We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed here 5 times over last 3 years. Beatiful old hotel over-looking charming bay. Harlequin rooms some a little cold but you can adjust your thermostat. Includes $25 off fantastic breakfast. Very high quality and covered in cherry jam if you like. We use this place as a base to explore Petoskey. End night with free popcorn in basement pub.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_LLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    149
    42
    23
    15
See reviews for
124
318
20
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We absolutely loved this hotel. The staff is wonderful. We are avid bicyclers & do not like to leave our bikes outside. Not a problem. Had rooms to accommodate. Front desk staff was awesome. Hotel is beautiful. Rooms awesome,comfortable, quiet. Little pub downstairs cozy w/good food. Within walking distance to everything & a short drive to the casino if desired.
Can't wait to stay again!!!!!

Room Tip: 235 & 335 awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Very nice accommodations with excellent service and unbeatable location. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fahren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, KY
Level Contributor
522 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

There are several reasons to stay at the Perry. One is location. You'll be able to walk to the Gaslight District for shopping and/or dining. You can walk to the lakefront. You'll be centrally located for drives around Little Traverse Bay and beyond. Another reason is the ambience of an historic hotel. While the hotel may be over 100 years old the amenities are modern. The beds are very comfortable. The hotel is equipped with free wireless internet access. Or you can use the business center. When weather permits you can chose to dine on the front porch or in the garden. Some rooms facing the lake have balconies. The Perry also has a dining room with a great view. Or you can visit the Noggin, a pub with a great selection of beer and occasional live entertainment. Spend time in the lobby on the first floor in front of the fireplace. Or read a book from the library on the third floor. The staff of the Perry is very attentive to your needs. Ask them about the ghost.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CovingtonCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, IN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We wanted to park the car and walk and that's what we did. Location to downtown shops was great and they have a tunnel to take you to the lakefront. We sat outside in their patio and read and relaxed. The staff was very nice and friendly and helpful. The room was spacious enough and the bed, while older, was most comfortable. As someone else stated, the temperature control is tricky, but when we called the front desk they turned it up and it was fine.

It would be nice if the rooms could be updated a little, the bathroom was new. But it is an historic hotel. It was very quiet and peaceful though. We were there in October though on our way to Mackinac Island. We had dinner at the Noggin room and it was tasty, a varied menu.

We would stay again. Am most impressed by how well the staff wanted to please the guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hart, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The hotel was beautiful but old. The girls at the front desk were very friendly.The temperature in the room was not able to be controled by us which was a bit of a problem at times. We were staying there for a conference my husband was at. Parking was just awful! This was off season for Petoskey. The parking lot was full the entire time we were there. (Sun-Tues) We had to park several blocks away or put money in the meters if we wanted to be near the hotel. Great place to stay if you like to be able to walk to town for the shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marla2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerReg, General Manager at Stafford's Perry Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at Stafford's Perry Hotel with the followers of Trip Advisor. Parking can be a challenge for downtown hotels from time to time and our hotel is no exception. Most of the guests who attend conferences and events at the Perry get here by driving which can fill our on premise lot. We did give out complementary tokens for parking and we do reimburse our overnight guests for any parking ticket they would get during their stay from the metered spaces around our hotel. We are also working on upgrades to our HVAC system that would enable more guest rooms to control their individual heat/cooling. I am glad that you found our staff to be helpful, I will be sure to pass along the complement. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We just finished spending the week in the Petoskey / Travers City / Gaylord area we did enjoy this Hotel. The rooms are getting a little outdate. The views of the bay are some of the best in the world.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerReg, General Manager at Stafford's Perry Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Wow! Thank you so much for the endorsement and for sharing this with the followers of Trip Advisor. Our staff is dedicated to providing our guests with the kind of experience you have had and they make it all possible. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
1.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
433 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
722 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
180 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford's Perry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford's Perry Hotel

Property: Stafford's Perry Hotel
Address: 100 Lewis St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stafford's Perry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petoskey's only downtown lodging establishment is a charming, full service, boutique hotel that has been welcoming travelers since 1899. 75 individually designed guestrooms and suits, many of which are newly remodeled with individual climate controls, tiled showers and in room refrigerators. Larger suites and ADA accommodations are additional new offerings. Overnight stays at the Perry Hotel include vouchers for a full service cooked to order breakfast in the H.O. Rose Dining Room overlooking Little Traverse Bay or seasonal dining outside on the Lewis Street Porch. Evening activities include craft cocktails, local brews and pub fare in the Noggin Room pub. Downtown Petoskey is just steps away and features outstanding restaurants and unique shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Stafford's Perry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffords Perry Hotel Petoskey
Staffords Perry Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing