We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Fast and Far Away!!!!”
Review of Econo Lodge South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Reviewed July 27, 2010

To say that this hotel is terrible gives my stay here too much credit!! The reservation staff were rude and that should've been my warning. However, the room was worse than anything I've ever seen. The carpet was stained and I was afraid to remove my shoes, the shower had MOLD and peeling paint, the bed was also very hard and I could barely lay down on my side. I finally checked out the next day and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallenlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

I expected this to be a budget motel so I knew better than to expect a lot but was grossed out when I found bugs everywhere, including in my bed. The room was also quite noisy and not too far from or insulated against the noise of the main road. We paid about $130 a night there and I feel we paid WAY too much for a poor night's stay. We ended up moving to another local hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank da_Schin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

The rooms were very nice and clean. We traveled with a large soccer group and the staff was very willing to accomodate our large group. Was in close proximity to all the places we needed to go. Breakfast was also great with a fairly decent selection. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtrescott7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

I was quite hesitant when I booked the room at the Econo Lodge as this is not a brand I usually book with. We were traveling with my daughter and she had her cat so we were limited to where we could stay. Though the hotel is nothing fancy, it provided a very comfortable and clean bed, my main concern. The room had a fridge which was useful, the hotel is located very close to the casino, and in addition was quiet. Also, it is very close to dowtown and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpmkyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We arrived without a reservation on a Saturday evening and were offered a very attractive rate. All the staff were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The facilities and the room were clean and orderly. The complimentary continental breakfast, while certainly nothing fancy (and not expected to be), was fine. The free high speed wireless internet was easy to connect to and worked very well. Overall, this was a good value.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beatlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

This is far from the best hotel I've ever stayed in.. but far from the worst as well. Decor was older, as well as building, but most importantly to me everything was clean.
When I checked into my first room, my key didn't work and I had to go get a replacement. I had a long day of work and settled in around midnight. I changed into some comfy clothes and was ready to chow down some Burger King when the TV fried. It started ringing this high-pitched sound and I had to move the furniture around to unplug it to avoid catching fire. The room then smelled horribly of fried electronics.
I went back to the office where I found out the motel was booked and there was not an extra TV. The young girl did manage to get me into a room that was already booked but had the guests leave because they were not pleased with the condition. In fact, the girl told me the guests threw their keys at her! some people... especially since the room wasn't that bad.
All in all, it was kind of a stressful event for both myself and the poor girl working there, but she did an exceptional job and I did manage get a good night sleep. That was the main objective after all.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukeTakesPictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

I, along with some friends, stayed at this hotel for one night. Although it was a short visit, we were happy with our stay. The rooms were clean and included a mini fridge as well as a safe for personal items. The location of the hotel is very close to the Odawa Casino as well as downtown Petoskey. There was a small, indoor pool and hot tub that looked very refreshing (we didn't have time to use it). The continental breakfast was very nice (waffles; pastries; juice; coffee; cereal; toast; etc). We would stay here again as well as recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delsolseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.4 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
758 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 15 in Petoskey
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
AmericInn Petoskey
AmericInn Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
690 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Petoskey
Days Inn Petoskey
#10 of 15 in Petoskey
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Address: 1859 S US Highway 131, Petoskey, MI 49770-8338
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Price Range: $62 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Petoskey
Petoskey Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing