We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway.”
Review of Inn at St. John's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at St. John's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The Inn is owned by the Archdiocese of Detroit, and still bears many of the characteristics from its time as a suburban Detroit retreat for clergy it was built as back in the 40s. The grounds and golf course are delightful, the restaurant was quite good and the staff generally friendly and attentive. We ate in the main restaurant, lounged in the bar and had an excellent lunch at the golf course restaurant. As we were there for a wedding, we enjoyed the banquet facilities (the Atrium room was very nice) and the nicely appointed guest rooms. Although we were there late summer, I'm sure the Inn is lovely in the fall, and would make a nice weekend headquarters for either a trip to Detroit, or a football weekend in Ann Arbor. Both are quite close. The town of Plymouth has many shopping and dining opportunities and worth an afternoon or evening of discovery. In short, although we were there for a wedding, we didn't experience any of the negative aspects of some of the earlier reviews, and would certainly concur that the dining experience at Five was better than to be expected from a hotel restaurant. We will likely go back next fall, bring our golf clubs and enjoy more of the Inn and Plymouth.

Room Tip: If you're worried about noise, ask for a room at the end of the hallway, away from the stairs an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 238 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

made my reservation 14 months prior to event...forgot i booked two rooms...no mention of it at check in..but they billed me for two on my credit card...when i called they wouldn't work with me on the rate at all...sofa couch in our room was a joke...had i known i had two rooms we would of used it, rather than sleep on that piece of crap....i guess they need the money as they probably do not get many repeat customers...know i won't ever go back there

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1retired09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

You could stay some place just as nice or nicer for a better price and a complimentary breakfast. Here breakfast is $16.00 per person. The gardens and the chapel will take your breath away...stunning! Beautiful, modern, very clean rooms; great shower. Very poor lighting and very, very small rooms. Loved the history of the building and grounds. Hated the fact it was a wedding factory and we heard insane drunken laughter and yelling all night (until 4:00 am). I would never stay on a weekend again, but maybe on a weekday night.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoppyGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The Inn is set on beautiful grounds and is a very nice Hotel. The rooms are a good size with nice furnishings . The Deluxe King has a mini-frig which came in handy.
We ate breakfast at the Inns restaurant Five and it was not only an excellent meal but an outstanding value. Some of our family purchased the package with continental breakfast and while it was sufficient our made to order omelet and French toast were fantastic and again unbelievably reasonable for an Inn. Our waiter John was outstanding. The staff was on every encounter excellent.
We had only one issue with our stay and that was the lighting in the rooms. We were there for a wedding which required getting dressed semi-formal and there was by far the worst lighting I have ever seen in a bathroom. Husband had trouble shaving and I had to put the stand Mirror provided on top of the tissue holder to use looking down into it and still could not see anything. This is an easy fix and while may seem small was quite a pain trying to get ready with insufficient lighting and a 18' stand pedestal mirror as your only option for makeup application or shaving.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MKS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

My wife along with our two children, 71/2 and 2, stayed at the Inn at St John's in December of 2010 for their Christmas event. What a great time! They open the ballroom, move all the tables and chairs and set out overstuffed pillows for the kids to watch Christmas classic's on a large projection screen. They have a candy bar for the kids along with small bags to allow the little ones to fill them up with their favorite sweet treat. AND, they did not forget the adults. Off to the side was a full bar with wine, beer and liquor. Though the candy and movie were part of the package price, you had to pay for the drinks. I will say that the adult beverages were not cheap, but we did not expect they would be and each had one drink.

Upon returning to our room for the night, we "discovered" that Santa had made a quick visit, leaving cookies and milk for us along with a note on how he couldn't wait to see us the next morning.

The following morning was a great breakfast buffet in the same large ballroom for all of us, along with a surprise visit by Santa. After breakfast all the children were allowed to sit with, and get photo's with, Santa. Each child was also offered a free book signed by Mr Kringle himself.

The rooms were very nice and the four of us slept just fine. They were clean and well kept. We used the pullout bed from the couch and that also was in fine order with no issues.

I can't say enough about the lengths this hotel went to make this such a wonderful event for the kids. We will certainly go back and will probably bring some of our friends as well.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilligaf462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnatStJohns, Manager at Inn at St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2011

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed Breakfast with Santa. Each year we try to keep in fun and have new surprises. We will begin planning this year’s event and your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This hotel, by far, is the best in the Plymouth area. I enjoy staying at this hotel. It is quiet, has a great atmoshere, very good workout facility.

The restaurant serves very good food though the pricing of the wines is a bit high. I'd recommend this hotel over one of the many chain hotel options. It's a great little escape during the work week or on the weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonMais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Stayed here in October 2010 for two nights while attending a conference at the property.
This hotel is a former church property and so some of the older parts reflect this, as an active chapel is still in use. Parking was plentiful and free.

Exceptionally clean, room was fantastic. Large bathroom with large shower.
Room furniture was new and room very well-maintained. Style of room was great and very comfortable. My room had a sitting room in front with full-size couch and work area.

Only complaint was my third-floor room overlooked a ground-level courtyard that was outside the hotel bar. A one-man band was playing so loud outside on this courtyard that I went downstairs to have a drink at 10:00 to "wait him out". Bartender did come out and tell him to turn it down. He finally quit playing at 11:00. Hotel might want to rethink this and move him inside.

This is now a conference center and golf resort. The grounds were beautiful and well-kept. The conference room was comfortable and lent itself well to this task.

A pharmacy is across the street and a grocery store is around the corner. Outside restaurants require a drive.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMan3909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#1 of 5 in Plymouth
339 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Plymouth - Ann Arbor Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
17.9 mi away
Weber's Boutique Hotel
Weber's Boutique Hotel
#13 of 35 in Ann Arbor
409 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at St. John's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John's

Address: 44045 Five Mile Rd, Plymouth, MI 48170-2555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: $230 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at St. John's 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at St. John's Plymouth, MI has been etched in Southeast Michigan history and tradition for more than half a century. Located in the upscale Metro Detroit suburb of Plymouth, MI. This breathtaking landmark is the premier location for luxury hotel accommodations, gourmet restaurant dining, corporate meetings & events, weddings, receptions, executive meetings, charity galas, special events and golf outings. The Inn at St. John's is Metro Detroit's fourth largest hotel with conference center and golf course in terms of total meeting space. The Inn at St. John's Plymouth, MI location is within 30 miles of Ann Arbor, Novi, Livonia, Detroit, Royal Oak, West Bloomfield, and Farmington Hills. Luxury, service and comfort are our timeless tradition. AAA Four Diamond Detroit, MI area luxury full service hotel Classic Romanesque architecture, marble floors, handcrafted woodwork and majestic stonework -118 tastefully appointed and elegant guest rooms -Breathtaking gardens and grounds -Challenging 27-hole golf course -Beautiful ballrooms and conference rooms -5ive Restaurant - chic ambiance, imaginative menu, local brews, award---winning wine list and al fresco dining in season 20 minutes north of Detroit Metropolitan Airport, 30 minutes from downtown Detroit, and 15 minutes from Ann Arbor, Livonia and Novi The Inn at St. John's Plymouth, MI invites you to enjoy a truly unique and intimate luxury hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at St. John's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John`s Hotel Plymouth
Hotel At St Johns
At St Johns Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing