We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed September 10, 2010

This hotel is in the center of town. Very close to Lake Michigan. The rooms are quaint "historic" rooms, unlike the big plain rooms at chain hotels. It has a great front porch to sit and read on. Town is a quick, easy walk. We rented bikes and rode alongside the lake to a beach and had a picnic lunch. The hotel has a beautiful garden veranda to sit on and have a glass of wine before dinner. The whitefish on a cedar plank was delicious in the hotels "Noggin Room".
The only downside was a old funky faucet in the bathroom which put out scalding hot water, and a heat-a/c unit that was controlled by the hotel and couldn't decide if it should heat or cool. It would click on and off when it came on at about 6 AM.
All in all this is a beautiful place to stay, with a good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havefuntoday14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    150
    42
    23
    15
See reviews for
124
321
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hale, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We have been coming to the Perry Hotel for years, and we are finally getting around to reviewing the property. This hotel never fails to please. I cannot think of a more beautiful property (and I have traveled extensively throughout the US). And it seems that every year they make it a little better. From the Noggin Room in the "basement" for beers, popcorn, entertainment and good food, to the beautiful porch, amazing Veranda and beautiful artwork throughout, Staffords does it right. Their HO Rose Dining room is always excellent, a little pricey, but excellent. Management is worldclass. The location is perfectly situated within walking distance of all of downtown. Try breakfast on the patio. You won't be disappointed. No, they don't have much of a workout facility. Who cares. Take a walk around this amazing town and get your exercise. I hesitated to write such a glowing review of this property because we would like it all to ourselves. It is truly our home away from home. Anybody that doesn't enjoy their stay here is either missing a pulse or does not deserve such a special treat as a night at the Perry. By the way, catch a show with Sean Ryan in the Noggin Room, if you can. And take a 10 minute drive to Petoskey State Park for one of the most beautiful beaches you will ever see.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reggaewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Just returned from staying at the Perry Hotel in Petoskey and cannot remmend it enough. A special thanks to the front desk staff who were so helpful and courteous. Loved the view from our balcony and the historical information and photos in the hotel corridors.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helencatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights on a pleasure trip up north and we were glad to say that the service and hotel is still first class. Yes, this is an OLD hotel and the rooms are small unless you upgrade to the bay view rooms. Even then, they are not huge but are wonderfully decorated with great views of the water. Do not stay here unless you are prepared to upgrade.....you will not be happy unless your expectations are a lot lower than mine.

The location is the best, along with the food and service. This is a Grand Ole Girl.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annika326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata, west bengal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

petoskey is very beautiful, quiet, and classy. the shops carry quality stuff, the food is an experience that lingers for a long time. the people are all polite, relaxed and very very helpful.

overlooking the lake, this property fits the mood of the place. we loved our one night stay at the property and would love to return to this hotel "fate permitting". :). reservations and payments were made by my friend karl richard hansen and I can not thank him enough for the fantastic experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amangopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We just returned from a long weekend in Petoskey Michigan, where we stayed at the Perry Hotel. We attended a wedding at the Hotel, and eveything was top shelf, very nicely done dinner, bar etc.. The reception was held outdoors in the rose garden overlooking lake Michigan, and couldn't have been more beautiful, the weather was a tad chilly, but there were tents. We booked this Hotel a year ago, as soon as we found out the date of the wedding, our reservation never changed. When we got to our room I was surprised to see that as lovely as the rest of the Hotel is, our room was way below our expectations. The only thing that was slightly upscale was the bathroom. The beds were 2 double size beds that looked like they had been there for 20 years, with fabric headboards upholstered in a Waverly floral pattern that was in style 20 years ago. I was extremely disappointed especially after I saw one of my friend's room that was much nicer. Several other friend's rooms were not that great either. I know that the hotel is an "Old Lady" but the linens, carpeting, window treatments etc... could have been changed to something a little more upscale. On the other hand, everyone was super friendly, the food in the Rose Room was absolutely fabulous, and I didn't think the price that we paid was bad considering you got breakfast vouchers. Hopefully some of the rooms will get a face lift and it truly will be the loveliest of old girls.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincygirl3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Once again, it was a real pleasure to return to the Stafford's Perry Hotel in Petoskey with the Seniors on my motorcoach tour in June. The Perry is my hotel of choice whenever I do a tour to Northern Michigan, several times to Mackinac Island in the past, but this time to the Petoskey/Charlevoix area only. The historic Perry Hotel is beautiful and well maintained. All the rooms are charming and each is unique; the location on the bay is very scenic, the million dollar sunsets are spectacular; the food is exceptional, and the service at this hotel is absolutely impeccable. My group of Senior Citizens and I spent three wonderful nights at The Perry, enjoyed a delightful dinner here as well as the Bay View Inn and the Weathervane, other Staffords' properties. The rooms were ready on time, the bell staff did a great job hustling our luggage to our rooms, the dinner was exceptional, and again, the overall service at this property is impeccable. Why on earth would anyone visit Petoskey and NOT stay here??

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytourop81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
1.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
435 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
723 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
182 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford's Perry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford's Perry Hotel

Property: Stafford's Perry Hotel
Address: 100 Lewis St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stafford's Perry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petoskey's only downtown lodging establishment is a charming, full service, boutique hotel that has been welcoming travelers since 1899. 75 individually designed guestrooms and suits, many of which are newly remodeled with individual climate controls, tiled showers and in room refrigerators. Larger suites and ADA accommodations are additional new offerings. Overnight stays at the Perry Hotel include vouchers for a full service cooked to order breakfast in the H.O. Rose Dining Room overlooking Little Traverse Bay or seasonal dining outside on the Lewis Street Porch. Evening activities include craft cocktails, local brews and pub fare in the Noggin Room pub. Downtown Petoskey is just steps away and features outstanding restaurants and unique shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Stafford's Perry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffords Perry Hotel Petoskey
Staffords Perry Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing