We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this was a tough one!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pleasant Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hankerd Inn Bed and Breakfast
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“this was a tough one!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The buildings are very lovely decorated and a huge amount of money went into building the entire place, but I have to agree with others...cleanliness was really a problem. Sheets and towels were clean, but stuff from prior occupants still clutter the bathrooms. The entire place was infested with insects, hundreds of them on our porch when it was warm. I had a hard time settling down to sleep after I got rid of a dozen or more in my bedroom. Left the bathroom light on to draw them into the bathroom. Some type of non stinging black elder bugs?? Food was okay, but not anything that would draw me back for a second stay. It's a shame, because it could be an awesome place. Owner seemed happiest when our group was leaving, probably tired of everyone complaining about the bug infestation.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janetsewcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    1
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinckney, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We wanted a place for a get-away weekend for several couples and the Hankerd Inn worked great. Six rooms in the Inn worked well for couples. A large group of scrapbookers, quilters were in the Barn and Green (Tuscany) house. Jan and Joe were very friendly. Great space for common gatherings. Food was ok, not "gourmet", but adequate. It's a good place for a laid back, relaxing time for a group.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetreatCouples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Found this to be a very welcoming place to spend time with my group of friends. We had a great time catching up and scrapbooking. This place is very homey and lovely. The food is good, and the new demo kitchen is wonderful.
Can't wait to go back. Jan is very accomodating, and yes she does need some help, but she tries very hard to please those with dietary needs and special circumstances.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Our 50th high school class reunion was recently held at the Hankerd Inn to near universal applause. The Inn itself and the innkeeper, Jan, were central to a most memorable weekend.

The rooms are comfortable, each boasting its own bath, a queen-sized bed, cable TV and many with kitchen facilities. Community rooms and areas abound making it possible for groups as small as a foursome or as large as 30-40 to gather and chat in a homelike (versus institutional) environment.

Jan went out of her way to accommodate almost any request. Decorations? "Put em wherever you want." Room configuration? ".....any way you like." Needed a tablecloth or a hammer? "No problem". Beyond the outstanding breakfasts that were a part of the inn package, we arranged for a group dinner on Saturday evening (at a reasonable extra cost) that was elegant.....in a country way....and outstanding. Everything was done on time and as promised.

One minor negative observation: housekeeping could be improved. No, it wasn't dirty or bug-ridden, and the sheets and linens were clean. But if you're a white-gloved critic of places to stay you might find that the drawers, refrigerator tops and crannies would benefit from a squad of cleaners every so often.

If you have ties to the Jackson area it's a great place to hold a family reunion. If you're an affinity group (like the quilters and scrapbookers who regularly lodge there) I think you'll be most pleased. Overall, the Inn rates an "A" with me, especially in the context of a group gathering.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

My friend and I were having a girlfriends weekend, attending a convention in the area. We were on the road and decided we wanted to try and find a local B&B. We love B&Bs and have stayed at them all over - we are use to the B&B culture and love to support small businesses. This location was closest to where we were so it was our top choice.

We called: we were amazed at how cold, unprofessional, and rude the -2- phone calls we made were.

First call she was out shopping during. I understand that is an odd time, but hey I am patient. Instead of politely asking me to call back later, she literally tells me to go somewhere else in a rather snarky tone. Trying to be polite I offer to just wait and call back later, that we would really like to stay at a B&B.

Second call..we catch her at home. She is on the front porch, and knew we were going to call back. She tells me she is on the front porch and that she really doesnt want to be bothered to go in and check what she has to tonigth. Then she starts to demand as to when we will be arriving there. Well, we still had our event and conference to attend, it would not be over until around 11pm....this was utterly unacceptable to her. We had to arrive when it was good for her, and that she'd never heard of guests arriving so late. Well, we are seasoned B&B travelers, tons of other places are more then happy to let us come in late and then greet us in the morning. It's standard and what we are use to - certainly when dealing with the likes of convention travel because we typically get out late.

We dediced not to stay. The phone conversations were cold, unprofessional, and frankly the owner didnt want us there. All we wanted was a single room for us to relax in, and to come in around later in the evening. Something we have gotten elsewhere plenty of times without the coldness, unprofessionalism, snarkiness, or the attitude.

Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OhioTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The bathrooms were disgustingly dirty (mildew in the shower, old loofahs on the floor, spots all over the mirror & sink). Beds were not made, dirty towels not picked up and trash not removed the entire weekend. Old ragged towels were provided. The decor is eclectic and full of cobwebs and dust. The owner seemed like a very nice person but she lacks insight in that she cannot clean, maintain & make food for the entire inn by herself and partner. The food was average but not what I would expect from a B & B. She desperately needs assistace for deep cleaning, meal prep and organization /de-cluttering of the entire place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michigancraftergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Just spent my first quilt retreat at the Hankerd Inn. Work are is wonderful, rooms (man) aweesomely decorated, grounds lovely, and getting better. Jan (innkeeper) so friendly and accommodating, unbelievable talented and a really good cook. Can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neeneejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasant Lake
9.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Jackson
105 reviews
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jackson
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson
9.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jackson
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Jackson
Hampton Inn Jackson
#1 of 10 in Jackson
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hankerd Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hankerd Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hankerd Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10350 Hankerd Rd, Pleasant Lake, MI 49272-9611
Location: United States > Michigan > Pleasant Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Lake
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hankerd Inn b&b
Hankerd Hotel Pleasant Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing