We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel needs some updating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
chicago,il
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel needs some updating.”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed at the Perry for 3 nights and had a great stay. My friend wasn't thrilled with her room. She got the basic room it was very small she couldn't control the ac. I upgraded and mine was bigger very nice and I could control my ac but the temperature control didn't seem right. We loved having breakfast included and we loved eating on the porch. The gentleman who seated us was a bit stuffy and didn't like that I moved my seat out of the sun. There were lots of empty tables and only three people on the porch so I don't understand his problem. The hall are stuffy and need updating I realize its a very old historic hotel but the halls could be improved. The town of Petosky is great lots of shopping and restaurants. There is a great biking trail along the bay also.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the newer larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cricket23chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    160
    44
    23
    16
See reviews for
135
353
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leamington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our up north vacation took us back to the Stafford perry hotel in petosky Michigan for the 5th time. we were a bit disappointed in the hotel services and maintenance. the room and bed are very comfortable.there are no more dinners in the rose dining room,,no lobby bar set up unless there is a wedding or other private function. the front porch always was swept and kept clean, this was lacking, the breakfast meal was average. there could be some touch ups to the paint on the exterior of the hotel.Overall we were dissapointed. Our next trip will probably take us down the road to the bayview (same owners as the Stafford perry) but more well maintained and the meals day or night are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard and Cat... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerReg, General Manager at Stafford's Perry Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Richard and Cat...H,
Thank you for being a guest at Stafford's Perry Hotel and for sharing on Trip Advisor. We value the feedback we get from our return guests especially and we continually work to make property improvements. This season we only serve dinner in the Noggin Room pub and outdoor Veranda because of a lack of traffic in the main dining room for the evening meal period. There are so many fine restaurants within walking distance of our hotel and as you mentioned, Stafford's Bay View Inn serves dinner and is only 1 mile away. As is the case with many business decisions we regretted closing this venue, however the economics of the day prevailed. I am not sure exactly when you stayed at the hotel however we have recently completed painting the entire ground floor of the hotel exterior and we plan to finish the upper floors following the summer travel season. I apologize for the condition of the front porch and the breakfast you described as "average". We are sorry not to have you returning to our hotel although we are pleased that you enjoy our sister property, Stafford's Bay View Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The location is great for visiting Petoskey, being a stone's throw from the harbor and the heart of downtown. If that was the only criteria for sharing my comments, it would receive all five stars. Here are the reasons why I only give it 3 stars.

1) Upon arriving last Saturday, the hotel was full of several wedding parties and after driving around their parking lots for several minutes looking for a place to park, we stopped the car at the portico to unload and check-in, when mentioning that we had been unable to find a parking place, their comment was there were several weddings and a street festival going on, but later that night once it cleared out, you should be able to find one. Even after returning at midnight, there was still no available parking in the hotel's lot. I realize hotels thrive on their wedding/banquet business, but they should not sacrifice the pleasure of paying guests just to yield to wedding parties, some of whom will not pay while visiting, but contribute to the mess left behind. Also when we did return later, the front desk staff essentially shrugged their shoulders when we asked where we might be able to find parking - we are visitors, they are locals and should have been able to share this sort of information.
2) The property is starting to show its age. The shower/tub had a strong mildew smell. Our bed was missing a bedskirt so you could see where someone had tried to rig an additional support under the middle of the bed frame.
3) When housekeeping came around, they only seemed to make the bed. Nothing in the room was tidied - not the desk, recycling can (emptied) and in particular the bathroom did not appear to be touched the towels were exactly where we had left them - not refreshed or refolded.
4) On Monday of our stay, we arrived back at the hotel at 4:30 PM and housekeeping had not even been around to our room.
5)The service and facilities were more appropriate for a one to two star hotel - not what you would expect for the four to five star price we paid ($200+/night for a standard room)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BranNewareAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerReg, General Manager at Stafford's Perry Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear BranNewareAtl,
Thank you for being a guest at Stafford's Perry Hotel and for sharing your experience and concerns with Trip Advisor. I sincerely apologize for the poor service and housekeeping you received from our hotel and if you would wish to contact me privately we would attempt to make amends. Admittedly, we do experience parking shortages for our property and our downtown area during peak summer days. We often offer to valet park overnight guest's vehicles after events such as weddings or downtown events clear out for their convenience. I am very sorry that this option was not offered to you. As for the poor housekeeping during your stay there is no excuse for that and I will share your comments with our management team. We do follow a green practice for towel re-use if they are left on hooks or towel bars but it appears your issues go beyond simple not changing out the towels. Finally, we are a popular destination for weddings and family events, especially on summer weekends, and we strive to balance the interests and experiences for all of our guests. Beginning last year we added a statement on our electronic confirmations advising all guests of our frequent events so that they may consider mid-week dates when the hotel is less likely to have that activity going on. Room rates as you must know from your frequent travels are a product of local supply and demand. A four or five star property in a popular summer resort can command a rate of $400-$600 in our area. $200 with applicable taxes is about average during the summer months in Petoskey for our hotel and similar quality properties nearby. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to hear from you. Reg Smith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this property for a quick getaway. Despite being an older property it was well maintained and the service was excellent. We enjoyed the updated room and the bar and restaurant were excellent. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezilla219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I love this hotel and always stay here when we go skiing. It is such a charming hotel with wonderful resturants and a fun pub with evening entertainment. The rooms are small but comfy with allot of character. When in Petoskey this is my favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staces_480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

As an example of the kind of service you receive at the Perry Hotel in Petoskey, MI, I offer the following example: When making a recent reservation, my wife noticed that the hotel was having a Great Gatsby dinner on one of the nights we were going to be staying at the hotel, so we signed up for it. The person taking the reservation informed her that they were still trying to garner interest in the event and would let us know ahead of time whether it was a go or not. A day before our arrival, she received a call from the hotel informing us that, sadly, not enough people had signed up for the event and it was cancelled. I think the event would have added about $80 to the cost of our room for the night, but the hotel assured us that we would not be charged and we were not. When we arrived at the hotel though, we were informed that to make up for the fact that the event had been cancelled, the hotel was including $40 worth of gift certificates that we could use at either the restaurant or the bar in the hotel. There was no need for the hotel to do this because we were out nothing because of the event's cancellation, but it was very thoughtful and much appreciated. It just goes to show you what can happen when you stay at someplace like the Perry Hotel as opposed to one of the chain hotels outside of town.

Our stay at the hotel was wonderful, as always, and we enjoyed a delicious pizza and a couple of beers in the hotel's extremely charming pub - The Noggin Room - with the gift certificates. If you can splurge for one of the rooms with a private balcony and water view, go for it. You will not be disappointed and it is well worth the cost. I would also recommend having a bite to eat or a drink on the outside patio/bar. Again, great views of Little Traverse Bay. Finally, all rooms include a $25 coupon for breakfast in the hotel's excellent restaurant. Sit outside on the terrace for breakfast if the weather is agreeable - again, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Splurge for a room with a private balcony and water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmeade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed there for a wedding. It was a gorgeous location for a wedding and the food served at the wedding was very good. The porch is a lovely location to relax and eat breakfast. We enjoyed the breakfast too. They give guests a $25 voucher for breakfast for each night. I understand that it is an older hotel and there are structural things that cannot be changed. However, the rooms were very small and you could not adjust the thermostat for your room. If you are staying there and there are weddings happening and the "Noggin Room is happening," guests who leave to tour the area will not have a place to park. The first night of our stay, there was a parking attendant making sure those parking were overnight guests. I felt, for what we got, it was overpriced. The staff was nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petoskey
1.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
451 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
193 reviews
1.6 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
738 reviews
3.7 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Harbor Springs
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford's Perry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford's Perry Hotel

Property: Stafford's Perry Hotel
Address: 100 Lewis St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stafford's Perry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petoskey's only downtown lodging establishment is a charming, full service, boutique hotel that has been welcoming travelers since 1899. 75 individually designed guestrooms and suits, many of which are newly remodeled with individual climate controls, tiled showers and in room refrigerators. Larger suites and ADA accommodations are additional new offerings. Overnight stays at the Perry Hotel include vouchers for a full service cooked to order breakfast in the H.O. Rose Dining Room overlooking Little Traverse Bay or seasonal dining outside on the Lewis Street Porch. Evening activities include craft cocktails, local brews and pub fare in the Noggin Room pub. Downtown Petoskey is just steps away and features outstanding restaurants and unique shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Stafford's Perry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffords Perry Hotel Petoskey
Staffords Perry Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing