We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of My Favorites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2006

I love this hotel. Have stayed there several times over the years. The building is more than 100 years old, but impecably maintained and updated. Our inexpensive room was nicely appointed, with tasteful tile and granite in the bath! During the summer don't miss the rose patio out back - nice place for a lunch or a cocktail, and the view of Little Traverse Bay is spectacular. Rates are very reasonable. Staff has always been warm and welcoming as well. It's a great hotel, but it's also a bargain - what a deal!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shadow5501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for Stafford's Perry Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 735 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2006

My wife, daughter, and in-laws just returned from a three day weekend stay at the historic and classy Perry Hotel for a friend's wedding. Nearly everyone we talked with throughout the weekend raved about the Perry Hotel and we certainly shared many of their sentiments. Here are some of the things that really stood out for us:

1) Service - All of the hotel employees, from the front desk staff to the servers at Noggin to the special events manager, displayed such a fantastic attitude that made you feel special.

2) The Front Porch - Whether you are eating a meal from the hotel restaurant or you decide to pick up something at a local Petoskey restaurant, the front porch is a great place to relax and chat. Some spots have a view of the bay, but rain or shine, it's a great place to relax with friends. The restaurant staff rushed to get our friends drinks for their meal, even though it was purchased elsewhere.

3) Rose Garden - We spent all three of our evenings in the Rose Garden, including the final night for the wedding reception. There are beautiful views of the bay and it's such a great place to have a drink and relax. My table at the wedding did roast from a hot sun (we were located at the very edge of the tent that spans the middle of the garden), but the garden offers a variety of places to seek out shade, including a shady and secluded grotto.

3) Noggin - This is the informal restaurant located on the main level of the hotel. We ate dinner there the first night and the food was good (expect typical pub food). They have a great beer selection (even Rogue Dead Guy Ale!), but be aware that the place attracts large and boisterous crowds in the evenings. It was a little loud for us, but we were able to take our drinks from Noggin and go to the Rose Garden or Front Porch for a quieter and cooler place to talk.

Both our room and our in-laws room were classy and nicely decorated, with comfortable beds and decent sized bathrooms. However, we did talk to some other guests whose rooms, and bathrooms in particular, were small (one friend described his shower (no tub) as half the size of a phone booth). I think such things are to be expected in a historic hotel , although people might not be pleased with this if they paid $170/night like we did.

The hotel and gardens are truly beautiful and it's such an easy walk to the gaslight district with lots of great shopping, restaurants, etc. There is also a very nice park on the beach just a five minute walk from the hotel, which my three-year old daughter loved. The hotel even found a babysitter for us so we could enjoy the wedding reception.

We loved the Perry Hotel and hope to return again someday!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ben Rhydding
11
Reviewed February 3, 2006

This hotel is amazing. The views across little traverse bay are wonderful and Petoskey is a great town. I enjoyed the atmosphere and felt very comfortable walking and exploring a great little town. I would recommend this hotel for everyone. Also, the noggin room and Sean Ryan makes this hotel one of my favourite stays in America.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2006

If you're looking for a hotel with the following characteristics, look no further: casual yet elegant; traditionally furnished yet with modern amentities; ultra clean; friendly staff and customer service beyond belief; first class dining in both casual and formal settings; beautiful indoor sitting areas and outdoor lounging gardens and porches.

I have been staying at the Perry Hotel for 25 years, have been there at least 50 times, and have enjoyed a consistency of the above noted attributes on every visit.

The Perry is a turn of the century hotel located in the quaint town of Petoskey, a northern Michigan retreat that has been a tourist destination from it's beginning. The entire town caters to tourists, making it a pleasant and friendly venue. The locals are friendly and helpful and it is a town safe enough for women to wander the streets of the gaslight district alone after dark. The gaslight district, it's shops and cafes are reminiscent of a time of quiet splendor. The Perry is the crowning jewel of the district, just on it's edge and overlooking the spectacular Little Traverse Bay.

The service at the hotel echoes the hospitality of the town's people. Front desk staff and managers are readily available to meet every need and request. Smiles and greetings are the order of the day. Even on the rare occassion I've had complaints, the managers have bent overbackwards to address them and thank me for my input. I suspect the reason for this is the personal pride the employees have in the hotel; having stayed there over many years, I can attest the turnover rate is very low. In fact, most employees have been working there for years, an unusual occurance in the hospitality industry!

The decor and setting are hopelessly romantic, and many of the rooms are dressed in reproduction antique furniture, paint colors,draperies and wall coverings. Long, victorian style windows allow warm daylight to bathe the rooms. A number of rooms have breathtaking views of the bay and some have generous balconies. Did I mention the rooms are spotlessly clean?

The 2 restaurants on site have excellent, reasonably priced appetizers and entrees. One is for fine dining(the H.O. Rose Room)and has breathtaking views of the sunset over the bay. Seasonally, guests may also dine on the generous old fashioned porch and enjoy the breeze from the bay. The other is a pub(the Noggin Room) with live entertainment most nights of the week and a rollicking atmosphere attended by locals and guests alike. The room service is the most reasonable I've ever experienced and very prompt. During the warm season, a large gazebo in the well groomed flower gardens doubles as a cafe with a full bar. Unfortunately, it is often closed in the evening due to frequent wedding receptions.

There is a quiet but small library on the third floor, a great place to play cards or snuggle up with a good book in solitude. The front lobby, complete with fireplace and sitting areas, is Victorian magnificence.

The spa/exercise room is modest and a little outdated but very quiet. I personally am willing to give up the use of a pool and state of the art exercise room for all of the rest.

This is a great hotel for couples, families, and business travelers alike (they do have conference facilities). If you're a couple looking for solitude, you only need explain this when you make your request and they'll try to give you a room far from the wedding parties and activity.

The Perry is an unusual cross between an old fashioned inn, a large B&B, and a european style botique hotel without the ridiculous prices or
snootery.

I suspect the only reason it doesn't have a higher star rating is it's modest athletic facilities. So go for a walk or run on the waterfront! There are miles of pristine beauty only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Many other water sport activities and rental facilities are just as close, not to mention the numerous ski resorts in the area.

I have stayed in four star hotels, inns, and B&B's throughout Europe and the United States. I can honestly say Stafford's Perry Hotel is my favorite and offers the most for my money and satisfaction.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LCAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2004

Was a great experience. My first time to Petoskey and I had a very memorable visit. My 82 yr. old mother and I made many wonderful memories. The staff were fantastic, food was great. We saw the most fantastic fireworks I had ever seen before. From our balcony overlooking the Lake the view at sunset was breathtaking. I hope to return many more times.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2003

Want and great place to spend a Friday or Saturday evening? This is the place. It is in the Perry Stafford Hotel which is a beautiful old hotel overlooking Little Traverse Bay in downtown Petoskey. It's a great place to go for drinks and complimentary popcorn and if you happen to be there when Sean Ryan entertains, all the better. You can sing along if you wish, or just sit back and enjoy all the music. He entertains for all ages, young and old and it's a inexpensive night out. No cover charge or minimum. They also have decent food if you get hungry. My husband and I were there last Saturday and when we walked outside Star Wars playing on the side of the building in the town square. It was a heartwarming site to see folks lying on blankets watching the movie, under the stars for the last weekend of summer 2003. Petoskey is one very charming town and if you haven't experienced it's warmth you should. Be sure to take in the sunsets and Bayview. It is something very special.

27  Thank Sparky55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michaelangelol877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
1.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
458 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
1.6 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
745 reviews
2.1 mi away
AmericInn Petoskey
AmericInn Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford's Perry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford's Perry Hotel

Address: 100 Lewis St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range: $130 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stafford's Perry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petoskey's only downtown lodging establishment is a charming, full service, boutique hotel that has been welcoming travelers since 1899. 75 individually designed guestrooms and suits, many of which are newly remodeled with individual climate controls, tiled showers and in room refrigerators. Larger suites and ADA accommodations are additional new offerings. Overnight stays at the Perry Hotel include vouchers for a full service cooked to order breakfast in the H.O. Rose Dining Room overlooking Little Traverse Bay or seasonal dining outside on the Lewis Street Porch. Evening activities include craft cocktails, local brews and pub fare in the Noggin Room pub. Downtown Petoskey is just steps away and features outstanding restaurants and unique shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stafford's Perry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffords Perry Hotel Petoskey
Staffords Perry Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing