We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at St. John's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at St. John's
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a very luxurious property with an old world setting. Quiet, peaceful and serene. Rooms are comfortable and very nicely appointed which would be expected of an upscale property. Staff was gracious and helpful. Grounds are beautiful. Higly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tym2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmjroj, Assistant General Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear tym2fly,

It's really kind comments like yours that make working in the hospitality industry so rewarding. You didn't have to take the time to write the review but did so anyway. I can't tell you how appreciative my staff and I are for your having done so.

We take our designation as a AAA Four Diamond Property seriously. The property is so beautiful that it sells itself. It is up to us to compliment it with exceptional service. I am so glad you enjoy staying here and look forward to hosting you once again.

Sincerely,
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    53
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
47
11
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We recently attended a wedding at St. Johns and loved the experience. Beautiful grounds and exceptional chapel and atrium. This was one of the loveliest weddings we have been to. Staff were very friendly and rooms were spacious. We ate in the restaurant which was also very good as was the catering for the wedding. Lovely Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayak41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmjroj, Assistant General Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Kayak41952,

Thank you so much for taking the time to author such a nice review of your visit to The Inn at St. John's. I have a tough time hiding my enthusiasm for this beautiful venue...I am glad you do as well! LOL

As I have stated quite often on these pages, we are honored to have been entrusted with hosting weddings such as the one you attended. We would hope that everyone walks away from such events with a positive impression. It's extremely important to us that everything is as close to perfect as it can be so our guests enjoy themselves.

Your kind words are appreciated...I will share them with the staff!!! I hope you will consider a return visit in the near future.

Best wishes,
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Unfortunately, we were on the second floor during our short stay here. We were directly over the restaurant and around 2 a.m. tables and chairs were being moved around and prepared for the next mornings breakfast. Things were dropped so we continued to hear the crashing sounds for a good hour. Complaints to the front desk re: this noise as well as the noise coming from a party down the hall were useless. Noise continued til almost 4 a.m. We were thankful to have our stay refunded to us. The facility is beautiful and the rooms were comfortable.

Room Tip: Be sure you are not located near a "group reservation" or the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneSmith45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmjroj, Assistant General Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear JaneSmith45,

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at St. John's. I am TRULY sorry that your experience was disappointing. We continue to strive to provide the best hospitality experience available. Doing so includes learning from our mistakes. I promise that we will focus on addressing these concerns immediately. Once again, thank you so much for providing feedback that will assist us in our continuous improvement process.

Sincerely,
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
350 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We attended a wedding held at the beautiful Catholic chapel and stayed at the Inn. They had fluffy white snow as if on que. The Inn was quiet and comfortable and decorated nicely for Christmas. The food was delicious in the restaurant and all the staff were sweet. Dont plan on shopping for knick knacks in the gift shop. It would have been nice to have seen a Christmas Nativity Creche somewhere in the lobely.

Room Tip: If its really cold out and you are from Florida, ask for a room where the heat works really well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfarmer668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmjroj, Assistant General Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear gfarmer668,

Thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent visit to The Inn at St. John's. We are so happy that you enjoyed the wedding and your hotel stay. We purposely made it snow just for you!!!! And, I love your comments about Floridians staying warm up here. That is sage advise indeed!

Thanks also for your holiday decorating suggestions. We are always looking for ideas to add to the beauty and historical feel of this fantastic, AAA Four Diamond property.

We look forward to your return visit some day!

Happy New Year!
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Inn at St. John's is a wonderful place to stay. We visited for a wedding that was held at the hotel. This used to be a monastery and was remodeled as a hotel, but they still have a Catholic chapel where they hold weddings and Sunday Mass. It is a beautiful chapel and a welcoming church community (I attended Sunday Mass there and was charmed).

The bed was comfortable and the pillows great. They provide several different pillows so you can pick the one you like. We had a suite, which was great for our daughter to sleep on the pull-out bed and have her own TV, while we had a door to our bedroom and our own TV as well. The shower is huge.

The pool was cold and I didn't go in, but our 8 year old loved it. It's basically a small lazy river, with a bubble bench and a waterfall. They also have a hot tub and that was warm. It's situated so you can sit in the hot tub and still see your kids in the pool.

The staff is wonderful and very helpful. We had no problems while we were there. They have in-room safes and the suites also have mini-fridges and microwaves.

The restaurant, 5ive, had a great selection for breakfast. We didn't go for lunch or dinner. The service was fantastic and the prices reasonable. The food was delicious.

There is a grocery store and several restaurants very close by, including a CVS pharmacy.

I don't know if we'll be back to that part of Michigan for any reason, but if we were to go back, we would stay here again. The price was very reasonable for what you get.

Room Tip: I doubt there's a bad room. No major thoroughfares nearby and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alegriafury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmjroj, Assistant General Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear alegriafury,

I cannot tell you how grateful we are that you took the time to post your thoughts on your recent stay at The Inn at St. John's. Your gracious remarks are appreciated. You can be sure that we will be sharing them with our staff.

We were honored to have had have you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Happy New Year!
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, MI
Level Contributor
158 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Inn at St. Johns is a great location with quiet rooms and excellent facilities! The restaurant and bar are relaxing and have wonderful choices after a long day. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sking81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmjroj, Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear sking81,

How nice of you to take the time to pen this nice review. The staff at The Inn at St. John's and 5ive Restaurant couldn't be happier that you enjoy staying with us. We will continue to do our best to make yours and all of our guests visits ones to remember. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding and loved it! The hotel is well taken care of and everything is very nice. The pool is great and the fitness room is pretty good for a hotel gym. There is a refrigerator in the room and the bathroom is very spacious. Great shower, great bed, no complaints!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwrichtetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmjroj, Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear jwrichte,

Thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent stay at The Inn at St. John's. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay during the wedding event you attended. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Gratefully,
Jim Fowler
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#1 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
14.4 mi away
The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at St. John's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John's

Property: Inn at St. John's
Address: 44045 Five Mile Road, Plymouth, MI 48170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at St. John's 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at St. John's Plymouth, MI has been etched in Southeast Michigan history and tradition for more than half a century. Located in the upscale Metro Detroit suburb of Plymouth, MI. This breathtaking landmark is the premier location for luxury hotel accommodations, gourmet restaurant dining, corporate meetings & events, weddings, receptions, executive meetings, charity galas, special events and golf outings. The Inn at St. John's is Metro Detroit's fourth largest hotel with conference center and golf course in terms of total meeting space. The Inn at St. John's Plymouth, MI location is within 30 miles of Ann Arbor, Novi, Livonia, Detroit, Royal Oak, West Bloomfield, and Farmington Hills. Luxury, service and comfort are our timeless tradition. AAA Four Diamond Detroit, MI area luxury full service hotel Classic Romanesque architecture, marble floors, handcrafted woodwork and majestic stonework -118 tastefully appointed and elegant guest rooms -Breathtaking gardens and grounds -Challenging 27-hole golf course -Beautiful ballrooms and conference rooms -5ive Restaurant - chic ambiance, imaginative menu, local brews, award---winning wine list and al fresco dining in season 20 minutes north of Detroit Metropolitan Airport, 30 minutes from downtown Detroit, and 15 minutes from Ann Arbor, Livonia and Novi The Inn at St. John's Plymouth, MI invites you to enjoy a truly unique and intimate luxury hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at St. John's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John`s Hotel Plymouth
Hotel At St Johns
At St Johns Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing