We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, always busy, maybe even a bit cramped.”
Review of La Vita Bistro

La Vita Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
La Vita Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Pinckney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: You will love all the house made favorites including Lasagna, Spaghetti and Meatballs, Scampi, Smoked Mozzarella... Just to name a few. Dinner entrees include soup or a salad. Chef Eirik creates dishes sure to please even the most discriminating of palates. Many of the ingredients he uses are items grown by local farmers. The ambiance at La Vita Bistro is one of comfort and class. You will feel like you are treating yourself to someplace special, but without the high cost of the city. Come as you are, have a family meal or celebrate a special event. The seating area has expanded into the adjoining building and offers a different, more open and casual ambience, while the patio area with its large fire-pit overlooking the park is comfortable and inviting and is open weather permitting. The original dining room boasts large, cozy tall booths for a more elegant and intimate feeling. Wines are available for purchase and carryout also.
Pinckney, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, always busy, maybe even a bit cramped.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good food, always busy, maybe even a bit cramped. We keep hoping that they will expand into the building next door. A little expensive for a small town restaurant, but worth it to avoid the drive to Ann Arbor or Brighton. My wife and I have eaten here several times and the food has been good each time. Bartender knows how to make a drink too. Only complaint is just that it is so small. The outdoor seating is on the street, but its across from the city park. It's a popular place on Daddy Daughter Dance night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    31
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinckney, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“At last ... a really quality restaurant in Pinckney”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Truly fine food. Wait staff excellent. And it is appreciated because the restaurant is usually crowded at dinner time. They do not take reservations but will estimate waiting time if you phone. Reasonable prices, too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hairyputter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Food and Service was great”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Some other commentor complained about a problem with reservations. Didn't have an issue. They really don't take reservations, just log your name up to an hour in advance.
Place is small and a bit noisy, but a pleasure.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Level Contributor
107 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Everything that we had was really good. The Filet Mignon was one of the best I've had. Everything from the delicious home made bread with a spiced olive oil dip to the scrumptious almond cake was a culinary delight. The server was very helpful in navigating the interesting menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmsflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Could not believe they were so rude and inconsiderate”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have been to La Vita Bistro several times over the past few months, we eat out often and had been enjoying the food and ambiance at the bistro; however, this past Friday evening everything we had come to enjoy fell apart when my wife, sisters and niece visited the bistro and were treated horribly. First of all a reservation had been made for 6 PM; arriving a little early they requested they be seated in a booth, they were told there would be about a twenty minute wait. No big deal, they took a seat at the bar and waited, they observed several other patrons arriving and being seated in booths ahead of them, inquiring about why they were still waiting while others were being seated they were informed that seating was done via computer, I’m assuming they are using a TRS-80 because that computer must be junk. Based on the fact that several of the patrons that had arrived after my wife’s party and been seated ahead of them and they having observed these other patrons buddying up to the owner it’s a bit odd, must have been a computer glitch. In our collective opinion it seems that at La Vita Bistro reservations are taken but not observed and a group of women out for the evening are considered to be secondary to anyone else who comes in to be seated. It’s unfortunate; we had enjoyed most of our previous visits to the bistro, there were a couple of missteps with service and food but we worked through those, but alas we will not be re-visiting the bistro in the future. If you’ve got the time and can get to Brighton we highly recommend Brighton Bar & Grill, you’ll certainly find a wider selection of food and beverages and even if the guy behind you knows someone you’ll still be seated based on your arrival, hope the bistro has enough “buddies” to keep them in business.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vita Bistro also viewed

 

Been to La Vita Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing