We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Place for Wine and Pizza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizza E Vino

Pizza E Vino
Ranked #5 of 146 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, Mi.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Good Place for Wine and Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

As another review said, this is not your typical pizza place. If you're looking for a Jet's or a Pizza Hut pizza, this is not the place for you. In my opinion these are more of the gourmet type wood fired pizzas. I have eaten here more than a few times. Not a great place to take kids. More along the line of a nice place to take a date or a bite with friends. The only draw back is people sit there to finish their wine. Once the place gets packed, you might be waiting awhile. If this is what you're looking for, it's definitely worth the wait. Once your order goes in, your pizza follows in "short order", no pun intended. They used to make their own wines there which I preferred, but apparently they can no longer do that legally. They have quite an assortment of wines. We chose a bottle of Malbec to go along with the Sorrento we had for dinner. A nice combination to sit outside and enjoy while people watching.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank realdiehl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    29
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not your typical pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We met some friends here, and found that Cellar 849 has a great balance of casual and "nice." The pizza was fantastic - authentic, hand-made, and fresh. The baking method is fast, so the wait is not very long after ordering. The other emphasis on wine creates an atmosphere that is very different from the other nearby restaurant / bars. We saw several families, couples, and groups of friends there and it seemed to be a great place for all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
100 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely place, delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great place for a well prepared wood fired pizza and a glass of wine with friends. The ambience is also perfect for a date. Located right in downtown Plymouth with easy access to parking.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Insanely Good Neapolitan Pizza, Salads, Wine - can't go wrong!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I am a total pizza snob, and this is one of my all-time-favorite pizza places. I have not been to Italy, but Cellar 849/Pizza e Vino was certified by the board that regulates 'real' Naples-style brick oven pizza. These people are not messing around. Staff is helpful and great, especially the bartender/owner. I don't like salad generally (I like pizza!) but their caprese salad over mixed greens won me over. The pizza crust is like nothing I've ever had before -- it is consistently chewy throughout, no super crispy or soggy spots (like you get in most thin-crust pizzas) - really a treat and a must-try!

Portions are supposed to be sized for 1 pizza per person, but I felt very full and satisfied with half of a pizza and some salad. It's quite reasonably priced for the quality and caliber of the food, and good, generous portions you can share if you aren't starving.

The biggest downside is that this restuarant is small and seating is limited - also, they are only open for dinner on Tuesday-Saturday. Worth the trip and extra step of planning (or waiting) though!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I liked this place better when they made their own wine. It wasn't so bad, and the prices were reasonable. They since started serving bottled wine, the prices are too high and I am disappointed in the selection of whites. In any case, the wood fired pizzas are delicious and are worth a trip just for them!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ead_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza E Vino also viewed

 

Been to Pizza E Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing