We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressive, first class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at St. John's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at St. John's
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very impressive, first class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I attended a three day conference at the Inn and everything was perfect. The bed was perfect, the bathroom had everything you would need (hairdryer, coffee maker, plush towels, even a phone). The high ceilings were impressive, the fridge and microphone were well located, it had the biggest TV I've seen in a room. Two tables were available for working and/or reading or relaxing. A rack to put the luggage on was in the closet with a feature I love - the light comes on as soon as you open the door. I made good use of the iron and ironing board.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The gardens are worth taking 30 minutes to wander through to enjoy God's creation. All the food served as part of the conference was top notch as were the continental breakfast and snacks.

You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTympani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmjroj, Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Tympani,

What a wonderful way to start off our week. Your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at St. John's could not have been nicer or more welcome. On behalf of the staff I want to thank you so much for taking time to share your thoughts. I also want to thank you for your business.

I will be sure to share your review with our staff. I know it will put a big smile on their faces as it did mine!

We cannot wait for your return visit....which, I hope, will be soon.

Best regards,
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    53
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
47
11
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
oceanport nj, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely room with king size bed and good amenities. The attraction here is the property---golf course, chapel, meeting rooms, gardens are all just lovely. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Not sure what to say about the pool area---it is unique, but lacks functionality. Nice place to stay near Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmjroj, Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Susan N.,

On behalf of the staff at The Inn at St. John's I would like to sincerely thank you for your kind comments. "Unique" is a perfect why to describe this AAA Four-Diamond property. The design is unlike any hotel, conference center and golf course property in the Mid-West.

We are also appreciative of your lovely comments concerning the friendliness of the staff. We are proud of their efforts to provide exceptional guest service and thankful that it does not go unnoticed.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Was in town for a wine show inside this beautiful facility. Very well kept. Modern amenities blended well with a historical look and feel. Very clean. Comfortable beds. Very friendly staff. Would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jermaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmjroj, Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Jermaine S.

Thank you so much for penning this wonderful review. Having met you in person during your stay, I know you know how important this is to our staff to receive such feedback and how much it is appreciated.

The wine show in our wonderful restaurant, 5ive, was a huge success by all measures. We enjoy hosting these types of events on a regular basis and will continue to do so. Friend us on our Facebook page so you may keep up with our future events and promotions.

We also are grateful for your kind comments concerning your stay. We truly hope you will return in the near future.

Best regards,
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place is awesome.. We stayed for our 7 year anniversary in the Executive Suite and it was beautiful…. The location is simply marvelous, chapel, restaurant, and beautiful grounds. The staff was so friendly and helpful they really made us feel at home. Not to mention the bed was so comfortable that we had a good night sleep. This is the best place for romance and R & R.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmjroj, Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Angela S.

Congratulations on celebrating your 7th anniversary! We are so glad that we could be a part of that wonderful occasion. It is such a pleasure to host lovely guests like your husband and you for special events.

While I hope you don't wait for your 8th anniversary to return, I do hope that you will make it a habit to stay with us on all your coming anniversaries.

Thanks so much for the kind words.

Best regards,
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for our nephews wedding and it is beautiful. We had a king room and it was comfortable and clean. We checked in after midnight and the front desk gentleman was very stoic and could of been a little more friendly. Our room was made up early each day which was appreciated. The venue for a wedding was spectacular and the grounds are beautiful. Had breakfast in the restaurant and it was delicious. Had a quick snack and a few drinks between the wedding and reception and they were very good. The only disappointing thing was we were told the lounge would be open until 1:00 am and we all planned for a nightcap, but sadly they were closed.

Many of our family members stayed here for the wedding and a good time was had by all and no one had any complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmjroj, Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Debra K.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The Inn at St. John's. The staff and I are so happy that you had a "great stay".

I have shared your comments with our Director of Rooms as well as our Food & Beverage Director so that we can continue our efforts to improve our services.

I truly hope to see you as our guest in the near future.

Best regards,
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I booked a single night for our anniversary and had a very nice stay. Our king room was very comfortable and the hotel itself was lovely. At first I was a bit concerned that our room was the first after the elevator, but there was never a noise issue and I later realized there is a gap between the first room and the elevator shaft. If I had to be really critical of the room, I'd say the third floor didn't have a great view as we largely saw the roof of the rest of the hotel. That's it. The room was just that nice.

We had ordered the "romance package", but there was a snafu and nothing had been done to set the room up. The gentleman who showed up to deliver our champagne appeared mortified that the mistake had happened. The front desk manager went above and beyond to make things right for us, turning a potentially sour experience into a delight of customer service.

The package also included a buffet breakfast, but the restaurant wasn't running the buffet that Sunday morning. That wasn't a problem, though, as they allowed us to simply order from the menu. I can't imagine the buffet would have been any better than what we received.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmbibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmjroj, Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear cmbibbs,

First things first.....I would like to wish you a belated Happy Anniversary!

Second, thank you so much for your detailed review of The Inn at St. John's. I view it with mixed emotions! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you think so highly of The Inn. I am encouraged that your concerns were handled quickly, efficiently and to your satisfaction.

However, I am sorry that things did not go perfectly on this very special occasion. You are obviously a gracious person with a forgiving nature! For that, I am grateful!

I hope to see you on or before your next anniversary! Thanks again for the review...I promise we will do better the next time!

Sincerest regards,
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I am a native Detroit girl and come often to visit family and friends. If The Inn at St John's is booked, I change my dates. Gorgeous grounds, top-notch staff, impeccably clean rooms, great beds and linens...quiet, but one minute from the freeway. Golf, nice bar and restaurant. Hard to believe all this for $149 per night! I won't stay anyplace else when I come home, but I admit, I'm a hotel snob, prima donna, diva!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmjroj, Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Christine S.,

What can I say but thank you so much for your wonderfully kind review of The Inn at St. John's. My staff and I are honored to cater to "hotel snobs, prima donnas and divas"!!! LOL

Seriously, we are truly pleased that you enjoy your visits with us in this wonderful area and we will continue to do what we can to make your trips home special.

Warmest regards,
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#1 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
14.4 mi away
The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at St. John's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John's

Property: Inn at St. John's
Address: 44045 Five Mile Road, Plymouth, MI 48170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at St. John's 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at St. John's Plymouth, MI has been etched in Southeast Michigan history and tradition for more than half a century. Located in the upscale Metro Detroit suburb of Plymouth, MI. This breathtaking landmark is the premier location for luxury hotel accommodations, gourmet restaurant dining, corporate meetings & events, weddings, receptions, executive meetings, charity galas, special events and golf outings. The Inn at St. John's is Metro Detroit's fourth largest hotel with conference center and golf course in terms of total meeting space. The Inn at St. John's Plymouth, MI location is within 30 miles of Ann Arbor, Novi, Livonia, Detroit, Royal Oak, West Bloomfield, and Farmington Hills. Luxury, service and comfort are our timeless tradition. AAA Four Diamond Detroit, MI area luxury full service hotel Classic Romanesque architecture, marble floors, handcrafted woodwork and majestic stonework -118 tastefully appointed and elegant guest rooms -Breathtaking gardens and grounds -Challenging 27-hole golf course -Beautiful ballrooms and conference rooms -5ive Restaurant - chic ambiance, imaginative menu, local brews, award---winning wine list and al fresco dining in season 20 minutes north of Detroit Metropolitan Airport, 30 minutes from downtown Detroit, and 15 minutes from Ann Arbor, Livonia and Novi The Inn at St. John's Plymouth, MI invites you to enjoy a truly unique and intimate luxury hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at St. John's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John`s Hotel Plymouth
Hotel At St Johns
At St Johns Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing