordered room service and it was quite good, but a little on the pricey side. Overall, my stay was short, but everything was very nice. Definitely check out the chapel there if you have a chance.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MBayCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arobor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2008

We were recently at a dance at the Inn at St John's. My girlfriend had one drink and was refused service when she went for a second drink an hour later. We have never been more insulted in our lives. I would not recommend holding an event at this location.

  • Disliked — The rude staff
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2007

We stayed at The Inn for a family wedding recently. What a disappointment. While the room was nice it was very poorly lit. A 23 minute kids show was $2.95. I was told by the front desk staff that it's primarily a business hotel - which didn't make sense since they host many weddings -they had no free kids tv channels. The food at the wedding was pretty bad - my family agreed. We encountered rude staff. The grounds are beautiful but the inside is like a maze. For what they charge for rooms and weddings I sure don't see what the hype is all about. I feel bad for the people who pay the astronomical prices for the weddings only to end up with bad food and guests who talk about it.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — Family unfriendliness; food at wedding
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeMiKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2007

My husband and I stayed there last night for a spontaneous getaway. We only live about 25 minutes away but I had never heard of this hotel until I looked online. We had the executive suite which was lovely. The bathroom was not large but very nicely appointed. There was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room-perfect for the bottle of wine that I brought. The hotel felt very clean and was very well decorated. We had dinner at 5ive, which was fine. For the price, I would have preferred excellent. The waitress was mediocre. We also had breakfast there since the hotel included breakfast with our room. It was a perfectly fine buffet with an omelette station. I highly recommend this property. It was reasonably priced for a perfect getaway.

  • Liked — the room was beautiful
  • Disliked — the restaurant service was not adequate for the price
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank julpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
22.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
21.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Townsend Hotel
The Townsend Hotel
#1 of 2 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#1 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at St. John's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John's

Property: Inn at St. John's
Address: 44045 Five Mile Road, Plymouth, MI 48170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at St. John's 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at St. John's Plymouth, MI has been etched in Southeast Michigan history and tradition for more than half a century. Located in the upscale Metro Detroit suburb of Plymouth, MI. This breathtaking landmark is the premier location for luxury hotel accommodations, gourmet restaurant dining, corporate meetings & events, weddings, receptions, executive meetings, charity galas, special events and golf outings. The Inn at St. John's is Metro Detroit's fourth largest hotel with conference center and golf course in terms of total meeting space. The Inn at St. John's Plymouth, MI location is within 30 miles of Ann Arbor, Novi, Livonia, Detroit, Royal Oak, West Bloomfield, and Farmington Hills. Luxury, service and comfort are our timeless tradition. AAA Four Diamond Detroit, MI area luxury full service hotel Classic Romanesque architecture, marble floors, handcrafted woodwork and majestic stonework -118 tastefully appointed and elegant guest rooms -Breathtaking gardens and grounds -Challenging 27-hole golf course -Beautiful ballrooms and conference rooms -5ive Restaurant - chic ambiance, imaginative menu, local brews, award---winning wine list and al fresco dining in season 20 minutes north of Detroit Metropolitan Airport, 30 minutes from downtown Detroit, and 15 minutes from Ann Arbor, Livonia and Novi The Inn at St. John's Plymouth, MI invites you to enjoy a truly unique and intimate luxury hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at St. John's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John`s Hotel Plymouth
Hotel At St Johns
At St Johns Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing