We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a dive!”
Review of Econo Lodge South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This is a dive!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

$114 for one of the worst hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. It was dirty, falling apart and I really didn't want to have to stay there. The chair in the room was stained and filthy. Pieces were coming off the wall in the bathroom. I can't believe that Choice Hotels allows this and will make me rethink staying in Choice Hotels! Do NOT stay here!

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bonb1545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    13
    9
    67
See reviews for
32
33
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kemp, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I think this place needs a total makeover. Why corporate Choice hotels lets this type of motel be advertised representing them is strange. Old, smelly and while clean sheets, they are old and don't fit!. Don't stay here!! The staff is scary looking but are nice. Usually bunch out in parking lot smoking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petoskey hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We had reservations to stay at Econolodge. When we arrived, there were 2 creepy guys sitting on lawn chairs in front of the lobby. The lobby was super dirty and the guy behind the desk was just as creepy as the guys outside. All of the rooms are outdoor entrances and we did not feel safe staying there especially with a 1 year old. This hotel should not even be allowed to rent rooms to people. Please don't stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dgriswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Needs maintenance! Paid for queen bed, actually a double. Peeling wallpaper, stained comforter, water damage, torn/missing screens. Dirty vending machine with expired product. Spongy floor under shower, rotten? Key cards wouldn't work. Won't go back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I dont know what i read to think this would be an acceptable accomodation. Somewhere there are good reviews - they are not true. This place is depressing, dirty, old, scratched, used up, and did i say dirty. the lady at the front desk was very nice and apologized that the room was dirty and gave us a refund. i would have slept in my car rather than in that room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kitca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend and it was the worst hotel I have ever asked my family to stay at. So many things are broken and run down at this place that I’m surprised that the folks from Choice Hotel will even let them use their name.

No joke, my 5 year old found a half eaten cake in the nightstand. We had to call the manager to come get it out. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketwood, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stay somewhere else is all I will say :( Dirty rooms, Old Bedding, Terrible management. Hot tub was broke. Stained torn peeling carpet. Feels more like a frat house then a motel. Room was short towels and creamer packets were handmade with zip lock baggies. Vending machine food was expired, Ice was dirty, Room was cold.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amaizingmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.4 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
738 reviews
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 15 in Petoskey
83 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Petoskey
Days Inn Petoskey
#10 of 15 in Petoskey
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Property: Econo Lodge South
Address: 1859 S US Highway 131, Petoskey, MI 49770-8338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Petoskey
Petoskey Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing