We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but....”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We would be able to give this hotel a very good review with one major warning. We stayed 3 nights (Friday, Saturday, Sunday) and there were weddings booked for the outdoor area all 3 nights. The music and partying go until 11 pm and are directly adjacent to guest rooms. While we were not warned in advance, we did receive management compensation after complaining. There was a lot of accompaning noise after the weddings to contend with. This lovely hotel and dining room could be highly recommended but owners need to decide if it is a hotel or a party venue to secure customer satisfaction. The dining room and location are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermosa29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    160
    44
    23
    16
See reviews for
136
354
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Bf and I visited the hotel last week(28 July). As expected, we loved it.
We were greeted warmly by staff upon arrival. Now, the room was much smaller than I expected(the bed was sorta Gulliver's Travels-ish). Everything was clean and lovely and the vibe was so great, we excused that. I guess the room/bed size are consistent with the style and theme of the place. It is something I would ask about next time.
Previous reviews are accurate. Breakfast on the porch was delicious and super relaxing.

While I'm not the hugest fan of the area overall, one can't choose where their partner is from, 'eh? It's no wonder to me that he hightailed it out of Michigan post college and ran for straight for NYC!!!

That said, I'd certainly stay at Staffords Perry (or even Bay View) again. Great place.

Room Tip: This is a huge wedding venue. Check on room availability as rooms are quite small, the view might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LulaBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Northern Michigan. The Perry hotel is a beautiful historic hotel within view of the Bay and within walking distance to all restaurants, shopping and parks. The location is terrific! I loved the old feel, my young 20 something kids did not.

We stayed on a Sunday night for one night. We paid top dollar to stay on the 3rd floor overlooking the bay in order to have a pull out sofa in our room with a king size bed. The room had a balcony with 2 rocking chairs overlooking the bay and rose garden. The rooms appear to all have been recently updated so they were clean and nice.

The only problem we had with our room was noise. The street along the bay is very busy and noisy and on top of that, a wedding was going on in the garden and the music lasted until 11 pm. We didn't mind, but a business traveler might be annoyed trying to sleep before a Monday morning meeting. After checking around, we understand that weddings here are pretty popular during the summer months so booking on a Friday, Saturday, or Sunday, during June, July, and August, you will most likely encounter this same problem. Either way, the street noise will always be there.

Service in general was spectacular. We attempted to check in an hour early, 3 pm is checkin, and were not able to so we were a little disappointed.

A tip if you are looking for ice, it is stored in a bin that looks like "recycling/garbage bins" by the elevators. I searched 3 floors before I found the first floor ice bin with a label on it. The second and third floor bins were not labeled so I just assumed the bins were garbage or recycling!

We ate in the Noggin Room Pub for lunch and the food was great! Prices were reasonable. They serve popcorn while you wait for your food.

We ate in the Rose Dining Room for breakfast. The pecan rolls served while you wait were warm and tasty! I had the eggs benedict which had a truffle sauce. I did not care for the strong taste of mushrooms so the meal was only so so. Prices seemed a little high as well even though they give you a coupon to use if you stay there.

Rooms either face the bay overlooking the rose garden, or the old train station in town. I think both views are good but it is best to be on the 2nd or 3rd floors.

Amenities like coffee makers in the room, and exercise and spa facilities are not available. Prices are high and the noise is loud so I downgraded my rating simply for that fact. Still, a very nice place to stay if you have the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bay side are noisy when the rose garden is being used. Generally, traffic can be heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuSanSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. Excellent service, and great, comfortable accomodations.

Be sure to request a room on the Bay Side, but stay on the second (or even better, third) floor for a spectacular view of the bay.

We'll be back!

Rich and Ellen

Room Tip: No pool, no spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a lovely historic hotel that maintains its charm while offering modern amenities in the bathrooms and rooms. I was told that each room is different and the ones that we stayed in were charming. We had a double double with balcony and an accessible single. The only complaint was the double doubles only have a walk out balcony (more like a Juliet) rather than a full balcony. But we still had the same great views and sunsets.

We dined at the Rose Garden and enjoyed our meals, the breakfasts on the front porch were fantastic, especially with the $12.50 voucher per room. And we even enjoyed the performers at the pub one evening.

The hotel is convenient to the shopping and other amenities in Petoskey. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting something other than cookie cutter hotels on the highway.

Room Tip: The balconies give you the best view of the bay and the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've stayed at this property twice, most recently for a week in June 2012. For a hotel originally built over 100 years ago, it maintains a great sense of history while still being modern enough for a contemporary guest. The staff are incredibly friendly. The breakfasts are amazing and served in a lovely room with a great view of the bay. I've found the hotel clean and well taken care of on both occasions. The location is also great because it is easy walking distance to several great restaurants in downtown Petoskey and to many cute shops. It's also close to a path that will take you down to the downtown harbor and allow you to walk along the bay. The hotel wi-fi was great as well for allowing me to get some work done while I was there. My only complaint is that the drinks seemed a little watered down in the hotel bars, but the food in the Noggin Room was good. I'd definitely recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be a little small. If you want space, you may want to upgrade to one of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kermit753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We dined here as non-residents and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. On a fine evening choose the Rose Garden Veranda to eat and as a bonus watch the sun set over the lake.Extremely pleasant English Rose Garden setting overlooking Little Traverse Bay. Beer battered white fish was truly delicious and affordable. The service was good too, so a memorable evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suse31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petoskey
1.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
451 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
193 reviews
1.6 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
738 reviews
3.7 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Harbor Springs
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford's Perry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford's Perry Hotel

Property: Stafford's Perry Hotel
Address: 100 Lewis St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stafford's Perry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petoskey's only downtown lodging establishment is a charming, full service, boutique hotel that has been welcoming travelers since 1899. 75 individually designed guestrooms and suits, many of which are newly remodeled with individual climate controls, tiled showers and in room refrigerators. Larger suites and ADA accommodations are additional new offerings. Overnight stays at the Perry Hotel include vouchers for a full service cooked to order breakfast in the H.O. Rose Dining Room overlooking Little Traverse Bay or seasonal dining outside on the Lewis Street Porch. Evening activities include craft cocktails, local brews and pub fare in the Noggin Room pub. Downtown Petoskey is just steps away and features outstanding restaurants and unique shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Stafford's Perry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffords Perry Hotel Petoskey
Staffords Perry Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing